Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-28-2012, 06:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 64
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1464
7upstang is on a distinguished road
TPMS not reading

I have a 2011 GC Laredo X. I just swapped on some 265/65/18 Bridgestone Dueler A/T's. While the one tire was being removed from the rim the TPMS was hit and broke off the stem. My buddy who's shop it is ordered up an aftermarket unit. We finished up and I was only getting a ready from 3 sensors. I thought okay, the vehicle needs to learn the replaced sensor. I drove home, about 15 miles and no change. Today I rotated two of the tires, moving the new sensor front to rear. Drove back home and only 3 sensors reading, but the position of the sensors didn't change. If the new sensor is bad/or wrong for jeep then it should have moved to the rear. Any help would be great.

Thanks,

Jim
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2012, 07:30 AM
Ratchet's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 410
Thanks: 5
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 5532
Ratchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS not reading

If one of the TPMS is faulty, in some situations, the system will not attempt to relearn the new locations untill the original problem is repaired.

I do know that the OEM TPMS come with a sensor ID# already preprogrammed. Repair/relearn is as simple as installing the new sensor and going for a short drive. I cannot confirm if the aftermarket brands come with a preprogrammed ID or not.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2012, 08:48 AM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,446
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 26511
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS not reading

Are you getting the system fault indication? i. e. the low pressure warning flashes for ~75 seconds before going solid? Did the tire shop use their TPMS tester to verify the new sensors is working at the right frequency? Did they also check the others?

Aftermarket sensors are notorious for incompatibility with the WK2. Some work some don't.

Once a fault is detected, perhaps the system will not update any pressures, it just goes to the system fault state until it sees four sensors.

You could borrow a tire from another WK2, see what happens.
__________________
2011 WK2 Overland Mineral Gray/Black, Advanced warning, V8; 2009 KK Rocky Mtn V6; 2000 WJ Laredo I6; 1979 CJ7 I6... green... miles of smiles :)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2013, 01:32 PM
BioTech's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1560
BioTech is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS not reading

I had the same problem, but never got the sensor replace. They fixed a flat tire, after that it did not work on that tire. Took it back to the dealer and they had to replace the receiving unit. They said they are very easy to hit when replacing a tire or rotating the tires. They replaced the receiving unit and all works now. Not really sure where they are and how easy it is to hit them but that's what they told me and seems to be true.
__________________
2011 WK2 Limited 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2013, 05:29 PM
denis4x4's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Southwest Colorado
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 862
denis4x4 is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS not reading

A really good tire pressure gauge is $20.00! I have three cars with TPMS and none of them are even close to being accurate. Made this years ago when I was heavy into off highway stuff and needed to drop air pressures. Parts were about $40.00. And being an old phart, the gauge is easy to read! I still use gauges instead of TPMS.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC03590.JPG (87.3 KB, 6 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors? elp_jc Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 6 05-20-2012 03:03 AM
TPMS Reading Blank On One Wheel Crashtown Troubleshooting/Problems 3 05-06-2012 09:50 PM
More GC reading 2011RitterGC Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 15 02-05-2011 11:33 AM
I Know The Reading is from a Dashhawk But...... Robert Palmer Members Rides 28 11-09-2009 04:11 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.