Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-23-2012, 08:45 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1056
amill is on a distinguished road
TPMS question for second set of wheels

I was searching through some threads about whether or not the sensors need to be paired to the vehicle each time. It seems like they will automatically sync up with the ecu after driving for awhile. Is this still true for the 2012 models? The reason I ask is because I have the factory 20" wheels on my summit. I was reading that there are two different types of sensors available. One displays a tpms light when psi is low and the premium displays psi of each tire.
The wheels and sensors I'm getting are from a laredo x. Does anyone know if these are the premium sensors or the base sensors? My dealer told me I'd have to most likely resync the sensors with the ecu each time I swap wheels. Anyone know the answer?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland Summit
5.7 Hemi v8
Rugged Brown
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2012, 10:46 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 833
petebooth is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels

My 2012 Laredo X has the premium TPMS. Sorry have no idea about Sync
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2012, 11:01 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 603
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 381788
Aiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels

I bought a set of wheels/tires that were on a 2012 JKU. No TPMS. I bought a set of TPMS (OEM) for $69 incl shipping from the auction site, got them installed and it works great. I swap the wheels and the Jeep instantly recognizes and displays the pressures on the EVIC.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
Aiyer
__________________
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
2008 Porsche Cayenne S
2002 Aprilia SL1000R
2000 Porsche Boxster (Sold)
1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee SE (Sold and still missed)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2012, 11:34 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1056
amill is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aiyer View Post
I bought a set of wheels/tires that were on a 2012 JKU. No TPMS. I bought a set of TPMS (OEM) for $69 incl shipping from the auction site, got them installed and it works great. I swap the wheels and the Jeep instantly recognizes and displays the pressures on the EVIC.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
Aiyer
This definitely helps. I wasn't sure if the description given on wk2jeeps regarding the two different types of sensors meant that there were different sensors used between trim levels.

How hard were the sensors to install? I'm assuming you just thread them onto the valve stem and thats it correct?
__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland Summit
5.7 Hemi v8
Rugged Brown
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-23-2012, 02:12 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 603
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 381788
Aiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels

I did not do the install myself... took it to Discount Tire and they charged $20 for installing in all 4 wheels, balancing them and installing the new set of wheels on my Jeep.

Here is the thread I started few months ago with similar questions.

TPMS Sensors question...
__________________
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
2008 Porsche Cayenne S
2002 Aprilia SL1000R
2000 Porsche Boxster (Sold)
1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee SE (Sold and still missed)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-23-2012, 03:02 PM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 26446
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels

All WK2 wheel sensors are the same, although the STR-8 may be a bit different. . The base receivers in the WK2 provide a simple warning, the premium receivers display the actual PSI.

The tire shop can reset the sensors or you drive 5-20 minutes and they reset themselves. I swap between a set of winter and summer wheel/tires and have had no issues.

My premium system will display the previous PSI sample reading for maybe 5 minutes before sampling and displaying the new tire pressures. It appears to be instant, but it is not really.

Same thing for most Jeeps, like my older KK. There are two sensor frequencies in use across the Jeep line, but all WKs use the higher frequency. There are several other chrysler vehicles that use the same sensors.
__________________
2011 WK2 Overland Mineral Gray/Black, Advanced warning, V8; 2009 KK Rocky Mtn V6; 2000 WJ Laredo I6; 1979 CJ7 I6... green... miles of smiles :)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2012, 06:32 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1056
amill is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels

Thanks for the help guys. This may be a dumb question, but I won't have any issues if I'm transporting the new wheels/tires in the trunk? Will both sensors try and communicate causing any issues?
__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland Summit
5.7 Hemi v8
Rugged Brown
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-24-2012, 08:08 AM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 26446
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels

These tire sensors do not appear to transmit a signal unless they are rolling. I've transported a set a couple times without issue. The WK2 spare is not checked.
__________________
2011 WK2 Overland Mineral Gray/Black, Advanced warning, V8; 2009 KK Rocky Mtn V6; 2000 WJ Laredo I6; 1979 CJ7 I6... green... miles of smiles :)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-24-2012, 04:44 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1056
amill is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS question for second set of wheels

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
These tire sensors do not appear to transmit a signal unless they are rolling. I've transported a set a couple times without issue. The WK2 spare is not checked.
good info. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland Summit
5.7 Hemi v8
Rugged Brown
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors? elp_jc Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 6 05-20-2012 03:03 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community