2014 Grand Cherokee Map Update - Page 56 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #661  
Old 05-27-2015, 07:57 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Avon, Outer Banks, NC
Posts: 44
Thanks: 17
Thanked 15 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 1416
jcil4ever is on a distinguished road
Re: 2014 Grand Cherokee Map Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by f1anatic View Post
Question - once you input a destination address, how is the routing inside the dash shown? Are the intersection pictograms still messed up showing "T" intersections instead of cross roads?
Nope, still very basic cluster diagrams that don't reflect the actual intersection. I doubt that could even be changed with a UConnect update for the head end...probably firmware on that cluster screen, which I doubt will be updated, but who knows?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #662  
Old 05-27-2015, 09:02 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Maine
Posts: 321
Thanks: 113
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 3975
tllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 2014 Grand Cherokee Map Update

I loaded my map update this afternoon. I have not verified any data yet, but will over the next few days.

I mounted the USB for the System software (which I had already loaded months ago). I started the process but when it reported that my current software was the same as the new one, I said NO and stopped that update.

I followed the procedure for the map update. The manual said to turn the ignition on (RUN) and it stated that I should not, in any way, change the ignition status during the load. The manual stated the load could take up to 45 minutes. From the time I entered my activation code and selected OK, I began timing the load. The load took 1 hour and 18 minutes (78 minutes).

Further, at minute 25 and again at minute 54 the ignition turned itself off. Both times, I immediately turned the ignition back to RUN. In neither case did the radio display go black. The first time the ignition went OFF, the update did appear to stop incrementing the "% loaded" value for a few minutes, then it began to increment again. I didn't notice any hesitation after the second ignition "turn off". There must be a 30 minute timer somewhere. On my last system update, I had the engine actually running but these instructions did not say it should or could be running.

The load finished as described in the manual. I did the hokey pokey dance with the ignition and driver's door twice as instructed, hoping my neighbors were not watching.

As loaded, my version is NQNA2013Q4;20140625.

Tom
__________________
2014 V6 Overland 4x4, Max Steel/Black interior with Adv Tech Group & Off-Road Adventure II
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tllapointe For This Useful Post:
  #663  
Old 05-27-2015, 09:10 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Avon, Outer Banks, NC
Posts: 44
Thanks: 17
Thanked 15 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 1416
jcil4ever is on a distinguished road
Re: 2014 Grand Cherokee Map Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by tllapointe View Post
Further, at minute 25 and again at minute 54 the ignition turned itself off. Both times, I immediately turned the ignition back to RUN. In neither case did the radio display go black. The first time the ignition went OFF, the update did appear to stop incrementing the "% loaded" value for a few minutes, then it began to increment again. I didn't notice any hesitation after the second ignition "turn off". There must be a 30 minute timer somewhere. On my last system update, I had the engine actually running but these instructions did not say it should or could be running.

The load finished as described in the manual. I did the hokey pokey dance with the ignition and driver's door twice as instructed, hoping my neighbors were not watching.
I forgot to mention: I also installed with the Jeep in "Run." I just rotated through the ignition (Run to Off to ACC to Run) with the doors closed every ten minutes to restart the timer. I also opened and closed the door (in Run) after each rotation to make sure I got the timer. Didn't have any issues.

I also did not do the full hokey pokey (too lazy). Just did one reboot and it seemed to cooperate.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #664  
Old 05-28-2015, 05:08 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Maine
Posts: 321
Thanks: 113
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 3975
tllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond reputetllapointe has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 2014 Grand Cherokee Map Update

Most files on the map update USB stick have a modified date of 11/20/14. Some are 5/20/14 and 12/16/14.

Tom
__________________
2014 V6 Overland 4x4, Max Steel/Black interior with Adv Tech Group & Off-Road Adventure II
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tllapointe For This Useful Post:
  #665  
Old 05-28-2015, 06:20 AM
1stJeepGC's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 240
Thanked 201 Times in 178 Posts
Rep Power: 27419
1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 2014 Grand Cherokee Map Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by tllapointe View Post
Most files on the map update USB stick have a modified date of 11/20/14. Some are 5/20/14 and 12/16/14.

