Diablo/HEMIfever reprogram tire size? - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Engine Performance/Intakes/Exhausts

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-17-2015, 10:13 PM
spinxt's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 1536
spinxt is on a distinguished road
Diablo/HEMIfever reprogram tire size?

Does the Diablo with Hemifever tunes provide the option to resize the wheel/tire diameter?

I have a RRO leveling kit and can afford slightly bigger tires, but I only want to do so if I can reprogram size. I don't want to deal with a speedo/ odo that's off by a percentage.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-18-2015, 01:25 AM
Raptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 778
Thanks: 6
Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts
Rep Power: 328522
Raptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Diablo/HEMIfever reprogram tire size?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spinxt View Post
Does the Diablo with Hemifever tunes provide the option to resize the wheel/tire diameter?

I have a RRO leveling kit and can afford slightly bigger tires, but I only want to do so if I can reprogram size. I don't want to deal with a speedo/ odo that's off by a percentage.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Yes that option is provided, only problem is....... It doesn't work!

Every time you change the tire size to correct the speedometer/odometer for non OEM tire sizes the ABS light illuminates and it can't be reset!

This has been discussed here numerous times, do a search.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2015, 04:09 AM
Sleeps's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,111
Thanks: 0
Thanked 71 Times in 64 Posts
Rep Power: 582140
Sleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond repute
Works just fine on my 05 wk but your talking about the wk2s because of the rro kit. Either get it done at the dealer for stupid amonts of money or just remember on the freeway that you are going faster than it says you are.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2015, 03:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 611
Thanks: 2
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 16424
DirtyDuc83 has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyDuc83 has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyDuc83 has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyDuc83 has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyDuc83 has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyDuc83 has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyDuc83 has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyDuc83 has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyDuc83 has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyDuc83 has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyDuc83 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Diablo/HEMIfever reprogram tire size?

disappointing they haven't fixed this yet...Have they at least taken it off as a feature of the tool?
__________________
2012 Stone White Overland Hemi ~ Altitude grill and brow ~ SRT8 reps ~ 275/55/20 Duratracs ~ Mopar pedals ~ SRT8 side lettering ~ 20% tint all around ~ Volant CAI ~ HF Tune
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2015, 06:02 PM
spinxt's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 1536
spinxt is on a distinguished road
Re: Diablo/HEMIfever reprogram tire size?

Can they dealer "reprogram" the tire size with their tools?


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2015, 12:44 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 60
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 690
AlexIVK is on a distinguished road
Re: Diablo/HEMIfever reprogram tire size?

I did it. Do not know why the overall diameter was set to 29,5". That is non correct even for stock size of 265/50/20. Which are 30,1. I have installed 275/50/20 tires with 30.8" overall diameter. I had to choose 30,5 as the next step was 31".
No ABS malfunction light.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2015, 10:14 PM
Sleeps's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,111
Thanks: 0
Thanked 71 Times in 64 Posts
Rep Power: 582140
Sleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond reputeSleeps has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexIVK View Post
I did it. Do not know why the overall diameter was set to 29,5". That is non correct even for stock size of 265/50/20. Which are 30,1. I have installed 275/50/20 tires with 30.8" overall diameter. I had to choose 30,5 as the next step was 31".
No ABS malfunction light.

Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Well the tires are not that tall. Whip out a tape measure and see. The sizes are that size in inches only when they don't have weight on them.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-03-2015, 01:41 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 60
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 690
AlexIVK is on a distinguished road
Re: Diablo/HEMIfever reprogram tire size?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleeps View Post
Well the tires are not that tall. Whip out a tape measure and see. The sizes are that size in inches only when they don't have weight on them.

Okay, agreed about the weight. There is an option to input tire size like 265/50/20. I guess it would just calculate the diameter 8-)) But I would not do that as GPS speed tracking and car speedo readings are almost the same now.
Using that logic cold tire and the running one should have differences in diameter. Suppose that is too complicated for PCM. More probable they just decreasing indicative speed by putting slightly less diameter to stay on safe side with speed limits. Just a buffer for driver vs speed cams. Very common practice among car producers.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-03-2015, 06:59 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 389
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 2253
My1stJGC is on a distinguished road
Re: Diablo/HEMIfever reprogram tire size?

So what your saying is put in as tire size ex. 32.07 instead of 275/65-18
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-04-2015, 02:55 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 60
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 690
AlexIVK is on a distinguished road
Re: Diablo/HEMIfever reprogram tire size?

Why instead ? If you already entered your actual tire size ? There are two diablo tire size entering options. Enter overall diameter or tire size specs by width, side wall, radius.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-04-2015, 06:41 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 389
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 2253
My1stJGC is on a distinguished road
Re: Diablo/HEMIfever reprogram tire size?

Well you said you got it to work. But looking at tire size difference you have the margin wouldn't do anything anyways. Your talking a .7. Which wouldn't cause it to go wild cause it's with in 3%.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-04-2015, 09:23 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 60
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 690
AlexIVK is on a distinguished road
Re: Diablo/HEMIfever reprogram tire size?

Сorrect. My tires just slightly bigger than stock ones. I didn't worried too much about that. Just tried that option.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hemi, ram

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WK tire size and spare tire size ideas and questions batkinson Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 2 05-25-2014 08:46 AM
Diablo - HemiFever Tuning - Question? etennyson Engine Performance/Intakes/Exhausts 92 09-20-2013 03:21 PM
HELP: how to i reprogram my auto-up windows crazylikeacharger Troubleshooting/Problems 4 09-12-2011 11:11 PM
How to reprogram remote keyless entry for 04 Jeep Grand Cherokee Ltd. stryker620 Troubleshooting/Problems 11 04-15-2011 06:29 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.