Hypertech Interceptor Install - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Engine Performance/Intakes/Exhausts

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-28-2015, 11:49 PM
scalco23's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 567
scalco23 is on a distinguished road
Hypertech Interceptor Install

Anyone in the Chicago area or Chicago North Suburbs that can help with an install of a Hypertech Interceptor? Yes, I know it's "easy" and there are videos, but I just do not trust myself under the hood of one of these machines. Please PM if willing to help out.

Thanks!

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-03-2015, 12:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 669
splinterz88 is on a distinguished road
Re: Hypertech Interceptor Install

Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2015, 10:26 AM
f1anatic's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,675
Thanks: 68
Thanked 184 Times in 137 Posts
Rep Power: 159925
f1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Hypertech Interceptor Install

I wish I could help. I am interested in one for my Jeep as well and I would like to not only witness the process but also see the end results - performance and fuel economy wise. Maybe we can do it as part of a meeting...see here:

The Chicagoland Jeep Meet Thread !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2015, 12:47 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 1125
barak is on a distinguished road
Re: Hypertech Interceptor Install

It looks pretty easy from what I saw in the instructions. You ust unplug the main harness , plug it into the unit then plug the unit plug into your main harness. It is only 3 plugs you are doing , 2 under the hood and 1 just above the gas pedal. They say 15 minute install time , and from what I saw that looks pretty close.
__________________
2014 Summit 5.7
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-06-2015, 07:08 PM
f1anatic's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,675
Thanks: 68
Thanked 184 Times in 137 Posts
Rep Power: 159925
f1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Hypertech Interceptor Install

Yeah but those 15 minutes of getting the harness through the firewall is where the challenge is.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-06-2015, 07:59 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 1125
barak is on a distinguished road
Re: Hypertech Interceptor Install

I looked at the instructions for the 5.7 and there was nothing about wires through the firewall. I haven't looked at the instructions for the 3.6 but I thought the installation would be similar.

On the 5.7 the unit is 2 separate pieces that do not connect up.1 goes under the hood and the other to your gas peddle harness.

I will go to the site and look at the 3.6 and see if it is any major difference.
__________________
2014 Summit 5.7
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2015, 08:09 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 1125
barak is on a distinguished road
Re: Hypertech Interceptor Install

I just looked at the instructions for the 3.6 and they are very similar to the 5.7 , just different locations for the sensors. All you are doing under the hood is plugging in the MAP , CAM and IAT sensors and routing the wiring where it won't melt or get bent.

Then you plug in the gas pedal harness inside the cab and tuck it underneath the carpeting. There is nothing that has to go through the firewall at all in either of the instructions.

Perhaps you opened one for some other application? Here is the link to the manuals then just pick the vehicle specific.

Product Manuals - Hypertech
__________________
2014 Summit 5.7
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-06-2015, 10:07 PM
f1anatic's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,675
Thanks: 68
Thanked 184 Times in 137 Posts
Rep Power: 159925
f1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Hypertech Interceptor Install

Thanks for clearing that out.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-10-2015, 06:34 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
ksibley603 is on a distinguished road
Re: Hypertech Interceptor Install

I tried the interceptor and all I got was check engine light. Dealer replaced sensors under warranty. Got the hemifever tune and couldn't be happier


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-12-2015, 10:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 29 Times in 22 Posts
Rep Power: 3132
Wolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Hypertech Interceptor Install

Im in Schaumburg, work in the install bay @ bestbuy Schaumburg. I can take a look at it and see whats up and how it might be. Im on vacation until next week, can also try the guy that works with me, (Chris) Best Buy Schaumburg.(were both MECP master certified, for electronics, so the wiring wont be an issue, have to look at it for the sensors)
Can also try Street Legal In crystal lake/mchenry/algonquin (not sure what town its actually in). roughly 31 and 62 Talk to Miguel.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-18-2015, 05:32 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 1125
barak is on a distinguished road
Re: Hypertech Interceptor Install

I just did the install on my 2104 summit and it took me a total of 10 minutes. It is super easy , just put the brain box under the fuse box , run the wires and plug them in. Then there is 1 plug by the gas pedal you plug in and tie the wires up under the dash.

I made sure the controller was updated to newest version which it was before I did the install.
__________________
2014 Summit 5.7
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-18-2015, 05:41 PM
scalco23's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 567
scalco23 is on a distinguished road
Re: Hypertech Interceptor Install

Quote:
Originally Posted by barak View Post
I just did the install on my 2104 summit and it took me a total of 10 minutes. It is super easy , just put the brain box under the fuse box , run the wires and plug them in. Then there is 1 plug by the gas pedal you plug in and tie the wires up under the dash.

I made sure the controller was updated to newest version which it was before I did the install.
What is the controller you are referring to? And how did you check the version on it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hypertech Interceptor Install and Review on WK2 3.6l JDebler Performance Modifications 19 10-05-2014 07:01 PM
Hypertech Interceptor LaserMan Grand Cherokee SRT - WK2 18 01-02-2014 07:13 PM
Hypertech Interceptor Tuner? Limited13 Performance Modifications 9 06-11-2013 09:16 PM
Warning re: Hypertech Interceptor brandon_salem Engine Performance/Intakes/Exhausts 8 04-17-2013 10:25 PM
Hypertech Interceptor 11JeepLTD Engine Performance/Intakes/Exhausts 26 04-09-2013 08:16 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.