Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-16-2013, 10:32 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Perth WA Australia
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 436
grandcrd is on a distinguished road
TPMS can't recalibrate after new tyres

Hi Guys, put new OEM, kumo tyres on my 2012 GC Ltd after 42K. now the monitor system tells me the tyre pressure is down and one sensor is missing. have run the car, several times, for 25 minutes @ over 25KM but failed to recalibrate. dealer has tried new sensors and new tyres & rims, reboot the PCU, but all to no avail. Any Ideas???. thanks Tom.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2013, 08:32 AM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,446
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 26559
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS can't recalibrate after new tyres

Perhaps one of vehicle sensor receivers is damaged, but their scan tool should have picked that up? When you move tires around, does the missing sensor fault move too, or is it always the same corner.

They tried OEM sensors right and the TPMS sensors tested OK on their portable TPMS scanner right?
__________________

__________________
2011 WK2 Overland Mineral Gray/Black, Advanced warning, V8; 2009 KK Rocky Mtn V6; 2000 WJ Laredo I6; 1979 CJ7 I6... green... miles of smiles :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2013, 07:36 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Perth WA Australia
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 436
grandcrd is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS can't recalibrate after new tyres

Hi ColdCase. no the sensors stay the same when u change tyres or put new sensors in. it registers as there is no sensor or pressure on the front driver's side(right side here in Aust).
hopefully the dealer has a TPMS scanner. will ask him as I have to take it back in next week for this fault & stalling @ start up fault.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2013, 05:28 PM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,446
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 26559
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS can't recalibrate after new tyres

Sounds like a bad receiver or connection on that corner.
__________________
2011 WK2 Overland Mineral Gray/Black, Advanced warning, V8; 2009 KK Rocky Mtn V6; 2000 WJ Laredo I6; 1979 CJ7 I6... green... miles of smiles :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What tyres does it come with? pwyss Export Grand Cherokee 2011+ 29 10-04-2012 07:02 PM
New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors? elp_jc Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 6 05-20-2012 03:03 AM
New Tyres zzkazu Export Grand Cherokee 2011+ 22 11-10-2011 03:20 AM
Can I recalibrate the miles to empty guage? thex2 Grand Cherokee - WK 6 10-20-2010 06:16 AM
How to recalibrate the seat sensor ? Hac_PTR Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 12 10-14-2010 08:47 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.