ECU Reset - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-08-2015, 01:47 PM
scalco23's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 613
scalco23 is on a distinguished road
ECU Reset

Anyone know how to reset the ECU on a 2015 JGC 3.6?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-08-2015, 02:30 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 174
Thanks: 74
Thanked 32 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 4407
JGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond reputeJGCDieselPowered has a reputation beyond repute
Re: ECU Reset

Usually removing the battery cable and allowing it to be disconnected for 30+ minutes will reset any of the electrical components. What are you trying to do? Why does it need to be reset?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-08-2015, 03:09 PM
scalco23's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 613
scalco23 is on a distinguished road
Re: ECU Reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by JGCDieselPowered View Post
Usually removing the battery cable and allowing it to be disconnected for 30+ minutes will reset any of the electrical components. What are you trying to do? Why does it need to be reset?
I see that the battery is located under the passenger seat. Not sure which cable to unplug. Resetting the ECU so it re-learns driving habits.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-08-2015, 04:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 335
Thanks: 10
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Rep Power: 2153
BirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond repute
Re: ECU Reset

You can disconnect the negative cable which should be black. This will kill power to entire vehicle.
__________________
2013 GC TrailHawk V8
It's the TV for a 24' Ultralight travel trailer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-08-2015, 04:29 PM
scalco23's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 613
scalco23 is on a distinguished road
Re: ECU Reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by BirchyBoy View Post
You can disconnect the negative cable which should be black. This will kill power to entire vehicle.
Black cable under the passenger seat?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-08-2015, 05:01 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,001
Thanks: 73
Thanked 277 Times in 244 Posts
Rep Power: 46299
lstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond repute
Re: ECU Reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by scalco23 View Post
Black cable under the passenger seat?
Either cable will do. If one is lifted, the other cannot make a complete circuit.

A dealer could also reset the thing...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-08-2015, 05:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 335
Thanks: 10
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Rep Power: 2153
BirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond reputeBirchyBoy has a reputation beyond repute
Re: ECU Reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by scalco23 View Post
Black cable under the passenger seat?
Yes.
__________________
2013 GC TrailHawk V8
It's the TV for a 24' Ultralight travel trailer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-08-2015, 06:11 PM
Lightninrod's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Warner Robins Ga
Posts: 451
Thanks: 539
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Rep Power: 1434
Lightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: ECU Reset

The negative/black cable will be closest to you as you open up the battery compartment from the rear. Disconnect that one.

Dan
__________________
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
5.7L V8, 2WD,
AFE Dry drop in air filter, Quadratec mats, Sprint Booster, and Blastinbob's catback
Build date: 9/4/12
Bought 01/27/15 with 47,200 miles
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-10-2015, 07:28 AM
Jeep_GC's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: S. Ontario, Canada
Posts: 334
Thanks: 85
Thanked 28 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 1203
Jeep_GC is on a distinguished road
Re: ECU Reset

Folks is there a fuse that can be pulled for rather than unplugging the battery?
__________________
2015 Overland 4x4 EcoDiesel
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-10-2015, 08:08 AM
cherryredjeep's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: southeast pa.
Posts: 381
Thanks: 64
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Rep Power: 2119
cherryredjeep has a reputation beyond reputecherryredjeep has a reputation beyond reputecherryredjeep has a reputation beyond reputecherryredjeep has a reputation beyond reputecherryredjeep has a reputation beyond reputecherryredjeep has a reputation beyond reputecherryredjeep has a reputation beyond reputecherryredjeep has a reputation beyond reputecherryredjeep has a reputation beyond reputecherryredjeep has a reputation beyond reputecherryredjeep has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: ECU Reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeep_GC View Post
Folks is there a fuse that can be pulled for rather than unplugging the battery?
Locate the fuse for the Powertraine Control Modual and with the motor off remove the fuse fuse for one min. The pcm will reset to 0.
__________________
13 JGC OVERLAND *IIIIIII*Traded for a 15 Hellcat M6 B5 Blue
04 JGC LIM.
01 DODGE RAM 2500 CUMMINS
68 DODGE DART GTS 340
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-10-2015, 11:13 AM
ekaz's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2015 6.4L SRT WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 764
Thanks: 9
Thanked 40 Times in 33 Posts
Rep Power: 3646
ekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond reputeekaz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: ECU Reset

If you disconnect the battery, turn on the headlights or press the horn a couple times, this will drain the system quicker.
The system continually adapts to driving habits, so a few trips of aggressive driving will have the same result.
__________________
2015 Billet Silver
past:
2012 300SRT, 2009 Jeep SRT, 2006 Charger SRT
Too many mods to list for each, so let's just say a lot was done over the years.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-13-2015, 11:51 AM
SHADCHA's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2015 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 33
Thanks: 22
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 551
SHADCHA is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: ECU Reset

Would disconnecting the negative battery terminal reset all systems? For instance Quadra lift?? And would it also reset all, like radio info, garage link, etc..?? Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECU Reset MOLLEN1983 Export & Diesel Powered Jeep Models 0 06-26-2013 10:55 AM
ECU reset - recommended! Marlin Grand Cherokee - WK 10 09-10-2010 10:02 AM
best exhaust, intake, ECU upgrade combo for 2007 4.7 lmited ? oman_cobra Grand Cherokee - WK 10 04-05-2010 12:31 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.