Tom
Greetings,

Now, for the test run thru your wonderful state of Maine is now in order to see if any of updates included the speed limits and other things you have posted.

Good luck and keep us updated.

Best for now.
__________________
Laredo X, Trail Rated, QTii, Sele-Terrian, Quadra Lift, Off-Road Adventure Package ii, Nokian Rotiva AT, Tow, AFE CAI, DiabloSport inTune 1000-DCX, Custom Sound System ( HAT speakers, JLAudio , Pioneer , JBL MS-8 & RF 3.sixty.3 -- see the writeup link below for more details)

http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/2011-...ver-79121.html
Reply With Quote
  #666  
Old 05-28-2015, 06:20 AM
f1anatic's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,803
Thanks: 88
Thanked 235 Times in 171 Posts
Rep Power: 160228
f1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 2014 Grand Cherokee Map Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcil4ever View Post
Nope, still very basic cluster diagrams that don't reflect the actual intersection. I doubt that could even be changed with a UConnect update for the head end...probably firmware on that cluster screen, which I doubt will be updated, but who knows?
Thanks. Early on, in 2013 the pictograms reflected the actual intersection, afterwards they changed with UConnect updates. But I always found it weird to be a firmware related issue and not a navi mapping issue.
Reply With Quote
  #667  
Old 05-28-2015, 08:23 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Avon, Outer Banks, NC
Posts: 44
Thanks: 17
Thanked 15 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 1416
jcil4ever is on a distinguished road
Re: 2014 Grand Cherokee Map Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by f1anatic View Post
Thanks. Early on, in 2013 the pictograms reflected the actual intersection, afterwards they changed with UConnect updates. But I always found it weird to be a firmware related issue and not a navi mapping issue.
Interesting, I had forgotten that or it was before I got my Jeep.
Reply With Quote
  #668  
Old 05-28-2015, 08:41 AM
NetworkTV's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 853
Thanks: 3
Thanked 198 Times in 150 Posts
Rep Power: 12592
NetworkTV has a reputation beyond reputeNetworkTV has a reputation beyond reputeNetworkTV has a reputation beyond reputeNetworkTV has a reputation beyond reputeNetworkTV has a reputation beyond reputeNetworkTV has a reputation beyond reputeNetworkTV has a reputation beyond reputeNetworkTV has a reputation beyond reputeNetworkTV has a reputation beyond reputeNetworkTV has a reputation beyond reputeNetworkTV has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 2014 Grand Cherokee Map Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcil4ever View Post
Nope, still very basic cluster diagrams that don't reflect the actual intersection. I doubt that could even be changed with a UConnect update for the head end...probably firmware on that cluster screen, which I doubt will be updated, but who knows?
I know on my 2015, it often shows a 4 way intersection even on "T" intersections.

The first time I saw it, I thought it simply was thinking the old retired road was still part of the intersection. Then I realized it was simply using a generic graphic for an intersection when it happened on T intersections that have never been anything but that.
__________________
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearl Coat

Reply With Quote
  #669  
Old 05-28-2015, 10:53 AM
46er's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 409
Thanks: 16
Thanked 36 Times in 31 Posts
Rep Power: 13665
46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 2014 Grand Cherokee Map Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by tllapointe View Post
I loaded my map update this afternoon. I have not verified any data yet, but will over the next few days.

I mounted the USB for the System software (which I had already loaded months ago). I started the process but when it reported that my current software was the same as the new one, I said NO and stopped that update.

I followed the procedure for the map update. The manual said to turn the ignition on (RUN) and it stated that I should not, in any way, change the ignition status during the load. The manual stated the load could take up to 45 minutes. From the time I entered my activation code and selected OK, I began timing the load. The load took 1 hour and 18 minutes (78 minutes).

Further, at minute 25 and again at minute 54 the ignition turned itself off. Both times, I immediately turned the ignition back to RUN. In neither case did the radio display go black. The first time the ignition went OFF, the update did appear to stop incrementing the "% loaded" value for a few minutes, then it began to increment again. I didn't notice any hesitation after the second ignition "turn off". There must be a 30 minute timer somewhere. On my last system update, I had the engine actually running but these instructions did not say it should or could be running.

