Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-24-2014, 04:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 89
rob_p is on a distinguished road
Instrument cluster goes blank

Hi all
Just picked up my new overland GC WK2.
I have noticed something quite odd.
When the lights are on full beam (manual or auto) the instrument cluster loses all of the backlighting which basically makes it very hard to see how fast I am going. The display is still working just not illuminated.
The uconnect seems to do the same but I have worked out how to turn the illumination up on that.
The dealer is trying to tell me this is normal but I don't think so.
If it's overcast the lights come on and I can't see the speedo - that's not normal...!
Haven't driven at night yet so not sure what happens....
Any common experiences out there and if so what was the resolution.
Thanks in advance
Rob
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2014, 04:03 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,417
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542604
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Instrument cluster goes blank

typically with lights on it dims the view. adjust the brightness of the screen down and it will go out of night mode. you can completely turn it off.


hate to do it but RTFM/
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2014, 04:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 89
rob_p is on a distinguished road
Re: Instrument cluster goes blank

Thanks. And indeed I have "rtfm".
Are you referring to uconnect? - I have sorted that bit - I am talking about the instrument cluster which contains the speedo etc.
Can't see a way of manually adjusting the illumination.
If anyone knows how please let me know.
Thanks
Rob
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2014, 04:36 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,155
Thanks: 24
Thanked 61 Times in 54 Posts
Rep Power: 43570
lstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Instrument cluster goes blank

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob_p View Post
Thanks. And indeed I have "rtfm".
Are you referring to uconnect? - I have sorted that bit - I am talking about the instrument cluster which contains the speedo etc.
Can't see a way of manually adjusting the illumination.
If anyone knows how please let me know.
Thanks
Rob
It doesn't adjust with the thumb wheel just to the right hand side of the headlight switch? That wheel has a detent where if you run it onto the detent you get max brightness and if I recall my rtfm struggles, even the Uconnect screen for lighting can't adjust it down.

As for brightness adjust , you can set that or turn it on and off in the Uconnect screen--unless the thumbwheel is maxed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2014, 07:27 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 162
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1739
jerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Instrument cluster goes blank

My guess is the thumbwheel is turned down too low. My wife keeps dragging her purse across it when she gets out of the car and about once every month or two she will call me to tell me the dash lights keep going out and coming back on. It's always when she is out on a rainy day and the Auto headlights keep going on when she goes through a dark spot.
__________________
2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo X 4x4 V6
2014 Grand Cherokee Limited 4x2 V6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-25-2014, 07:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 89
rob_p is on a distinguished road
Re: Instrument cluster goes blank

Thanks v much guys - thumbwheel is the answer. Not sure why but I had assumed this was for the headlight levels.
Thanks again - much relief from my side.
Rob
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2014 Instrument Cluster vs 2012 Instrument CLuster felipito Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 3 10-09-2013 12:26 AM
Instrument cluster cover in leather cain45 Grand Cherokee - WK 16 04-13-2013 02:36 AM
Chrome rings on instrument cluster tri0829 Interior/Exterior/Visual 31 03-17-2013 08:15 PM
Instrument Cluster Problems swing4terps Grand Cherokee - WK 8 12-24-2010 02:27 PM
instrument cluster SvenskaJeepGuy Grand Cherokee - WK 18 12-31-2009 11:36 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community