Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 07-15-2012, 12:38 PM
jgc4ever's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2015 WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,804
Thanks: 131
Thanked 188 Times in 153 Posts
Rep Power: 1161577
jgc4ever has a reputation beyond reputejgc4ever has a reputation beyond reputejgc4ever has a reputation beyond reputejgc4ever has a reputation beyond reputejgc4ever has a reputation beyond reputejgc4ever has a reputation beyond reputejgc4ever has a reputation beyond reputejgc4ever has a reputation beyond reputejgc4ever has a reputation beyond reputejgc4ever has a reputation beyond reputejgc4ever has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: TPMS Sensors question...

I would think the sensor is just getting the psi reading, and the Grand Cherokee's computer does the rest. I don't know though; just guessing.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-15-2012, 03:39 PM
Jeep_addicted's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: St. Thomas US. Virgin islands
Posts: 1,244
Thanks: 19
Thanked 86 Times in 68 Posts
Rep Power: 1332881
Jeep_addicted has a reputation beyond reputeJeep_addicted has a reputation beyond reputeJeep_addicted has a reputation beyond reputeJeep_addicted has a reputation beyond reputeJeep_addicted has a reputation beyond reputeJeep_addicted has a reputation beyond reputeJeep_addicted has a reputation beyond reputeJeep_addicted has a reputation beyond reputeJeep_addicted has a reputation beyond reputeJeep_addicted has a reputation beyond reputeJeep_addicted has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: TPMS Sensors question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgc4ever View Post
I would think the sensor is just getting the psi reading, and the Grand Cherokee's computer does the rest. I don't know though; just guessing.
That's how it works the car's TPMS module determines the low pressure point.

The system checks the signal every 15 minutes for a reading...


The only time a signal read overrides the 15 MINUTE interval is when a sensor gives off a rapid pressure loss signal which should very you a warning message in the EVIC
__________________

__________________
  • '12 Laredo X V6 Deep Cherry Dark/Mid Greystone, QT1
  • Outside: colormatched Altitude Grille, S Limited rear valance, Euro frt. bumper moulding, Rear chrome trim. Sharkfin, 20% tint, RFUK (built my own)
  • Inside: Alcantara steering wheel/shift knob,SRT dash trim, illuminated front scuff plates, stainless rear scuff plates, bright pedals, F/R footwell lights
  • Performance: OEM dual exhaust conversion, HD brakes, E-code projectors, JW Speaker fogs
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-23-2012, 02:25 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 647
Thanks: 10
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 382530
Aiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: TPMS Sensors question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
Do you think the displayed psi was changing because the saved psi of the old tire set was being updated by the new psi? The system remembers what the last psi reading was regardless of sensor SN, and polls (samples) the sensors to update the stored psi level, but not very often. It is not a continuous real time report.

Just saying that the OEM sensors do not have to be manually activated or the monitor system reset, as it resets itself in less than a few minutes. What you observed is consistent with either manual or automatic reset.
Yes, I believe that the numbers were changing since the pressure on the new tires were quite high. As I drove home.. it went up by another 1-2 psi.

To activate the sensors, the guy at discount tire had to use a device to scan for something. He said that that turns them on or maybe he was scanning to make sure the sensors are sending out signals and are readable.

Here is the pic of the wheels on the Jeep.

__________________
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
2008 Porsche Cayenne S
2004 Porsche 911 Turbo Cab
2002 Aprilia SL1000R
2000 Porsche Boxster & 1998 ZJ (both sold)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-02-2012, 01:46 PM
heiniken's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1886
heiniken is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS Sensors question...

How are the JK wheels working out on the WK2? I am looking at picking up some 18's off a 2008 Wrangler to use as my winter rims
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-02-2012, 01:52 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 647
Thanks: 10
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 382530
Aiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond reputeAiyer has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: TPMS Sensors question...

Mine came off of a 2012 JKU. I am not sure about 2008's. Make sure they will fit on your Jeep.

But, I love them... they fill the wheel well better than the stocks. They performed very nicely off-road. and for the price, they cannot be beaten. I did not notice major drop in mpg either.
__________________
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
2008 Porsche Cayenne S
2004 Porsche 911 Turbo Cab
2002 Aprilia SL1000R
2000 Porsche Boxster & 1998 ZJ (both sold)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-03-2016, 02:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: West Point, Utah
Posts: 196
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 961
volvite is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS Sensors question...

Bringing back an old thread. I have a 2015 Grand Cherokee overland. Does anyone know what part number TPMS I need? I'm seeing two different styles one ends with an AA the other ends with an AB. Where's the best place to get a new set? Justforjeeps or Amazon? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-03-2016, 04:03 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 255
Thanks: 12
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Rep Power: 821
Gravity is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS Sensors question...

My dealer said he’d give me a deal on TPM Sensors when I purchased winter rims and tires. Tried all winter to get them to work and numerous trips to the dealer. Took the tires off in the spring and put the issue on the back burner.
The following fall I put them back on and same issue. Went to a different dealer and was informed that they were aftermarket sensors !!!
Back to where I bought them and they installed OEM. But even after they replaced them I had problems. They started to claim it must be the rims?? I was in the process of getting a refund on them and just accept the fact that they couldn’t get them to work. Then a new service manager at the dealership said he wouldn’t accept that and installed another new set.

Finally they worked.
Now I just swap my summer and winter rims and no issue.

But don't be surprised if you have some headaches.

My wifes Altima....same problem. They couldn't get the winter rims to read either.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-03-2016, 10:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: West Point, Utah
Posts: 196
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 961
volvite is on a distinguished road
Re: TPMS Sensors question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gravity View Post
My dealer said he’d give me a deal on TPM Sensors when I purchased winter rims and tires. Tried all winter to get them to work and numerous trips to the dealer. Took the tires off in the spring and put the issue on the back burner.
The following fall I put them back on and same issue. Went to a different dealer and was informed that they were aftermarket sensors !!!
Back to where I bought them and they installed OEM. But even after they replaced them I had problems. They started to claim it must be the rims?? I was in the process of getting a refund on them and just accept the fact that they couldn’t get them to work. Then a new service manager at the dealership said he wouldn’t accept that and installed another new set.

Finally they worked.
Now I just swap my summer and winter rims and no issue.

But don't be surprised if you have some headaches.

My wifes Altima....same problem. They couldn't get the winter rims to read either.
Thanks for the update.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors? elp_jc Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 6 05-20-2012 03:03 AM
TPMS Sensors saleen032 Grand Cherokee - WK 8 10-20-2009 06:08 PM
TPMS sensors Bslagle05 Visual Modifications 1 06-16-2009 06:23 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.