Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-04-2011, 10:14 AM
Jgauthier's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Le Gardeur (QC), Canada
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1302
Jgauthier is on a distinguished road
how to reboot RHR?

hi,

My Rhr froze the other day while trying to do a phone call. Here is what happened:

I was listening to my iPod using bluetooth streaming when all of a sudden, itstopped playing. For some reason, The radio still considered my iPhone as being connected although it wasn't anymore. I even shutted down the phone inthe hope that the radio would disconnect but it didn't work. I then tried to do a phone call from the radio and it displayed the standard "calling" screen although my phone was off. From then, I could not get out of there, go on the radio or hang-off. The calling screen refused to leave. I even stopped the car for 10 minutes (off position) and the screen stayed on! I was worried about it draining the car battery... I tried all sort of key combinations to reset the RHR but no success. There is no mention about it in the user manual either.

Does anyone know if there is a way to force a reset on this radio?
thanks!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2011, 02:23 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 417
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1868
Radside has a reputation beyond reputeRadside has a reputation beyond repute
Re: how to reboot RHR?

Pull the fuse. It is eithe M10 or M12...I don't remember which.
__________________

__________________
2011 Black Berry Laredo X
Chrome Running Boards
Chrome Fog Bezel
Shark Fin Antennal
MyGig 430N
20" SRT REPS (9"wide)
Good Year Fortera 265 50R/20
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2011, 09:56 AM
Jgauthier's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Le Gardeur (QC), Canada
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1302
Jgauthier is on a distinguished road
no soft-reset?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2011, 10:10 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 417
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1868
Radside has a reputation beyond reputeRadside has a reputation beyond repute
Re: how to reboot RHR?

Not that I know about. I vaguely remembe an option to reset to default settings but I'm not sure if that is just for the Navigation or the entire unit. I believe that option is in the Engineering mode. I'm at work now on my motorcycle so I can't check for sure.
__________________
2011 Black Berry Laredo X
Chrome Running Boards
Chrome Fog Bezel
Shark Fin Antennal
MyGig 430N
20" SRT REPS (9"wide)
Good Year Fortera 265 50R/20
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-06-2011, 08:02 AM
Hollywood's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 2098
Hollywood has a reputation beyond reputeHollywood has a reputation beyond reputeHollywood has a reputation beyond reputeHollywood has a reputation beyond reputeHollywood has a reputation beyond reputeHollywood has a reputation beyond repute
Re: how to reboot RHR?

Had a very similar problem:

730N Uconnect Question

I did read on here somewhere (sorry, can't remember where or find it at the moment), that there IS a way to do a soft re-boot of the RHR by holding both Seek Up and Down at the same time, or something like that?

Maybe the person that posted the info can chime in here?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

2011 WK2 Grand Cherokee Overland 4x4 Edition 5.7L V8
Mineral Grey / Light-Dark Frost Beige Interior
Every option available except Rear Entertainment, (No kids - Panoroof Instead!) ;)

"OVERLAND"; The American Range Rover!,
and a 1998 Grand Cherokee Limited with 210K that's still goin' Strong!!
:thumbsup:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2012, 02:38 PM
Red G8R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 899
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 2397
Red G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond repute
Re: how to reboot RHR?

This just happened to me yesterday. I had just ended a phone call and the radio froze. I could not turn it off and even turning off the car did not make a difference. I remembered reading about pulling the fuse (M13), did that and problem solved......so far.
__________________
Peter
2011 GC Overland, 4x4, 5.7L, Q-L, 730N, White/Beige. :thumbsup:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2012, 06:10 PM
*sox*'s Avatar
Italien MOPAR Guy :-)

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basel / Switzerland
Posts: 1,827
Thanks: 86
Thanked 67 Times in 56 Posts
Rep Power: 570842
*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to *sox* Send a message via Skype™ to *sox*
Re: how to reboot RHR?

