Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-25-2013, 06:44 PM
vzwman's Avatar
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1126
vzwman has a reputation beyond reputevzwman has a reputation beyond reputevzwman has a reputation beyond reputevzwman has a reputation beyond reputevzwman has a reputation beyond reputevzwman has a reputation beyond reputevzwman has a reputation beyond reputevzwman has a reputation beyond repute
TPMS Issue

I have new 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland that has the premium TPMS monitoring system on it. The factory rims, tires and TPMS sensors that come on it were the hyper-silver rims. I bought another complete OEM factory set of chrome rims, tires and TPMS sensors. The TPMS monitoring system was working just fine before I replaced the rims. After I put the new OEM factory chrome rims on the vehicle now the TPMS has a system fault and none of the 4 tires are showing the air pressure. I was told that this would not be an issue being that all the TPMS units in the new rims were the OEM factory 433 Mhz units with part number 56029398AB just like the ones in the rims that came off the vehicle. He told me that after I drove it for about 20 mins that they would read and start working. This appears not to be the case. My question is am I going to need to take the vehicle back to the Jeep dealer and have them to put the system onto retrain (Reprogrammed) to be able to get these other ones to work? Any help someone can provide would be grateful.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2013, 06:11 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 753
Thanks: 3
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 1231702
2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Issue

The OEM TPM's should not need to be programmed. I just purchased and installed the same part # 56029398AB on 4 new wheels and the system recognized them within 10 minutes of driving.

Check with the vendor who sold you the wheel/tire package. When shopping for my TPM's, I noticed some sellers have aftermarket sensors and list the OEM part number as an interchange number.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-26-2013, 01:00 PM
vzwman's Avatar
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1126
vzwman has a reputation beyond reputevzwman has a reputation beyond reputevzwman has a reputation beyond reputevzwman has a reputation beyond reputevzwman has a reputation beyond reputevzwman has a reputation beyond reputevzwman has a reputation beyond reputevzwman has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Issue

Thanks for the reply. I think you are 100% on the vender using an aftermarket sensor. I am going to call them in the morning and see what type they used. I reinstalled my other rims that come on the vehicle and after about 5 mins of driving the fault cleared and all 4 TPMS units are now reporting air pressure. Thanks again. Steve
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-26-2013, 01:30 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 753
Thanks: 3
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 1231702
2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Issue

Good luck. I have heard about problems with some aftermarket sensors. If you do have to replace them, there are some good deals on ebay such as:

4 New Chrysler Dodge Jeep TPMS 56029398AB 433MHz Tire Pressure Sensors | eBay
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS Issue cobrakillerta Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 4 04-15-2013 01:07 AM
TPMS Issue mrjaydeeone Troubleshooting/Problems 6 04-07-2013 10:59 AM
New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors? elp_jc Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 6 05-20-2012 03:03 AM
TPMS Issue mrjaydeeone Troubleshooting/Problems 23 02-18-2012 07:24 PM
TPMS Sensor Issue? elvisisdead Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 8 11-10-2011 10:00 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community