Quadra Track Operation - Page 2 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 02-20-2015, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 49
Thanked 176 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 17577
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by xelatan View Post
I don't agree that its only a speed selection. If that was the case it should always go down to entry/exit if the speed goes down bellow 15mph. :-) But it does not.
No, that's because there is user preference. For example, it does not go into Off Road 2 automatically based on the transmission. The system will never go into Entry/Exit mode unless you manually select it or enable that "automatic" option.

Quote:
It also has to do with the position of the transmission.
Not really. If you're parked you can switch into any mode except Aero (which is a stupid omission on their part). Speed determines which modes you are allowed to stay in.

Quote:
The logical way it should work in Auto mode is that when you put it in P it goes to exit mode. If you put it back to D it goes back to the selected ride height or S id goes to Aero.
Eh, you're describing a stateful, hysteresis approach. They chose to implement a system without hysteresis. I would have chosen to make the system have hysteresis, but I understand why they didn't. Most users would find it confusing (or unwanted) if the system had memory.

For example, if you're in Off Road 2, drive fast on a highway and it forces itself into Aero but then you pull off at an exit and stop at a stop sign, do you really want it to automatically go back into Off Road 2? Most users wouldn't.

I *don't* understand why they programmed the ventilated seat to forget its setting every time the vehicle is turned off, though.

Quote:
You can manually put it in entry mode while in D.
You can select any mode but Aero while in D, provided the speed is compatible. Again, this has nothing to do with the transmission. You can do the same thing in P or N. Just not while in Sport mode, which they decided to break their consistent model over.

Quote:
Do you know the ride hight of the entry/exit mode? It just seems like the vehicle bottoms out when you go over a parking lot speed bump.
The manual lists all the heights as offsets from normal ride height. I imagine this has to do with the fact that our Jeeps can ship with different tires. So, if you measure your normal ride height you can determine all the others from the manual's data.

Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Roadkill For This Useful Post:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #14  
Old 02-20-2015, 01:40 PM
Willx's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4,989
Thanks: 536
Thanked 953 Times in 512 Posts
Rep Power: 1928340
Willx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Quadra Track Operation

Quote:
Originally Posted by xelatan View Post
I don't agree that its only a speed selection. If that was the case it should always go down to entry/exit if the speed goes down bellow 15mph. :-) But it does not. It also has to do with the position of the transmission.

The logical way it should work in Auto mode is that when you put it in P it goes to exit mode. If you put it back to D it goes back to the selected ride height or S id goes to Aero.

I just don't think they implemented the Automatic entry exit mode very user friendly.
I have to say I have never had this concern and I am very happy with the way this works.

My wife has a disability that makes it difficult for her to lift her legs normally. I am regularly pulling away from curbs and stopping for her to get in as well as driving in a parking garage to pick her up from the elevator. Most don't have speed bumps but if I am going that fast to bottom out the suspension on a speed bump, I am likely going to fast (as in that doesn't happen to me).

I personally think the speed setting is ingenious, as the vehicle does not rise up until I am ready to actually depart. In fact one would assume the logic is that "if you put the shifter into sport, then your are going to drive sporty, not just move the vehicle 20 feet" "If you are putting it in drive, you may just be moving the vehicle and not actually going on a major drive" So to save unneeded up and down stroke motions, don't change height until the vehicle is definitely going somewhere... Another example of this is Valet parking where they move the vehicle a number of times. So, not trying to disagree with Roadkill but it is a logical combination of use vs Speed and transmission. The fact it takes all things into consideration is bigger thinking.

Engineers do things often to preserve the longevity of the product and not always able to include all things to all people conveniences per say.
__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Willx For This Useful Post:
  #15  
Old 02-20-2015, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1176
xelatan is on a distinguished road
Re: Quadra Track Operation

It all comes down to personal preference.:-)

I still think that it should rise to normal height as soon as you switch the transmission into D. Just like it switched to entry mode when you put it in P.

Also I only suggested to remember the previous state when you have an input from the transmission position. And only if the auto entry mode is enabled. The normal operation seem to work fine. Its just the auto entry/exit mode that seems quite inconsistent. I do like that you have an option for it. But I think Range Rovers inmplementaion of the entry exit was much more intuitive. The user cant really be confused.

P= entry exit D or S or R = normal height. Simple and consistent. :-)

Xelatan

But only if you have auto exit mode enabled

You cant really say that something is consistent except... the exception makes it inconsistent :-)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #16  
Old 02-20-2015, 03:11 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,118
Thanks: 74
Thanked 297 Times in 261 Posts
Rep Power: 46571
lstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Quadra Lift Operation

Quote:
Originally Posted by bill_de View Post
Keep in mind, that even at entry/exit level, the Grand Cherokee still has better ground clearance than many cars on the road.


---
Agreed. If park mode caused contact with a speed bump, that wasn't a speed bump, it was someone sleeping or a curb.

Speed wouldn't be the case, because it lifts at pretty close to precisely 15 mph.

I do wonder why it leaves it at park/exit height in drive until doing 15 mph, but I have managed to keep from getting my knickers all twisted up about this--possibly because I am one of those wierdos who tends to RTFM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-20-2015, 04:56 PM
bill_de's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2017 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8,660
Thanks: 742
Thanked 1,091 Times in 849 Posts
Rep Power: 1806087
bill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Quadra Lift Operation

Quote:
Originally Posted by lstowell View Post
Agreed. If park mode caused contact with a speed bump, that wasn't a speed bump, it was someone sleeping or a curb.