Have you install the new update 2.120??
__________________
.....Have pity with my, my English is not the best



Massively Over Powered And Respected



Sox`s World
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-21-2012, 02:35 AM
aphexafx's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CO
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 998
aphexafx is on a distinguished road
Re: how to reboot RHR?

The correct fuse is M12 in the TIPM.

For REF: http://www.wk2jeeps.com/misc/Fuses_2011_2012_wk.pdf
__________________
-M@

2011 WK2 4x4 3.6L Stone White
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2012, 08:36 AM
Hollywood's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 2098
Hollywood has a reputation beyond reputeHollywood has a reputation beyond reputeHollywood has a reputation beyond reputeHollywood has a reputation beyond reputeHollywood has a reputation beyond reputeHollywood has a reputation beyond repute
Re: how to reboot RHR?

Shame there isn't an easier way to do a re-boot. Fortunately, when this happened to me. It did correct itself after letting the truck sit for a few hours.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

2011 WK2 Grand Cherokee Overland 4x4 Edition 5.7L V8
Mineral Grey / Light-Dark Frost Beige Interior
Every option available except Rear Entertainment, (No kids - Panoroof Instead!) ;)

"OVERLAND"; The American Range Rover!,
and a 1998 Grand Cherokee Limited with 210K that's still goin' Strong!!
:thumbsup:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-21-2012, 10:46 AM
77Cherokee's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY State
Posts: 652
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Rep Power: 2085
77Cherokee has a reputation beyond repute77Cherokee has a reputation beyond repute77Cherokee has a reputation beyond repute77Cherokee has a reputation beyond repute77Cherokee has a reputation beyond repute77Cherokee has a reputation beyond repute77Cherokee has a reputation beyond repute77Cherokee has a reputation beyond repute77Cherokee has a reputation beyond repute77Cherokee has a reputation beyond repute77Cherokee has a reputation beyond repute
Re: how to reboot RHR?

You can force a reboot anytime by pressing both Seek buttons along with the Nav button. However, if the system is totally locked up you might still have to pull the fuse.
__________________
2012 Overland, Deep Cherry w/black/saddle interior, V6, ACC pkg.

My 77 Cherokee- Long gone but not forgotten
___
____________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-19-2012, 06:45 AM
markp99's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nashua, New Hampshire
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 22602
markp99 has a reputation beyond reputemarkp99 has a reputation beyond reputemarkp99 has a reputation beyond reputemarkp99 has a reputation beyond reputemarkp99 has a reputation beyond reputemarkp99 has a reputation beyond reputemarkp99 has a reputation beyond reputemarkp99 has a reputation beyond reputemarkp99 has a reputation beyond reputemarkp99 has a reputation beyond reputemarkp99 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: how to reboot RHR?

I can confirm the Seek+/Seek-/Nav button sequence has ZERO effect on a locked-up unit.

(hung during update to v2.120) _ UGH!!
__________________
| 1995 ZJ | 2000 WJ | 2004 WJ | 2011 WK2 |
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-19-2012, 02:14 PM
*sox*'s Avatar
Italien MOPAR Guy :-)

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basel / Switzerland
Posts: 1,827
Thanks: 86
Thanked 67 Times in 56 Posts
Rep Power: 570842
*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to *sox* Send a message via Skype™ to *sox*
Re: how to reboot RHR?

no soft reset, pull the fuse this will work.
__________________

__________________
.....Have pity with my, my English is not the best



Massively Over Powered And Respected



Sox`s World
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WK2 Media Center 730N (RHR), Yes RHR!!! jcnaranjo Audio/Visual/Navigation 21 12-23-2011 03:09 PM
Rer to rhr TJJR1960 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 5 06-04-2011 06:57 PM
Anyone with the 730 RHR J13ntv Audio/Visual/Navigation 12 04-27-2011 05:42 PM
Does anyone have a 730n rhr yet? Stuart Audio/Visual/Navigation 1 03-03-2011 06:30 PM
Anyone out there with the new RHR 730N? Bull03 Audio/Visual/Navigation 10 02-22-2011 03:03 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community