Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-27-2013, 06:54 PM
New Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Moncton New Brunswick Canada
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
bobby54 is on a distinguished road
tire pressure monitoring system 2014 Summit

After purchasing 4 Jeep Wrangler wheels 17" (U1BZ81DD5AWHEEL 6501AA) to mount snow tires I found out they did not have enough offset to clear the brake calipers on My 2014 Summit 5.7. with 20 " wheels.
So I purchased 18 " aftermarket wheels and used the sensors from the Wrangler wheels.
At first the readings from the original wheels appeared , then the yellow TPMS warning light appeared briefly and went out, then 4 red tire images appeared in the EVIC with no readings. After 100 miles they are still there. On checking ads for replacement Mopar sensors they seem to be the same part # for both (except SRT8). If they are compatible they should be done the learning cycle by now.
Anyone know what is happening?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2013, 07:34 PM
jbjones85's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Raleigh/Durham NC
Posts: 669
Thanks: 9
Thanked 67 Times in 60 Posts
Rep Power: 1960
jbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby54 View Post
After purchasing 4 Jeep Wrangler wheels 17" (U1BZ81DD5AWHEEL 6501AA) to mount snow tires I found out they did not have enough offset to clear the brake calipers on My 2014 Summit 5.7. with 20 " wheels. So I purchased 18 " aftermarket wheels and used the sensors from the Wrangler wheels. At first the readings from the original wheels appeared , then the yellow TPMS warning light appeared briefly and went out, then 4 red tire images appeared in the EVIC with no readings. After 100 miles they are still there. On checking ads for replacement Mopar sensors they seem to be the same part # for both (except SRT8). If they are compatible they should be done the learning cycle by now. Anyone know what is happening?
I'm not sure with jeep but with my lexus they had to be programmed into the car via the obd port.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2013, 07:49 PM
WK2OverlandII's Avatar
Quadra-Drive
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Clinton, Co. PA
Posts: 342
Thanks: 55
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1598
WK2OverlandII is on a distinguished road
Re: tire pressure monitoring system 2014 Summit

From what I have read…they are supposed to "automatically relearn the new TPMS within in 10 minutes of driving above 15MPH". Have you tried this? Many of the TPMS sensors are compatible across the Chrysler, Ram, Jeep and Fiat line within the last 3-4 years. You are correct the SRT are not compatible with the standard JGC.
__________________
2014 JGC Limited - Granite/Black - 3.0L ECODiesel - LUX II - NAV - Off Road II- Block Heater.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2013, 07:51 PM
jbjones85's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Raleigh/Durham NC
Posts: 669
Thanks: 9
Thanked 67 Times in 60 Posts
Rep Power: 1960
jbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond reputejbjones85 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by WK2OverlandII View Post
From what I have read…they are supposed to "automatically relearn the new TPMS within in 10 minutes of driving above 15MPH". Have you tried this? Many of the TPMS sensors are compatible across the Chrysler, Ram, Jeep and Fiat line within the last 3-4 years. You are correct the SRT are not compatible with the standard JGC.
This is good to know for the future. Thanks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-27-2013, 07:55 PM
WK2OverlandII's Avatar
Quadra-Drive
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Clinton, Co. PA
Posts: 342
Thanks: 55
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1598
WK2OverlandII is on a distinguished road
Re: tire pressure monitoring system 2014 Summit

Here'e some more info check this site it could be the year of the wrangler isn't compatibile?
TPMS Relearn / Reset procedures - TPMSDirect Takes the Headache out of TPMS
__________________
2014 JGC Limited - Granite/Black - 3.0L ECODiesel - LUX II - NAV - Off Road II- Block Heater.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2013, 07:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 265
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 658
mfa81 has a reputation beyond reputemfa81 has a reputation beyond repute
They should start working pretty quickly, think the 10 minutes over 15mph is kinda worst case... The tpms on my snow tires/wheels were working as I was driving out of the shop...

Maybe incompatible or bad sensor I would think
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2013, 11:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 759
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 72656
mswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: tire pressure monitoring system 2014 Summit

My snows didn't switch over (OEM Ebay Sensors) on their own and needed a little help. After they were "programmed" they almost immediately came up. Like before I left the parking lot of the tire dealer.

They are supposedly added to a "List". So when switching back in the Spring I shouldn't have a problem.
__________________
08-10-2014 Limited 3.6L Red W/Black Int, Tow Group IV, 8.4AN Radio, ProClip, OBDLink/Torque, Zeigler Lifetime MaxCare
OEM: Mud Flaps, Matts, Cargo Liner, Cross Rails
UConnect: 13.48.3 TSB: 21-007-13C (Yippy) Tires: OEM/Nokian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2013, 06:48 PM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 26313
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: tire pressure monitoring system 2014 Summit

There is no reprogram but sometimes a "stop" needs to be involved to relearn new sensors. The dealer can use a scanner to reset to speed things up, but its unnecessary.

Your wrangler sensors are not compatible with the WK2. They have used different sensor frequencies on Wrangler 18s and 17s over the years. What year wrangler? Folks seem to have less WK2 issues when using OEM sensors, which you can get for $50 a set on eBay. The WK2 uses the 433MHz part no. 56029398AB sensors.

There are aftermarket sensors that need programmed.
__________________
2011 WK2 Overland Mineral Gray/Black, Advanced warning, V8; 2009 KK Rocky Mtn V6; 2000 WJ Laredo I6; 1979 CJ7 I6... green... miles of smiles :)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2014, 12:38 PM
Old geezer
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,581
Thanks: 0
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 2446
lstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond repute
Re: tire pressure monitoring system 2014 Summit

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbjones85 View Post
I'm not sure with jeep but with my lexus they had to be programmed into the car via the obd port.
Not on the 2014. I got aftermarket wheels for snow tires but had them put in mopar sensors. There was a period of about 15 minutes where the OEM wheels/tires were in the back end of the vehicle as it was driven home on the new ones, but never a peep out of the TPMS.

You MAY need to reset the warning using OBD, which any tire dealer could do--and a good one would be able to see if the transplanted sensors are functional and broadcasting.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2014

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire Pressure Monitoring System HiddenTalent Troubleshooting/Problems 4 09-27-2013 05:56 PM
service Tire Pressure Monitoring Systems.HELP ryanwk Troubleshooting/Problems 25 07-11-2013 09:41 AM
Tire Pressure Monitoring maltesesteeze Performance Modifications 1 12-07-2012 06:02 AM
Tire pressure monitoring 64fabius Technical Tips/DIY/How-To 2 04-28-2012 10:14 PM
Tire Pressure Monitoring system lbaisburd Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 6 08-10-2011 08:21 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community