Swapping wheels with new TPMS. - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-13-2016, 07:02 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Brisbane, AU
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 393
Sockeye is on a distinguished road
Swapping wheels with new TPMS.

Hello friends.

I am about to take delivery of a new wk2 grand and as part of the deal I negotiated 18 inch Laredo wheels to be swapped instead of the stock 20s.

Now, I just realised that the new wheels will come with different TPMS sensors.

What is the best way if regaining TPMS functionality after a swap?

Wk2jeeps.com states that the vehicle will simply be driven for a while and the system relearn a new sensor IDs. Is this really true?

Perform one of the following to make the system learn the new sensor ID:

a. Use the TPM-RKE Analyzer, 9936, with the Scan Tool to program the WIN with the tire pressure sensor ID. This is part of the TPM Diagnostic Verification Test.

b. Once the vehicle has remained stationary for more than 20 minutes, drive vehicle for a minimum of 10 minutes while maintaining a continuous speed above 15 mph (24 km/h). During this time, the system will learn the new sensor ID. This is part of the TPM Diagnostic Verification Test.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-13-2016, 07:06 AM
SilverBillet's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,097
Thanks: 2
Thanked 486 Times in 335 Posts
Rep Power: 32854
SilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Swapping wheels with new TPMS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sockeye View Post

Wk2jeeps.com states that the vehicle will simply be driven for a while and the system relearn a new sensor IDs. Is this really true?
This is true. Just drive it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2016, 07:12 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Brisbane, AU
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 393
Sockeye is on a distinguished road
Re: Swapping wheels with new TPMS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MOFSTEEL View Post
This is true. Just drive it.
Awesome news.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swapping rims+tires with another WK2 - will TPMS still work? rb3wreath Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 19 11-28-2016 07:27 AM
Swapping tires on new WK2 mark13X Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 7 10-15-2012 08:35 PM
New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors? elp_jc Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 6 05-20-2012 03:03 AM
Blinker Stalk Glitch... question about swapping for new antsjeep Grand Cherokee - WK 5 08-04-2011 06:22 PM

» Premium Vendor Showcase
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.