TPMS not working after 5 tire rotation? - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-14-2016, 03:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 715
PeterC is on a distinguished road
TPMS not working after 5 tire rotation?

Hello,
I have a 2015 WK2 Diesel Limited. I have a full set (5) 18" wheels which came off of a 2016 Sahara. I have been running these wheels and tires for about 6000 miles and have not had any issues with the TPMS. I put the tires on and the system synced up and that was it.
Last weekend I rotated the tires and installed 1.25" spacers.
For the first 6-7 miles the sensors read fine but the left front was about 5 pounds higher than the rest. I don't think that the system had read and configured the location of the sensors yet because the spare (which was now on the right rear) was probably the one with higher pressure.
At about 8 miles I get a warning that there is a problem and the reading for the front left tire turns red with no numbers.
It has been that way for the last two days and I have driven at least forty miles.
If the configuration is correct then the red position just went bad.
If the configuration isn't correct then there was a problem with the sensor in the spare.
Any thoughts on fixing? I have searched and searched but I have not found a method to simply reset the sensors.
My wife's Passat has a button in the glove box that you hit. I guess that would be too easy.

Thanks in advance.

P

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-14-2016, 06:20 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,118
Thanks: 74
Thanked 297 Times in 261 Posts
Rep Power: 46571
lstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS not working after 5 tire rotation?

Your tpms doesn't really need a reset, it does it automagically after several minutes of driving unless you have a bad sensor.
Someone else may know if your spacer would be enough to throw off the receivers.

You MAY need new sensors, but a tire shop should be able to scan yours and see if any need rebuild or new before you spend that type of money.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2016, 06:30 PM
Attitude's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 735
Thanks: 55
Thanked 114 Times in 96 Posts
Rep Power: 2727
Attitude has a reputation beyond reputeAttitude has a reputation beyond reputeAttitude has a reputation beyond reputeAttitude has a reputation beyond reputeAttitude has a reputation beyond reputeAttitude has a reputation beyond reputeAttitude has a reputation beyond reputeAttitude has a reputation beyond reputeAttitude has a reputation beyond reputeAttitude has a reputation beyond reputeAttitude has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS not working after 5 tire rotation?

As far as the spacers affecting the sensors, I can say that I put on 1.25" spacers a few months ago and I have not gotten any warnings.
Hope this helps in tracking down your issues
__________________
2015 Granite Crystal Metallic Altitude
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 06-14-2016, 07:37 PM
JTS97Z28's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 3,877
Thanks: 90
Thanked 629 Times in 459 Posts
Rep Power: 28890
JTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond reputeJTS97Z28 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS not working after 5 tire rotation?

Spacers will not effect TPMS.
So all the sensors are from a 2016 Wrangler and originally worked fine just by driving? Then you took the spare off and put it on the vehicle and it's not recognizing that sensor? First step would be to go to discount tire and have them check the sensor. They can tell if it's good or not with their tool just by placing by the tire. If it is they can then pair it with the vehicle manually. I had this issue with a set of 2015 SRT wheels I'm running. One sensor didn't work, turned out to be broken inside the wheel. They replaced the sensor, I left assuming it would automatically pair after a while like the rest, it never did. I went back to discount and they apologized and said they were supposed to manually pair it with their computer. It ended up working after driving a bit.

So like I said first thing just go to discount they will likely do it for free if it's not a damaged sensor.
__________________
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee High Altitude, Bright White, V6, HK audio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2016, 12:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 715
PeterC is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS not working after 5 tire rotation?

Thanks for the replies and yes, I think I'll have to take it to a tire place. I usually go to America's Tire.
I did verify that the pressures are not where they say they are. Looks like this. According to the display:

Left Front No Display just red.
Left Rear 37 pounds.
Right Rear (Spare) 37 pounds
Right Front 37 Pounds.

So I aired down the left front. Started it up and sat in the driveway for a few minutes. According to the display: (No Change)
Left Front No Display just red.
Left Rear 37 pounds.
Right Rear (Spare) 37 pounds
Right Front 37 Pounds.

So I aired down the right rear,as well(the spare). Initially there was no change so I drove it about a mile and then-
According to the display:
Left Front No Display just red.
Left Rear 17 pounds.
Right Rear (Spare) 37 pounds
Right Front 37 Pounds.

