Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-09-2011, 10:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1409
french_matt is on a distinguished road
Manual mode

Is the autoshift a real manual? I mean if i put it in 2nd for instance and red line it, will it automatically shift to 3rd or will the rev limiter kick in and keep me in 2nd??

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2011, 10:13 PM
Technosavant's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: STL, MO area
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 2962
Technosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Manual mode

A "real manual" has a direct mechanical connection from the engine to the transmission courtesy of a clutch. The WK2 does not; the power is transferred via a hydraulic torque converter.

The autostick is just a simpler and more intuitive method of taking direct control over the transmission, which is still a traditional automatic transmission. As to whether it will bounce you off the rev limiter or upshift, I have no idea; I can't say I've tried it.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2011, 10:21 PM
GR33N D3M0N's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: down south
Posts: 5,469
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 14475
GR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond reputeGR33N D3M0N has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to GR33N D3M0N
Re: Manual mode

i know on my brothers altima, it red lined, and shifted automatically, the 09-10 SRT8 i believe automatically shifted when redlined i believe
__________________
MOE
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo (sold)
2011 Mazdaspeed3 w/tech package
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoopCooper View Post
Herpes is better than a Prius. Lol.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
I really hope my next car has brembros and a panorama roof
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2011, 10:22 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 6.4L SRT8
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ormond Beach FL
Posts: 1,544
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
Rep Power: 3007
mjw930 has a reputation beyond reputemjw930 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Manual mode

Actually, the system in the WK2 is neither. The selector is used to indicate the highest gear you want the transmission to use. It can be made to work like an auto/manual by dropping down to a gear lower than you want then up one but it will downshift as you slow then upshift and stop at the gear selected.
__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee SRT8 Black/Black
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2011, 01:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1409
french_matt is on a distinguished road
Re: Manual mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjw930 View Post
Actually, the system in the WK2 is neither. The selector is used to indicate the highest gear you want the transmission to use. It can be made to work like an auto/manual by dropping down to a gear lower than you want then up one but it will downshift as you slow then upshift and stop at the gear selected.
Will it upshift if you red line it?? That was my question.
Let's say you put it in 2 and floors it until redline w/o manually switching to 3rd: will it take you to 3rd?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2011, 02:13 AM
MasterWK's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2010 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,141
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 2569
MasterWK has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Manual mode

I don't think so... Just try it out tomorrow to see if it does.
__________________
-Ryan
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-2011, 07:36 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 962
Thanks: 32
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 3009
Cherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Manual mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by french_matt View Post
Will it upshift if you red line it?? That was my question.
Let's say you put it in 2 and floors it until redline w/o manually switching to 3rd: will it take you to 3rd?
From what I've read, NO it will not shift up beyond the highest gear you have manually selected, but it will limit engine RPMs and hence vehicle speed to prevent over-revving.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-10-2011, 07:45 AM
2011RitterGC's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WNC
Posts: 381
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1807
2011RitterGC is on a distinguished road
Re: Manual mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by french_matt View Post
Is the autoshift a real manual? I mean if i put it in 2nd for instance and red line it, will it automatically shift to 3rd or will the rev limiter kick in and keep me in 2nd??

Thanks!
What "Techno" said is 100%. I too have not tried it but most cars will shift.

Also not (unlike a true manual) that if you put the car in "2nd" for example when you stop it still goes back down to 1st. 2nd would just be the highest gear it will shift to (unless you redline it).
__________________
2011 Blackberry Pearl/Frost Overland 5.7L 730N 4x4
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-10-2011, 07:46 AM
2011RitterGC's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WNC
Posts: 381
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1807
2011RitterGC is on a distinguished road
Re: Manual mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by french_matt View Post
Will it upshift if you red line it?? That was my question.
Let's say you put it in 2 and floors it until redline w/o manually switching to 3rd: will it take you to 3rd?
Try it! Just dont stay at redline too long.
__________________
2011 Blackberry Pearl/Frost Overland 5.7L 730N 4x4
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-10-2011, 07:51 AM
2011RitterGC's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WNC
Posts: 381
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1807
2011RitterGC is on a distinguished road
Re: Manual mode

Just one other comment. It is a handy thing if it does upshift at redline. For example in my SLK350 if it looks like someone may want to play at a stoplight I select 1st gear. That way I can start off the line slow waiting to see what the other car is going to do. If he (or she) hits it I am still in 1st (vs. 2nd or 3rd, its a 7 speed) and can hit it for max accel. I dont have to worry about shifting just hold on.
__________________
2011 Blackberry Pearl/Frost Overland 5.7L 730N 4x4
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-10-2011, 08:24 AM
Kreso's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Zagreb(Croatia),Vienna(Austria)
Posts: 175
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1980
Kreso is on a distinguished road
Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to Kreso
Re: Manual mode

Jeep will not shift over selected speed. It will limit the revs but no shift to next gear. Been there and nothing happen. OK not with WK II but WK. Same thing.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-10-2011, 01:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1409
french_matt is on a distinguished road
Re: Manual mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kreso View Post
Jeep will not shift over selected speed. It will limit the revs but no shift to next gear. Been there and nothing happen. OK not with WK II but WK. Same thing.
So I guess you hit the rev limiter and just like a manual box, you'll have to shit yourself otherwise you'll keep bouncing off the rev limiter (assuming u keep pedal to the metal!).
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about Sport mode JF_Inferno Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 68 10-05-2011 04:10 AM
Off road 1 Mode/steering alignment? jeepin4ever Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 0 12-17-2010 09:34 PM
Tow/Haul mode MeanDean Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 1 12-08-2010 09:09 AM
WK2 Sport mode VS Auto mode erickpbl Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 17 12-06-2010 12:55 PM
ECO Mode Engagement dowdy85 Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 16 12-03-2010 06:09 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.