TPMS won't relearn - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-01-2016, 09:32 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 33
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1002
Lark is on a distinguished road
TPMS won't relearn

My 2014 Summit can't seem to adapt after I rotate the tires. I guess I had assumed it was doing so until last week when I had a flat. The display showed the left front going down pretty fast so I pulled over to check it out. Left front looked fine so I did a walk around and the right front was almost sitting on the rim. I've got right at 50k miles on the vehicle and about 4K since the last time the tires were rotated. I have readings for all four tires on the display and everything acts normal except the location is wrong. Anyone run across this before? Because it's out of warranty it'll be on me if I take it to the dealer. I don't care enough about the tire position to spend money on it but if anyone knows of anything I could try at home I'd appreciate hearing any ideas.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-01-2016, 10:14 PM
Tarponbeach's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 214
Thanks: 21
Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
Rep Power: 1456
Tarponbeach is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS won't relearn

Sadly, I have a wealth of experience with the TPMS system.

A local tire shop destroyed two of my TPMS sensors when mounting my Blizzaks. After numerous attempts to fix their error, I ended up at the dealership, where they replaced the damaged sensors, and the tire shop reimbursed me for the cost.

Each TPMS sensor is programmed to the Jeep by location (LF, RF, LR, RR)

When tires are rotated, each sensor needs to be re-programmed with the new location on the Jeep. This is done with a hand held programmer that communicates with each tire sensor wirelessly by holding the programmer against the valve stem. Once the sensor realizes that it is being interrogated, it transmits it's unique i.d. to the tool, and the technician then enters the physical location of that tire. After all 4 sensors have been entered in, the programmer downloads this information, via the OBD port under the dashboard, to the Jeep.

So, when tires are rotated and the TPMS computer in the Jeep is not updated with the new locations of the tires, the TMPS sensors will continue to transmit but the TPMS module will display the location where the tires used to be, prior to rotating the tires.

If you rotate your own tires, you can probably pay any tire shop that has the programmer to re-program your TMPS module to display the correct locations of the rotated tires.
__________________
2015 GC Overland
Granite Crystal / Black
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2016, 10:41 PM
jacko15's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 2,721
Thanks: 291
Thanked 296 Times in 231 Posts
Rep Power: 91374
jacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS won't relearn

This is a cut and paste from the '14 JGC owner's manual:

"NOTE: The premium Tire Pressure Monitor System will
automatically locate the pressure values displayed in the
correct vehicle position following a tire rotation."

I've rotated my tires several times, and checked by bleeding and replacing air to make sure, and my TPMS has reprogrammed itself correctly on it's own. Not sure if this changed for MY '15, but it should work for '14.
__________________
Mine: 2014 Overland 4x4 V6, ORA II, billet silver/black, Michelin LTX M/S 2's, MaxCare Lifetime, delivered 4-13-'13
Wife's Jeep: 2008 Compass Sport 4x4, 2.4L I4 DOHC, CVT, Lifetime powertrain warranty
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2016, 11:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 423
Thanks: 5
Thanked 50 Times in 45 Posts
Rep Power: 2772
Nonstop is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS won't relearn

I think it's the same for all years, I rotate my tires and have even rotated in a new wheel and after a few short trips it picked up on it. While my early Laredo doesn't display the fifth/spare tire pressure on the display it recognized it when I put it on once.
__________________
2011 X 3.6
2000 WJ 5.2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2016, 07:47 AM
Ratchet's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 547
Thanks: 20
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Rep Power: 6484
Ratchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond reputeRatchet has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS won't relearn

After a tire dismount or tire rotation, the vehicle must be driven over ~35mph for several minutes for the system to refresh.
__________________
2014 WK2 Overland - Billet Silver
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2016, 02:55 PM
AAAA's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 3,493
Thanks: 203
Thanked 164 Times in 144 Posts
Rep Power: 1545135
AAAA has a reputation beyond reputeAAAA has a reputation beyond reputeAAAA has a reputation beyond reputeAAAA has a reputation beyond reputeAAAA has a reputation beyond reputeAAAA has a reputation beyond reputeAAAA has a reputation beyond reputeAAAA has a reputation beyond reputeAAAA has a reputation beyond reputeAAAA has a reputation beyond reputeAAAA has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS won't relearn

I have my tires rotated every 5000 miles. In both my MY11 and current MY15 I traded in the stock tires for better tires at less than150 miles. In both vehicles the OEM sensors were carefully reused for my new tires. Tires are rotated by my local indie tire shop where they were purchased. I have never ever had a problem with TPMS re activating properly within 2 miles of driving,
I think dealer is trying to sell you a washer fluid flush!!
__________________
Overland: Nokian WR G3 SUV tires, front and t. c. skid plates, Bosch Icon blades, Husky X-Act Contour slush mats, MOPAR cargo mat. Successor to trouble-free 2011 Limited.
(Avatar- http://www.ussslater.org/)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2016, 05:57 PM
slawek65's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 2373
slawek65 is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS won't relearn

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarponbeach View Post
Sadly, I have a wealth of experience with the TPMS system.

