TPMS and spare relearning - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-23-2015, 08:18 PM
ledcat's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pa
Posts: 181
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1652
ledcat has a reputation beyond reputeledcat has a reputation beyond repute
TPMS and spare relearning

Hey folks, I know there has been some chatter in the past about setting up a second set of winter wheels with TPMS. I reviewed some past posts, but still have some questions on how successful people have been. Has everyone who bought new TPMS sensors, been successful with them automatically being learned by the car's module? And, do I need a TPMS sensor in the spare to get the light to go out? I do have a full spare.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-24-2015, 02:55 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 59
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 1135
Roman2179 is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS and spare relearning

I have a set of winter wheels/tires/sensors for my 2014 and it relearns automatically. It took less than 5 minutes for the Jeep to recognize the new sensors when I put the winters on and it was the same when I switched back to the normal wheels and tires last week.

No idea on the spare though. Haven't touched it outside of checking that it's properly filled every once in a while.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2015, 03:44 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 270
Thanks: 14
Thanked 19 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 968
Gravity is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS and spare relearning

I purchased a set of winter rims and tires from the dealer. Picked it up and 20 minutes down the road the TPMS light came on.

Back to the dealer where the relearn the codes. Pick it up and 20 minutes from the dealer......

A different dealer tells me they used after marker sensors. So back to dealer one again and they refund the $70 that the other dealer charged me and they installed OEM sensors.

Picked it up and.......yup.

They ordered the unit that receives the signal from the sensors. Test drove it and the light came back on. Can't recall what they did after that. Another test drive and all good.

But 3 days later and light is back on. They said if it comes back on it might be the rims that are interfering with the signal.

I haven't taken it back yet. I'll be switching back to summer rims in a few weeks anyway.

Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2015, 03:46 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 3,948
Thanks: 72
Thanked 265 Times in 237 Posts
Rep Power: 46200
lstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS and spare relearning

Quote:
Originally Posted by ledcat View Post
Hey folks, I know there has been some chatter in the past about setting up a second set of winter wheels with TPMS. I reviewed some past posts, but still have some questions on how successful people have been. Has everyone who bought new TPMS sensors, been successful with them automatically being learned by the car's module? And, do I need a TPMS sensor in the spare to get the light to go out? I do have a full spare.
What year?
I run complete sets of wheels/tires for winter and summer on a 2014, and after each changeover it automagically picks up the sensors and their locations within a couple minutes. I did get original MOPAR sensors for the winter wheels, as at the time oems weren't that available but by now I'd expect any wheel dealer to be able to fit up a set.

I keep the standard FS spare in the vehicle and have no idea if it has a sensor or not.
It doesn't show on the vehicle's tpms display, but suspect that doesn't mean a thing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2015, 06:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeast PA.
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 1571
Dave in Pa is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS and spare relearning

Quote:
Originally Posted by lstowell View Post
What year?
I run complete sets of wheels/tires for winter and summer on a 2014, and after each changeover it automagically picks up the sensors and their locations within a couple minutes. I did get original MOPAR sensors for the winter wheels, as at the time oems weren't that available but by now I'd expect any wheel dealer to be able to fit up a set.

I keep the standard FS spare in the vehicle and have no idea if it has a sensor or not.
It doesn't show on the vehicle's tpms display, but suspect that doesn't mean a thing.
This ^ was my exact experience also with my 2014. Dave
__________________
2014 Limited V-6 Tow Pkg 8.4 Cashmere & Light Frost
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2015, 06:40 PM
Chi-One's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Suburbs Chicago
Posts: 161
Thanks: 5
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 2350
Chi-One is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: TPMS and spare relearning

The spare does not have a TPMS.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-24-2015, 09:23 PM
ledcat's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pa
Posts: 181
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1652
ledcat has a reputation beyond reputeledcat has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS and spare relearning

I bought 5 of these model #56029398AB schrader 433hz tpms sensors, says they are oem, which I believe the Schrader's are. From what I have read you need the spare sensor installed or the light will not go out. The display will read fine (limited or above trim) but the dash light will not go out. Any one running without the spare in the back with the light out? I have not got the new TPMS sensors, but they were pretty cheap off of ebay. Any one have experience with purchasing these off ebay? I have a 2014 limited,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS sensor and the spare ledcat Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 1 03-25-2015 11:22 PM
Full size spare is not "right" size spare quinby1 Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 27 03-24-2015 10:44 PM
If you have a "spare" minute check out my spare tire cover. Broomecar Wrangler-YJ, TJ & JK 0 03-26-2012 05:22 PM
spare tire TPMS? chibianh Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 4 08-24-2011 08:56 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.