Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 04-21-2013, 03:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 656
jsann is on a distinguished road
Re: 130 to 430N upgrade - conflicting info

I have base laredo with the 130 RES, no sirius. When I went to install my aftermarket NAV system, I noticed a yellow antenna connector, which I assume was for the NAV/SAT. IMO, I believe all the JGC comes with the NAV/SAT antenna installed already.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-22-2013, 01:44 AM
highoctane's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 869
highoctane is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by leks66 View Post
Are you installing a backup camera as well? Also since you will be removing the head unit, would be a perfect time to install a mygig lockpick.
I had a lock pick in my JK Wrangler. It was nice but I doubt I'll get it for the WK2. Already ordered the back up camera panel from Just for Jeeps.


Sent from my iPhone 4 using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
2013 Deep Cherry Red Trail Hawk - Loaded 3.6
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-22-2013, 08:43 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 640
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 2741
eibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond repute
If you still have a lot of time left on the sirius sub then it might be worth the call to transfer. I think they charge $15 to transfer.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-22-2013, 12:03 PM
highoctane's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 869
highoctane is on a distinguished road
Re: 130 to 430N upgrade - conflicting info

Quote:
Originally Posted by eibyer View Post
If you still have a lot of time left on the sirius sub then it might be worth the call to transfer. I think they charge $15 to transfer.
Awesome. I still have 9 months left on my free subscription. Definitely have to do this.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-30-2013, 12:57 PM
highoctane's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 869
highoctane is on a distinguished road
Re: 130 to 430N upgrade - conflicting info

Got it swapped out with the new 430N RHB and it worked great. Entered the security code and everything is working perfect, to include the navigation, Sirius radio, and travel link. Antenna is working just as everyone said. Which makes me wonder why the Chrysler installation PDF says that a new antenna is required, when it is proven that is not the case. I'll get some pics up in a bit.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-30-2013, 02:22 PM
highoctane's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 869
highoctane is on a distinguished road
Re: 130 to 430N upgrade - conflicting info

Here it is installed. Works great! Even prompts turns on the EVIC during route guidance. Next up? Digital climate control swap.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1776.jpg (321.3 KB, 31 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-30-2013, 03:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1000
leks66 is on a distinguished road
Awesome. Congrats again. Glad the security code worked
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-10-2013, 09:33 AM
psujeeperman02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 665
psujeeperman02 is on a distinguished road
Re: 130 to 430N upgrade - conflicting info

I have the RES radio as well and would love to upgrade to 430. Just to get an idea....where did you guys buy your 430 radios from and about what did you pay?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-10-2013, 08:31 PM
highoctane's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 869
highoctane is on a distinguished road
Re: 130 to 430N upgrade - conflicting info

Quote:
Originally Posted by psujeeperman02 View Post
I have the RES radio as well and would love to upgrade to 430. Just to get an idea....where did you guys buy your 430 radios from and about what did you pay?
I posted a thread in the wanted sub forum in the classifieds section of the forum. I believe I paid just over $700 if my memory is correct.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-10-2013, 08:50 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 640
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 2741
eibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond repute
If you get lucky members upgrading to aftermarket radios post their oem ones here or on eBay. They range from 400 to right about 700 just depending on how soon the seller wants to turn the radio into cash. Also sometimes the condition dictates the price.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-17-2013, 07:07 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
dlo232 is on a distinguished road
Re: 130 to 430N upgrade - conflicting info

Just installed a new 430N RHB into a base 2012 JGC Laredo with no problems. Plug and play at it's finest. It was a replacement for the stock 130. I bought it from eBay for approx. $540.

Why can't the auto climate be as simple? The unit functions properly except for the display (all icons are illuminated).

Thanks for all the help.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade 130 RES / 430N 730N ? / ParkView Camera ? pitkinjeep Audio/Visual/Navigation 15 04-02-2013 08:41 PM
Radio upgrade from 130 RES to 430 RBZ z0lt3c Audio/Visual/Navigation 20 01-18-2013 01:08 AM
130 to 430 RBZ upgrade questions wkbrdpro Tech Tips/DIY/How To 0 01-12-2013 06:17 PM
Possible problem after upgrade on 430n computerwiz621 Audio/Visual/Navigation 12 01-23-2012 01:49 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.