Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-28-2012, 12:03 AM
navger's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 930
navger is on a distinguished road
Garage
TPMS Light

A week ago I had Sears put on Goodyear Fortera's on the 20" Overland wheels I installed. Today my tire pressure light came for no reason. I stopped at a gas station and checked all tires with a tire gauge. They were all set to 40psi. Is that too much for my tires? The label on the side of the door reads 33psi cold but that's on the stock 17" tires that I had. What do you guys recommend? Should I take it back in and have them check it out? Should I lower the psi to the mid 30s range? What could be causing the light to come on?

Thanks guys for always being so helpful.

Gerardo
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2012, 12:53 AM
carlosmp's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Calgary, AB.
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1684
carlosmp has a reputation beyond reputecarlosmp has a reputation beyond reputecarlosmp has a reputation beyond reputecarlosmp has a reputation beyond reputecarlosmp has a reputation beyond reputecarlosmp has a reputation beyond reputecarlosmp has a reputation beyond reputecarlosmp has a reputation beyond reputecarlosmp has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Light

I'll have to double check, but I'm pretty sure the recommended pressure for the 20" forteras is 36 psi. .
I don't know if the over inflation may have triggered the TPMS but I think it's worth adjusting the pressure to make sure.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2012, 02:19 AM
navger's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 930
navger is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: TPMS Light

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlosmp View Post
I'll have to double check, but I'm pretty sure the recommended pressure for the 20" forteras is 36 psi. .
I don't know if the over inflation may have triggered the TPMS but I think it's worth adjusting the pressure to make sure.
I will try that tomorrow. Thanks a lot Carlos.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2012, 05:44 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1239
tnjeep has disabled reputation
Re: TPMS Light

My tire light came on and the jeep chimed for one second while going down the interstate yesterday. It happened so fast that I wasn't sure what light is was till I looked in the owners manual. I have the Laredo so I don't have the psi for all 4 tires in the EVIC so I check pressure in all the tires and all was good. I was going through Knoxville with alot of interstate construction so I thought that maybe some other radio electronics interfered with my TPMS signal. Light never came back on for the 250 mile trip back home.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2012, 06:01 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1507
hammer1234 is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS Light

Quote:
Originally Posted by tnjeep View Post
My tire light came and the jeep chimed for one second while going down the interstate yesterday. It happened so fast that I wasn't sure what light is was till I looked in the owners manual. I have the Laredo so I don't have the psi for all 4 tires in the EVIC so I check pressure in all the tires and all was good. I was going through Knoxville with alot of interstate construction so I thought that maybe some other radio electronics interfered with my TPMS signal. Light never came back on for the 250 mile trip back home.
Hmmm...we have the Laredo X and we can check the pressures on EVIC. Didn't know that wasn't standard.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-28-2012, 06:34 AM
Ratchet's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 407
Thanks: 5
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 5459
Ratchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Light

navger, are you able to view your tire pressures in the EVIC? If so, do any of them have a "--" beside them?
I have the 18" wheels (32psi recommended) and had overinflated tires (40psi)upon taking delivery. No TPM warnings.

Recently, I have had to replace one of my tire pressure monitors.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-28-2012, 03:41 PM
navger's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 930
navger is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: TPMS Light

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratchet View Post
navger, are you able to view your tire pressures in the EVIC? If so, do any of them have a "--" beside them?
I have the 18" wheels (32psi recommended) and had overinflated tires (40psi)upon taking delivery. No TPM warnings.

Recently, I have had to replace one of my tire pressure monitors.
No, all the EVIC displays is an exclamation point with what looks to be a tire with low pressure. No other information is shown.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-28-2012, 03:44 PM
navger's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 930
navger is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: TPMS Light

I got new tire pressure monitors when I bought the new tires. Maybe something needs to be re-adjusted. I'm not sure exactly how the TPMS works.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-28-2012, 03:53 PM
Ratchet's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 407
Thanks: 5
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 5459
Ratchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS Light

So, I'm guessing you got new wheels? If so, you could have moved your tpms from your old wheels to new.

If sears actually replaced all 4 monitors (one per wheel), we would need to know if the sensors were aftermarket of straight from Mopar.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-28-2012, 03:56 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,417
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542605
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: TPMS Light

bring it back to sears. the aftermarket TPMS are NOT being recognized.

i would be looking for some OEMs.......
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-28-2012, 03:59 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central NH
Posts: 681
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2376
nek121328 is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS Light

It could be tire pressure, a damaged sensor(s) or incorrect sensors. Drop the pressure, see if it resets, if not then take it back to Sears.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-28-2012, 04:16 PM
navger's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 930
navger is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: TPMS Light

I doubt that they are mopar. They were bundled with the total price I paid. I'm gonna ask them when I take it back. Is it possible to use the same ones I had on my stock 17s?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS light blinking bumpin_jeep Troubleshooting/Problems 8 03-24-2012 03:43 PM
Security Light and Loose Gas Cap Light ? mixer440 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 1 02-23-2012 06:18 AM
ABS Light & Airbag light ilirdino Troubleshooting/Problems 5 06-10-2010 03:34 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community