Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-18-2013, 03:34 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 401
ArloGuthroJeep is on a distinguished road
Adding more TPMS's to the system

So WK2jeeps.com says that when "installing" new TPMS into the wheels that you need to have them programmed, but I have seen a couple posts on here reporting that you just add them and it automatically adds them.

I am going to pick up a set of winter wheels - so:
1) Does it automatically learn them?
2) If it doesn't, and they need to be programmed, does it need to be reprogrammed every time wheels are swapped, or can it remember both sets?
3) Lastly, do the 2014's use the same TPMS as the 2011-2013? 56029398

Thanks,
Ryan

From Jeep Grand Cherokee WK2 - 2011 Grand Cherokee Tire Pressure Monitor System
The sensor IDs can also be programmed using the TPM-RKE Analyzer Tool. Scan each TPM sensor at each road wheel, and store each Sensor ID in the correct location. (LEFT FRONT, LEFT REAR, RIGHT FRONT, and RIGHT REAR) Connect the TPM-RKE Analyzer Tool to the Scan Tool. Then follow the programming steps outlined in the diagnostic Scan Tool for “Program Tire Pressure Sensor ID w/ TPM Tool” .
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2013, 04:50 PM
Scottina06's Avatar
JeepGarage Founder
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Berea, Kentucky
Posts: 49,500
Thanks: 885
Thanked 1,097 Times in 752 Posts
Rep Power: 7718452
Scottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Adding more TPMS's to the system

it will learn them automatically...just drive for about 15-20 minutes to be sure

yes...same
__________________

__________________
SCOTT
The HARDER you work...the LUCKIER you are!
2014 REDLINE red Jeep SRT "BLOODIED\BlackOps CFR Edition" 1 of 1
2013 JKU Wrangler 10A-stormtrooper'ed, JW Speaker and more!
Previous JEEP rides-
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT-deep cherry
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo-inferno red



Twitter-The_Jeep_Guy
Instagram-thejeep_guy

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2013, 07:55 PM
jeelo's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 2342
jeelo has a reputation beyond reputejeelo has a reputation beyond reputejeelo has a reputation beyond reputejeelo has a reputation beyond reputejeelo has a reputation beyond reputejeelo has a reputation beyond reputejeelo has a reputation beyond reputejeelo has a reputation beyond reputejeelo has a reputation beyond reputejeelo has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Adding more TPMS's to the system

I have oem tpms sensors in both my stock wheels and summer rims. The system learned them automatically. I've read that aftermarket tpms sensors may have to be reprogrammed.
__________________
'12 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo X Pentastar
'08 Jeep Patriot North Edition FDI 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2013, 08:10 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 401
ArloGuthroJeep is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding more TPMS's to the system

Great, thanks guys!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2013, 11:31 PM
mfa81's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 921
mfa81 has a reputation beyond reputemfa81 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeelo View Post
I have oem tpms sensors in both my stock wheels and summer rims. The system learned them automatically. I've read that aftermarket tpms sensors may have to be reprogrammed.
that's interesting since I'm about to buy some and would go for those $50 from ebay...

does anyone else have experience with aftermarket tpms? btw, what are those oem same part id but not made by mopar? are those aftermarket or oem knock offs?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2013, 01:56 AM
Milous's Avatar
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nottsure, Wair
Posts: 6,523
Thanks: 36
Thanked 2,282 Times in 956 Posts
Rep Power: 2392891
Milous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding more TPMS's to the system

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArloGuthroJeep View Post
So WK2jeeps.com says that when "installing" new TPMS into the wheels that you need to have them programmed...
The dealer programming is optional, typically used for diagnosis by the dealer.

From the link you posted:

"The module can automatically learn and store the sensor's ID while driving “within 10 minutes continuously above 15 m.p.h. (24 Km/h)” after a sensor has been replaced. The vehicle must be stationary for more then 20 minutes in order to initiate the learning sequence."