Speed wouldn't be the case, because it lifts at pretty close to precisely 15 mph.

I do wonder why it leaves it at park/exit height in drive until doing 15 mph, but I have managed to keep from getting my knickers all twisted up about this--possibly because I am one of those wierdos who tends to RTFM.
One situation comes to mind. A couple of my neighbors don't have auto garage door openers. They pull up to their garages, get out and open the garage door, then get back in and drive into the garage.

Unless someone parks next to a big speed bump all the time, I don't see any issue.

Just thought of something else. Lots of people stop for gas. The considerate ones then pull into a parking space to go into the convenience store, 50 or 100 feet away.

I think there are more instances where using the shifter position instead of speed would be annoying.


---
__________________
If you need a shoulder to cry on ...
... pull over to the side of the road!

Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bill_de For This Useful Post:
  #18  
Old 02-20-2015, 05:04 PM
Willx's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4,989
Thanks: 536
Thanked 953 Times in 512 Posts
Rep Power: 1928340
Willx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Quadra Track Operation

Quote:
Originally Posted by xelatan View Post
But I think Range Rovers inmplementaion of the entry exit was much more intuitive. The user cant really be confused.

P= entry exit D or S or R = normal height. Simple and consistent. :-)

Xelatan

But only if you have auto exit mode enabled

You cant really say that something is consistent except... the exception makes it inconsistent :-)
I think in this situation that LR is the exception my Mercedes functioned the same way as the Jeep Grand Cherokee and most others I have driven were similar.

I agree it is personal preference but I will definitely check this on the LR next time I am in one.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-21-2015, 11:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 49
Thanked 176 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 17577
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by xelatan View Post
You cant really say that something is consistent except... the exception makes it inconsistent :-)
Haha, ever designed something only to have someone else come in and mandate the inclusion of inconsistencies? "Aaarrgh!"

While this is almost a semantic debate at this point, I will point out I do believe that it is legitimate to consider Sport mode to be an exception outside QL because it modifies other aspects of the vehicle as well (e.g. transmission shift points and locking out the QL user controls, which nothing else does, et al). The auto entry/exit option also seemed like an exception because it's not part of the default behavior... it's a control program running on top of the system.

Regardless, though, I hope you're convinced your Jeep isn't broken... well, aside from "broken by design", if you want to look at it that way.

If you're interested in another "broken by design" aspect, I'm fairly certain that the speed limit warning in the nav uses GPS calculated speed rather than the vehicle speedometer. I have been driving steadily on cc (speedo not varying) many times only to have the speed limit warning voice message emitted once every 10 minutes or so and I'm nowhere close to the programmed limit.

Welcome to the forum, BTW.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-24-2015, 09:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tulsa area
Posts: 212
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 3105
Rexlion has a reputation beyond reputeRexlion has a reputation beyond reputeRexlion has a reputation beyond reputeRexlion has a reputation beyond reputeRexlion has a reputation beyond reputeRexlion has a reputation beyond reputeRexlion has a reputation beyond reputeRexlion has a reputation beyond reputeRexlion has a reputation beyond reputeRexlion has a reputation beyond reputeRexlion has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Quadra Track Operation

The mfr can't foresee every unusual situation of every driver. They just make it work in a way that they think will accommodate the large majority. If the ride over that early speed bump is so jarring, you'll just have to form a habit of hitting the UP button right away, or shifting S, then D.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 02-24-2015, 09:26 PM
Benn0's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,180
Thanks: 116
Thanked 361 Times in 278 Posts
Rep Power: 18979
Benn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond reputeBenn0 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Quadra Track Operation

I agree, I prefer the car remaining in entry/exit until over a certain speed. A lot of the time I will reverse out of a spot before the wife gets in. If you want it to raise early, press the up button.
__________________
MY14 Grand Cherokee LTD CRD - ORA2 & QL | Mopar 18" Night Fever Rims & Rock Rails | Chief Recovery Hooks & Sump Skid Plate | STMaxx 275/65R18
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-24-2015, 10:15 PM
nicjak's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: victoria
Posts: 865
Thanks: 48
Thanked 124 Times in 108 Posts
Rep Power: 3246
nicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Quadra Track Operation

damn can you explain why my car only drives when i select D for day and R for when it rains when i select N for night it just revs. and you thought you had problems with the car not raising and lowering on demand trivial one would assume
__________________
2012, grand cherokee 5.7 overland.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nicjak For This Useful Post:
  #23  
Old 02-25-2015, 07:01 PM
Angler's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 382
Thanks: 30
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 62929
Angler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Quadra Track Operation

^^ bwahaha!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quadra-Drive II vs Quadra-Track II tretzen Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 66 08-04-2014 01:57 PM
Quadra Trac 2 operation info needed Stevm65 Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 2 04-05-2014 03:40 PM
Grand Cherokee 2012 Quadra Track 2 3.6l Power Line Track teye Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 2 09-24-2012 07:23 AM
Quadra trac I or Quadra trac II skinny Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 26 09-30-2010 11:43 AM
Quadra Trac II or Quadra Drive ll CasAce Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 3 05-18-2010 01:46 PM

» Premium Vendor Showcase
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.