Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #37  
Old 03-10-2013, 01:49 PM
subbie09's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 590
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 3540
subbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond repute
Simple it is. Bunch of pop it's and bolts
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 03-10-2013, 03:23 PM
subbie09's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 590
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 3540
subbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond repute
Three doors down 1 to go then on to the amp and converter.

__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 03-10-2013, 04:32 PM
RageOfFury's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,372
Thanks: 97
Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 11270
RageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 12' Altitude Stereo Overhaul

Where did you install the crossover, or are you letting the amp do that?
__________________
2011 WK2 Laredo E V6 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 03-10-2013, 05:01 PM
subbie09's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 590
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 3540
subbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 12' Altitude Stereo Overhaul

Letting the amp, these Focal's crossover's are built in therefore no crossovers are needed. Tuning will be done by the amp.

All speakers are in doors, door's are reassembled. Now taping the stock amp output for high's, mid's and lows. Once thats' done just mounting the LC7i and AMP and connecting it all then the big test. Adding the power and seeing how it sounds.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 03-10-2013, 06:52 PM
RageOfFury's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,372
Thanks: 97
Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 11270
RageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 12' Altitude Stereo Overhaul

Right on! I'm totally addicted now to all the info and pictures you've posted and will continue, hopefully, to post. Love it!!
__________________
2011 WK2 Laredo E V6 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 03-10-2013, 08:14 PM
subbie09's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 590
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 3540
subbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond repute
It's in, it's wired, it's tuned and OMG it's amazing. Loud crisp and bass better. All I need now is the stealthbox.

Just tidying stuff up now
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03-10-2013, 08:20 PM
RageOfFury's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,372
Thanks: 97
Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 11270
RageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 12' Altitude Stereo Overhaul

Cool!!
__________________
2011 WK2 Laredo E V6 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 03-10-2013, 08:46 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2414
Raj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 12' Altitude Stereo Overhaul

Looks great and glad to hear it sounds as good as it looks. That's a lot if progress for one day, assuming you had some help.

Quick question, where did you ground the amp? Did you use one of the seat mounting bolts? Thanks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03-10-2013, 08:51 PM
subbie09's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 590
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 3540
subbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond repute
Amp grounded to the bolt for the seatbelt under the b pillar.

And yes a good friend of mine helped and without him it could not have gotten done in 2 days.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 03-10-2013, 09:04 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2414
Raj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 12' Altitude Stereo Overhaul

Cool, thanks ! Looking forward to additional pics.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 03-10-2013, 10:07 PM
subbie09's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 590
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 3540
subbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond repute
Just low level level static noise. Any ode on the culprit?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 03-10-2013, 10:55 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2414
Raj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond reputeRaj06MT has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 12' Altitude Stereo Overhaul

Quote:
Originally Posted by subbie09 View Post
Just low level level static noise. Any ode on the culprit?
Are you getting static from all your speakers or just front or rear? If from one set you could always swap front & rear outputs on the amp to rule out a set of speakers or wires feeding the speakers.

If you have static on all channels, you will have to test at multiple points. I'd start at the amp by swapping the input with an iPod or something similar - I use a 3.5mm male to female RCA adapter and plug directly into the amp's input. If you still have static, then the problem is likely with the amp / installation (usually a bad ground).

If the static is gone then you'll have to move up through the signal path and continue troubleshooting. I'm not familiar with the audio control unit you're using and if it's even possible to use the iPod test. Assuming you can use an ipod for the input signal and the static is gone, then you should probably check the connections you tapped from the factory amp. If you do have static with an iPod feeding the audio control unit, then you know the unit is most likely the culprit.....could be the unit or installation - bad ground, loose connection...etc.

Almost forgot, what are your amp gains set for.....I'm assuming they're not maxed.

Good luck and let us know how you make out.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2012 WK2 Stereo Overhaul 67rally Audio/Visual/Navigation 65 04-11-2013 07:47 PM
Stereo overhaul in the '11 Overland ekaz Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 8 02-05-2013 11:47 PM
Big Overhaul Tomorrow Crestwood1001 Grand Cherokee - WK 7 06-20-2011 10:28 PM
Transmission Overhaul? V8 justin1569 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 7 05-02-2011 01:37 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community