"The sensor IDs can also be programmed using the TPM-RKE Analyzer Tool..."
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2013, 02:43 AM
Milous's Avatar
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nottsure, Wair
Posts: 6,523
Thanks: 36
Thanked 2,282 Times in 956 Posts
Rep Power: 2392891
Milous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding more TPMS's to the system

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArloGuthroJeep View Post
3) Lastly, do the 2014's use the same TPMS as the 2011-2013? 56029398
Yes.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-20-2013, 02:24 PM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,446
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 26537
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding more TPMS's to the system

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfa81 View Post
that's interesting since I'm about to buy some and would go for those $50 from ebay...

does anyone else have experience with aftermarket tpms? btw, what are those oem same part id but not made by mopar? are those aftermarket or oem knock offs?
The $50 eBay TPMS sensors are OEM, no issues with them.
__________________
2011 WK2 Overland Mineral Gray/Black, Advanced warning, V8; 2009 KK Rocky Mtn V6; 2000 WJ Laredo I6; 1979 CJ7 I6... green... miles of smiles :)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-20-2013, 04:06 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 607
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 381881
Aiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Adding more TPMS's to the system

I bought a set of aftermarket sensors from ebay and it worked great. The discount tire guy had a tool in his hand and he walked up to each tire with it and he said he was "turning them on". I am not sure what it meant, but i think he was making sure they were activated.

Within 2 miles from the store, my Jeep was reading the air pressure in the tires.

Cheers,
-A
__________________
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
2008 Porsche Cayenne S
2004 Porsche 911 Turbo Cab
2002 Aprilia SL1000R
2000 Porsche Boxster & 1998 ZJ (both sold)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-22-2013, 12:41 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: chicago il
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 391
14snowwhitegc is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: Adding more TPMS's to the system

after market sensors work great just gotta make sure there not cheap knock offs. most chrysler jeep dodge vehicles relearn automatically some need to be turned on with whats called a tech400 this communicates sensors to vehicles via 315 mhz frequency that they let off and car picks up. ive seen lots of people come into my store with cheap sensors and the batteries crap out after a few months. source- i run a discount tire.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-20-2014, 11:41 PM
acilate's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 531
Thanks: 176
Thanked 29 Times in 23 Posts
Rep Power: 1195
acilate has a reputation beyond reputeacilate has a reputation beyond reputeacilate has a reputation beyond reputeacilate has a reputation beyond reputeacilate has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding more TPMS's to the system

Quote:
Originally Posted by Milous View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArloGuthroJeep View Post
3) Lastly, do the 2014's use the same TPMS as the 2011-2013? 56029398
Yes.
I'm confused, the Mopar website says the 2014 models use 56029400AE.

SENSOR. Tire Pressure. 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE # 56029400AE

Can either be used, is there a functionality difference?

Also, for $50 on ebay are you getting one, or four?
__________________
Commuter: 2006 Subaru Legacy 2.5 GT Spec. B #345 of 500 made
Weekender: 2014 Grand Cherokee Overland 4x4 EcoDiesel: Granite Crystal Metallic, Morocco Black, Off-Road Adventure II, Adv Tech Group
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-21-2014, 05:39 AM
Hutch801's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 237
Thanks: 36
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 342
Hutch801 is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding more TPMS's to the system

Does anyone be able to tell me how to change between bar/kpa vs PSI.
__________________

__________________
Hutch: 2014 Grand Cherokee Blackhawk in Black of Course.....CRD Feel the Power..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub to ba system greenwayer Audio/Visual/Navigation 37 02-19-2014 11:20 PM
TPMS 5 vs 4 Tire System timbo1969 Grand Cherokee - WJ 1 04-25-2013 07:50 PM
Need some help on my thoughts about adding a sub to factory system. hound Audio/Visual/Navigation 5 04-03-2013 07:26 PM
New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors? elp_jc Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 6 05-20-2012 03:03 AM
Adding a system to stock radio.... jeepgrand23 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 5 09-06-2010 06:21 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.