A local tire shop destroyed two of my TPMS sensors when mounting my Blizzaks. After numerous attempts to fix their error, I ended up at the dealership, where they replaced the damaged sensors, and the tire shop reimbursed me for the cost.

Each TPMS sensor is programmed to the Jeep by location (LF, RF, LR, RR)

When tires are rotated, each sensor needs to be re-programmed with the new location on the Jeep. This is done with a hand held programmer that communicates with each tire sensor wirelessly by holding the programmer against the valve stem. Once the sensor realizes that it is being interrogated, it transmits it's unique i.d. to the tool, and the technician then enters the physical location of that tire. After all 4 sensors have been entered in, the programmer downloads this information, via the OBD port under the dashboard, to the Jeep.

So, when tires are rotated and the TPMS computer in the Jeep is not updated with the new locations of the tires, the TMPS sensors will continue to transmit but the TPMS module will display the location where the tires used to be, prior to rotating the tires.

If you rotate your own tires, you can probably pay any tire shop that has the programmer to re-program your TMPS module to display the correct locations of the rotated tires.
If 2011 have the same system (TPMS) as 2015 this is not true. I have 2 sets of wheels, summer and winter. OEM sensors on summer set and aftermarket sensors on winter set and never have to program sensors. Even aftermarket sensors connect to TPMS module right away and display tire pressure on dash.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2016, 06:05 PM
Tarponbeach's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 214
Thanks: 21
Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
Rep Power: 1456
Tarponbeach is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS won't relearn

Quote:
Originally Posted by slawek65 View Post
If 2011 have the same system (TPMS) as 2015 this is not true. I have 2 sets of wheels, summer and winter. OEM sensors on summer set and aftermarket sensors on winter set and never have to program sensors. Even aftermarket sensors connect to TPMS module right away and display tire pressure on dash.
I'm only repeating what I was told by the dealer, as I had the same problem as the O.P., whereas the front tires were displaying their pressures in the rear locations on the Evic, and the display for the the front tires was a red error symbol. The bad sensors were actually on the rear tires, but the error(s) were displaying on the front tire displays.
__________________
2015 GC Overland
Granite Crystal / Black
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-06-2016, 10:49 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 33
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1002
Lark is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS won't relearn

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lark View Post
My 2014 Summit can't seem to adapt after I rotate the tires. I guess I had assumed it was doing so until last week when I had a flat. The display showed the left front going down pretty fast so I pulled over to check it out. Left front looked fine so I did a walk around and the right front was almost sitting on the rim. I've got right at 50k miles on the vehicle and about 4K since the last time the tires were rotated. I have readings for all four tires on the display and everything acts normal except the location is wrong. Anyone run across this before? Because it's out of warranty it'll be on me if I take it to the dealer. I don't care enough about the tire position to spend money on it but if anyone knows of anything I could try at home I'd appreciate hearing any ideas.
I appreciate everyone's input. When I had my flat last week I put the spare on the right front and drove home 250 miles with the left front show red with no reading. When I got home I plugged the tire and put it back on the right front. Drove around a bit and the left front warning went out and read normal pressure. When I got home from work last night I kept the vehicle running and dropped the air pressure from the left front to see where I'd get a reading on the instrument panel. Low and behold it's working correctly now. I don't know why but I'll take it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-06-2016, 11:58 PM
jacko15's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 2,721
Thanks: 291
Thanked 296 Times in 231 Posts
Rep Power: 91374
jacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS won't relearn

I believe the TPMS system won't relearn the sensor positions unless there's four good sensors on the corners.
__________________
Mine: 2014 Overland 4x4 V6, ORA II, billet silver/black, Michelin LTX M/S 2's, MaxCare Lifetime, delivered 4-13-'13
Wife's Jeep: 2008 Compass Sport 4x4, 2.4L I4 DOHC, CVT, Lifetime powertrain warranty
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-07-2016, 12:27 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 33
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1002
Lark is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS won't relearn

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacko15 View Post
I believe the TPMS system won't relearn the sensor positions unless there's four good sensors on the corners.
That very well could be true. What doesn't make sense is why after driving 4K miles after my last rotation the system didn't relearn. Next rotation when I get home I'll bleed a little air out of a tire and see what I end up with.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS #56029398AB vs TPMS #68241067AB Laser-9 Wheels and Tires 4 02-02-2016 08:57 AM
Whippled SRT - Transmission relearn? JackJones Engine Performance/Intakes and Exhausts/Superchargers/Turbos 6 03-23-2015 11:03 PM
New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors? elp_jc Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 6 05-20-2012 04:03 AM
One (1) TPMS won't link up.. blackpepper Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 8 04-27-2011 09:23 PM
Transmission CVI Relearn/Reflash 555ctsv Grand Cherokee - WK 15 01-24-2010 07:29 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.