Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 03-28-2012, 04:20 PM
bumpin_jeep's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 303
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1848
bumpin_jeep is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS Light

Yea, you should be able to use the same ones as on your 17s. My brother-in-law works at tire shop and he just put on my 20" replicas last week and told me to keep them at 35-36psi. Maybe you have too much?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-28-2012, 04:25 PM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 26445
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Light

TPMS threads come up here often, you should be able to search on TPMS and get a bunch of info. WK2Jeeps.com has a good write up on the TPMS.

Basically:

The TPMs system does not alarm on over pressure.

Once tripped, it takes awhile to reset, there is quite a bit of hysteresis. You may have to raise the pressure to reset.

The sensors send their pressure measurement via RF to the vehicle modules at each corner and then to the computer for interpretation. All WK2s use the same sensor regardless of tire size or model, the receiving modules are different. Could be a bad/disconnected receiving module.

Sears should have a TPMS reader (decodes the RF) and they should be able to tell if one sensor has failed. They are common tools at tire shops. Sensors are easily damaged during tire install, and can get gunked up with tire soap. I'm not sure if an ODB code also gets set on a sensor failure.

All TPMS sensors for Jeep are made by the same company, there is no such think as non-OEM. Several Chrysler vehicles use the same sensors. Although some other vehicles may have poor results with off brand sensors, anything associated with WK2 TPMS problems is pure hogwash. Been discussed here often.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-28-2012, 04:50 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1735
HammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Light

Navger, did you drill down into the EVIC and look at the tire pressure readouts for each wheel? That should tell you what the Jeep thinks is wrong.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-28-2012, 06:18 PM
navger's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 935
navger is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: TPMS Light

Quote:
Originally Posted by HammFist View Post
Navger, did you drill down into the EVIC and look at the tire pressure readouts for each wheel? That should tell you what the Jeep thinks is wrong.
My Laredo does not give any information on the EVIC as far as individual tire pressure. Other than the light itself that's all the information I have.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-28-2012, 06:18 PM
navger's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 935
navger is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: TPMS Light

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
TPMS threads come up here often, you should be able to search on TPMS and get a bunch of info. WK2Jeeps.com has a good write up on the TPMS.

Basically:

The TPMs system does not alarm on over pressure.

Once tripped, it takes awhile to reset, there is quite a bit of hysteresis. You may have to raise the pressure to reset.

The sensors send their pressure measurement via RF to the vehicle modules at each corner and then to the computer for interpretation. All WK2s use the same sensor regardless of tire size or model, the receiving modules are different. Could be a bad/disconnected receiving module.

Sears should have a TPMS reader (decodes the RF) and they should be able to tell if one sensor has failed. They are common tools at tire shops. Sensors are easily damaged during tire install, and can get gunked up with tire soap. I'm not sure if an ODB code also gets set on a sensor failure.

All TPMS sensors for Jeep are made by the same company, there is no such think as non-OEM. Several Chrysler vehicles use the same sensors. Although some other vehicles may have poor results with off brand sensors, anything associated with WK2 TPMS problems is pure hogwash. Been discussed here often.
This is some great information. Thanks a lot!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-29-2012, 06:37 AM
Ratchet's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 407
Thanks: 5
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 5464
Ratchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Light

Not trying to start a disagreement, but here lately, I've seen quite a few issues with non OEM tpms (Echlin expecially) and the embedded ID code conflicts on self learning TPM location platforms such as our WK2's. However, this is only on the models that have the live tire pressure display within the EVIC.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-29-2012, 07:31 AM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 26445
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Light

Looks like, within the last few months, Echlin is claiming to have a sensor compatible with the WK2 system. Good to know. So for best results, shop for a sensor with the Chrysler part number (56029398AA).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-29-2012, 07:51 AM
Ratchet's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 407
Thanks: 5
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 5464
Ratchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Light

Good deal ColdCase. Preciate the info.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 03-29-2012, 08:06 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1244
tnjeep has disabled reputation
Re: TPMS Light

Is there anyway to turn off the sensor by a dealership scan tool or something. It is nice but IMO just another thing that can go wrong. I check my tire pressure in all my vehicles atleast twice a month as it is and never needed a vehicle computer to tell me what it is.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-29-2012, 08:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 316
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 1840
rubicontrail.net has a reputation beyond reputerubicontrail.net has a reputation beyond reputerubicontrail.net has a reputation beyond reputerubicontrail.net has a reputation beyond reputerubicontrail.net has a reputation beyond reputerubicontrail.net has a reputation beyond reputerubicontrail.net has a reputation beyond reputerubicontrail.net has a reputation beyond reputerubicontrail.net has a reputation beyond reputerubicontrail.net has a reputation beyond reputerubicontrail.net has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Light

Quote:
Originally Posted by tnjeep View Post
Is there anyway to turn off the sensor by a dealership scan tool or something. It is nice but IMO just another thing that can go wrong. I check my tire pressure in all my vehicles atleast twice a month as it is and never needed a vehicle computer to tell me what it is.
I doubt it, these are government required now as a result of the whole Ford Explorer /Firestone fiasco. If you ever were in an accident due to tire failure, your insurance would most likely not cover you if they found it had been disabled.
__________________
2007 Jeep Commander Limited, 1998 Jeep Wrangler Sahara, 1955 Willys Jeep Pickup (Restoration Project), 2011 Subaru Outback 2.5i Limited: Photos & Specifications
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-29-2012, 05:34 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1735
HammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond reputeHammFist has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Light

Quote:
Originally Posted by navger View Post
My Laredo does not give any information on the EVIC as far as individual tire pressure. Other than the light itself that's all the information I have.
Sorry, my Laredo X does. I'll bet it is all the same sensors and electronics -- they just disable the features they think you will pay more to get.

... and I have to admit, I like the EVIC tire pressure readout more than I thought I would.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS light blinking bumpin_jeep Troubleshooting/Problems 8 03-24-2012 03:43 PM
Security Light and Loose Gas Cap Light ? mixer440 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 1 02-23-2012 06:18 AM
ABS Light & Airbag light ilirdino Troubleshooting/Problems 5 06-10-2010 03:34 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community