So I aired up the Left Front and according to the Display the Left rear was now back to 37!
So, to summarize: The Display does not know where the tires are and the issue is with the spare that has been living under my house for the last six months; so at least that part makes sense.
I just can't figure out why it doesn't reconfigure the locations.

Thanks again,

P
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2016, 08:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Bulgaria (Europe)
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1287
slowtraveler is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS not working after 5 tire rotation?

Small explanation (sorry for my english)...
As well as i read somewhere, TMPS uses several receivers to determine where which transporder is located, but they are not 5 receivers but only 3 at 3 wheel bays.... Which means - each receiver will receive transmission of closest transponder - this way will determine the positions of 3 of transponders/wheels. TPMS can receive 2 more transponders codes - 4th wheel and spare wheel.

TMPS code of spare tyre transmitter is hard-coded in TMPS computer, so TMPS 'assumes' that code, which is not 'spare tyre' is 4th wheel at position...
In your case you mixed spare with 'original' wheel, so TMPS read all codes, but cannot read one of them correctly because assume 'spare' tyre is in trunk, but not on wheel position... Meanwhile wheel transponder is activated during rotation... Otherwise it 'sleeps' to save battery. So it's quite possibly transponder is not working ''as at wheel'
So as per my opinion you have two choices:
1. Go to dealer to hard-code current spare tyre's transponder
2. Return óriginal' spare tyre back in trunk, and rotate just the other 4 tyres...


P.S. can you check - deflate 'ex-spare' wheel, which is now on position at wheel - trust you will receive warning for 'spare wheel deflation', but not at actual wheel position...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-17-2016, 04:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 715
PeterC is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS not working after 5 tire rotation?

Thanks for the reply.
My "spare" is still in the spare spot.
The spare that I rotated in was from my other set of tires.

I'll update after I stop by the tire store.

P
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-17-2016, 11:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Bulgaria (Europe)
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1287
slowtraveler is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS not working after 5 tire rotation?

Than maybe reasons are:
1. Bad sensor (you can check by replacing the wheel in subject wheel place)
2. Usually sensor 'sleeps' before selling/mantling on rubber... It wakes up when high pressure is readed. Sometimes it need higher pressure than usual to wake up... If it's first time you use this wheel, than there is possibility that Sensor is still sleeping. Suggestion - raise for a while the pressure up to 50psi (in case your tires allow that - see marks), and after that deflate to normal pressure.

There is no special TPMS reset procedure... There is good explanation how TPMS works:
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK2 - 2011-up Grand Cherokee Tire Pressure Monitor Systems
Quote:
The module can automatically learn and store the sensor's ID while driving "within 10 minutes continuously above 15 m.p.h. (24 Km/h)" after a sensor has been replaced. The vehicle must be stationary for more then 20 minutes in order to initiate the learning sequence.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-06-2016, 04:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 715
PeterC is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS not working after 5 tire rotation? UPDATE

Just to finish this off:
Took the truck to "Just Tires" because my local America's Tire had closed its doors.
They took all of my information and then wanted $47.50 to scan the sensors.
I told them to give me my keys and I left.
I called America's Tire (the new location) and they said that there was no charge for scanning sensors.
Drove there, the guy went out and checked each tire. Sure enough the spare was not reading. They quoted me $60. for the sensor and $5. for labor.
I could have bought the sensors for less but I was already there and they were so courteous and had done the scan for free so I had them take care of it and I am back on the road without any red lights.
I am also instructing my people to drive a little farther and buy our company tires from America's Tire.

P
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2613.jpg (517.5 KB, 6 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tire rotation and tire/brake check Chunderboy Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 0 07-28-2014 04:00 PM
Tire Rotation kkcwk10 Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 6 03-14-2012 10:12 PM
5 tire rotation Jvenrick Wheels and Tires 3 01-05-2012 10:27 PM
TPS reset after tire rotation? Benzie002 Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 4 11-29-2011 06:31 PM
Tire Rotation?? Dnizzle80 Grand Cherokee - WK 5 10-31-2011 01:08 PM

» Premium Vendor Showcase
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.