Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-17-2011, 02:35 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UT
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1626
rb3wreath is on a distinguished road
Swapping rims+tires with another WK2 - will TPMS still work?

Another forum member and I are considering swapping wheels/tires with each other (18s for 20s): http://www.jeepgarage.org/showthread.php?t=23842

One question we have is whether we will need to do anything to make sure that the tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS) will automatically work without having to keep the valve stems with the original vehicle?

From digging around on forums about other Jeeps, it looks like the actual sensors are located near the wheel at each corner of the Jeep and they will automatically start working since they are designed for the same make/model. Can anyone confirm this is actually the case?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2011, 07:33 AM
mhassler's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Harford County, Maryland
Posts: 482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 1959
mhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Swapping rims+tires with another WK2 - will TPMS still work?

I wouldn't see why not... its just a system the monitors the air pressure and reports it back to the vehicle.

The only difference, perhaps, may be the "correct" inflation pressure in the vehicle's EVIC, i.e., the 18" Michelin's require X-psi and the 20" Fortera's require Y-psi. That may even be the same number - not sure as I have never looked. If they are different, I am sure the dealership could "re-program" the EVIC easily - of course at a cost

A lot of other members have purchased 2nd rims from Mopar so they may be better equipped to answer.
__________________

__________________
2012 Overland 4x4, Hemi & ACC

F/S: Overland Grille:
http://www.jeepgarage.org/f12/2011-2013-overland-grille-complete-200-s-and-h-68429.html


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2011, 07:52 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 6.4L SRT8
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ormond Beach FL
Posts: 1,544
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Rep Power: 2943
mjw930 has a reputation beyond reputemjw930 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Swapping rims+tires with another WK2 - will TPMS still work?

You won't have any issues. All TPMS senders are the same across the model lineup (and Chrysler for that matter). The sender is detected by a proximity sensor and it's data reported back to the computer for display. It also doesn't care whether 33 or 36 lbs are your target, it only reports an error when you get below a fixed value, probably 30 lbs or lower. The recommended pressure is not stored or tracked by the EVIC, it only reports the actual pressure and alarms when it gets below a fixed value that is wheel/tire independent.
__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee SRT8 Black/Black
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2011, 07:57 AM
mhassler's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Harford County, Maryland
Posts: 482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 1959
mhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Swapping rims+tires with another WK2 - will TPMS still work?

^^even better!!!

I didn't think the EVIC was sophisticated enough to know which tire size you are running.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2011, 08:42 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NoVA
Posts: 177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 72726
Ahujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Swapping rims+tires with another WK2 - will TPMS still work?

Good information! Let us know how it goes.

I suppose if i wanted to buy the stock 18" wheels for my WK2 Overland from someone who DOES have TPMS on their WK2 Laredo, it would not work as intended. Correct me if i'm wrong here guys but my understanding was that there were two different kinds of TPMS systems on the Jeeps depeniding on trims or options.

My TPMS shows me the current PSI for each individual tire. If I took the wheels from a Laredo, it would no longer show me individual PSI... i would still get that warning light if the psi dropped below the preset level.

Thoughts?
__________________
WK2 Overland | 3.6L V6 | Dk Charcoal / Saddle | Adaptive Cruise
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2011, 08:51 AM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,446
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 26470
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Swapping rims+tires with another WK2 - will TPMS still work?

I've asked this before and received a 99% sure response that the same TPMS sensor is used in all WK2 trim lines. The higher trim has different receiver modules to provide the advanced features.

The parts book shows only one TPMS for all lines, which is same same (more expensive) TPMS used on several other Chrysler vehicles. All the WK2 TPMS send pressure readings, the controller uses the data to set the warning and optionally display the reading on the EVIC. The programmed warning thresholds are the same regardless of wheel or tire size, so reprogramming is not necessary.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2011, 09:12 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NoVA
Posts: 177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 72726
Ahujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond reputeAhujadaddy has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Swapping rims+tires with another WK2 - will TPMS still work?

"... the controller uses the data to set the warning and optionally display the reading on the EVIC."

That's good to know and makes sense. Thanks! Now has anyone here experienced actual results and can confirm? I'll post up if i end up buying the wheels off of a Laredo.

Didn't mean to thread jack, just good related info.
__________________
WK2 Overland | 3.6L V6 | Dk Charcoal / Saddle | Adaptive Cruise
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-12-2011, 11:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1689
ogbred is on a distinguished road
Re: Swapping rims+tires with another WK2 - will TPMS still work?

Before I purchased my 2011 Overland I had a 2010 Limited that I installed 20" aftermarket KMC wheels. We put the new TPMS sensors in the new wheels and after about 10 miles they were working just fine.When winter came on I put the OEM wheels back on and they registered right away.You should have no problem as long as you use jeep TPMS sensors.
__________________
1997 GMC Sierra 2500 4X4 w/454
1995 Winnebago Minnie 300 w/460
2005 Audi A4 1.8 turbo (Wife)
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland Loaded w/5.7 Bwoody short ram CAI Removed resonators from exhaust w/new 3 1/2" double wall tips.Sludge mats and weathertech window vents.Painted engine cover.Debadged
2003 Honda Ruckus (Campground Fun)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-12-2011, 11:59 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UT
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1626
rb3wreath is on a distinguished road
Re: Swapping rims+tires with another WK2 - will TPMS still work?

I'm guessing that the 18" wheels/tires have a lower air pressure than the 20" ones. How does that work out with the EVIC? Are the sensors specific for each size?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-14-2011, 08:31 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 6.4L SRT8
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ormond Beach FL
Posts: 1,544
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Rep Power: 2943
mjw930 has a reputation beyond reputemjw930 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Swapping rims+tires with another WK2 - will TPMS still work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rb3wreath View Post
I'm guessing that the 18" wheels/tires have a lower air pressure than the 20" ones. How does that work out with the EVIC? Are the sensors specific for each size?
read through the posts here, the EVIC only displays a warning based on a programmed pressure that is not tied to suggested pressure. The EVIC doesn't know or care what size tires you have or what the recommended pressure is.
__________________

__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee SRT8 Black/Black
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tires WK2 - OEM Good or Swapping to better? Dougcjohn Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 16 03-06-2011 09:36 PM
Swapping 730N from Durango to WK2 kmt16 Audio/Visual/Navigation 1 03-04-2011 10:33 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community