Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-14-2013, 10:02 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fort Bliss, Texas
Posts: 453
Thanks: 1
Thanked 37 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 1112
Zybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond repute
TPM sensor locations?

Getting some new wheels. Do the TPMS sensors have to go back into the same corner or does the car know which sensor is in which corner? I'd imagine that would have to be the case or else everything would get screwed up every time you rotated yours tires eh?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2013, 11:24 PM
xJoshxx's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Burlington,KY
Posts: 813
Thanks: 30
Thanked 25 Times in 21 Posts
Rep Power: 72510
xJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPM sensor locations?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zybane View Post
Getting some new wheels. Do the TPMS sensors have to go back into the same corner or does the car know which sensor is in which corner? I'd imagine that would have to be the case or else everything would get screwed up every time you rotated yours tires eh?
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK2 - 2011 Grand Cherokee Tire Pressure Monitor System

the jeep sends out "are you there and who are you" signals every so often you can rotate with out worry
__________________

__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee SRT8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2013, 11:25 PM
AZhiCntry's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 543
Thanks: 280
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 48893
AZhiCntry has a reputation beyond reputeAZhiCntry has a reputation beyond reputeAZhiCntry has a reputation beyond reputeAZhiCntry has a reputation beyond reputeAZhiCntry has a reputation beyond reputeAZhiCntry has a reputation beyond reputeAZhiCntry has a reputation beyond reputeAZhiCntry has a reputation beyond reputeAZhiCntry has a reputation beyond reputeAZhiCntry has a reputation beyond reputeAZhiCntry has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPM sensor locations?

Yes, the car knows. The sensor puts out a signal that is read by the receiver near each wheel. It is the receiver location that is displayed and the pressure that the receiver is reading for that location. After install on new wheels the car will identify and display the reading within a few minutes of driving.
__________________
2014 GC Limited V6 4x4, white w/black & frost beige, LuxII, RA4, ORA II, Cooper Discoverer AT3's. :D:D:D
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2013, 04:27 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fort Bliss, Texas
Posts: 453
Thanks: 1
Thanked 37 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 1112
Zybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond reputeZybane has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPM sensor locations?

Ok cool. Now I am selling my summit wheels to someone who also has a JGC. If he gets my sensors, and I get his, do I need to reprogram anything?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2013, 05:38 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 752
Thanks: 2
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 1231669
2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPM sensor locations?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zybane View Post
Ok cool. Now I am selling my summit wheels to someone who also has a JGC. If he gets my sensors, and I get his, do I need to reprogram anything?
no, you should be good.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPM malfunction or reset ? journeyguy Grand Cherokee SRT - WK2 4 11-14-2013 03:45 PM
Tpm jorsr Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 5 11-04-2013 11:41 AM
5 tire rotation and TPM? surfWK2 Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 11 12-10-2012 11:27 PM
TPM Sensor snowfreak21 Wheels and Tires 2 05-09-2012 12:23 AM
Tpm's karr3.0 Grand Cherokee - WK 3 08-22-2011 07:23 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community