The load finished as described in the manual. I did the hokey pokey dance with the ignition and driver's door twice as instructed, hoping my neighbors were not watching.

As loaded, my version is NQNA2013Q4;20140625.

Tom
What do you have your engine off option set to? I'm wondering if setting it to the max of 10 min, would make it safer by giving more time to react for an update
__________________
2014 Grand Cherokee Limited, Bright White, MDH 031503, V6, QTII, NAV NQNA2012Q4 + NUVI 750, sun roof, fold flat pass seat
Reply With Quote
  #670  
Old 05-28-2015, 05:27 PM
silvermax04's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3,515
Thanks: 282
Thanked 612 Times in 477 Posts
Rep Power: 30621
silvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond reputesilvermax04 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by 46er View Post

What do you have your engine off option set to? I'm wondering if setting it to the max of 10 min, would make it safer by giving more time to react for an update
Mine actually did turn all the way off once in the middle of the update when i turned it back on it just picked up where it left off. Not good to interupt it like that but in that case it did not cause harm would definitely avoid that happening though. Increasing the limit is a good idea
Reply With Quote
  #671  
Old 05-28-2015, 07:52 PM
cfwarren3's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 26
Thanks: 5
Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
Rep Power: 6734
cfwarren3 has a reputation beyond reputecfwarren3 has a reputation beyond reputecfwarren3 has a reputation beyond reputecfwarren3 has a reputation beyond reputecfwarren3 has a reputation beyond reputecfwarren3 has a reputation beyond reputecfwarren3 has a reputation beyond reputecfwarren3 has a reputation beyond reputecfwarren3 has a reputation beyond reputecfwarren3 has a reputation beyond reputecfwarren3 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: 2014 Grand Cherokee Map Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1stJeepGC View Post
Is your company looking into merging the Navigation unit with cellphone similar to IGO Primo's NavFusion technology or what Sygic has done with LandRover, Honda, etc...?

Best for now.
Yes we are. We are currently creating a test cell phone navigation application which could be the basis for a future integrated cell phone/head unit navigation system.

The idea is that you use the cell phone navigation which is streaming up to date maps from our servers like Google or Apple maps does. This would be projected onto the head unit screen similar to CarPlay. But when you hit an area of bad cell signal or run out of batteries, then the head unit defaults to the older maps loaded in its hard drive.

This way you get the absolute most current maps and info up on your head unit most of the time, but you aren't totally screwed if you lose cell signal. It will be sweet if we can pull it off!
__________________
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4x4, 3.6L, Brilliant Black, Black Interior, ORAII, Adv. Tech Package.
275/65/18 Falken Rocky Mountain ATS II Tires, Roof Rack, Door Sil Guards, Plasti-Dipped all chrome trim, Tinted Windows, Blue Interior LED Lighting, Catch Can, Hypertech Interceptor
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cfwarren3 For This Useful Post:
  #672  
Old 05-28-2015, 09:00 PM
1stJeepGC's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 240
Thanked 201 Times in 178 Posts
Rep Power: 27419
1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 2014 Grand Cherokee Map Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfwarren3 View Post
Yes we are. We are currently creating a test cell phone navigation application which could be the basis for a future integrated cell phone/head unit navigation system.

Greetings,

Thanx for the info.

Not that I am going to abandon Jeep, but this is the wave of the future and good old FCA, IMHO, is way behind the times with the infotainment concept.

It is a nice idea that you will be implementing a redundant map database system. Was the idea of the fixed map database being updated via the smartphone on the board as well?

Good luck with your endeavors.

Best for now.
__________________
Laredo X, Trail Rated, QTii, Sele-Terrian, Quadra Lift, Off-Road Adventure Package ii, Nokian Rotiva AT, Tow, AFE CAI, DiabloSport inTune 1000-DCX, Custom Sound System ( HAT speakers, JLAudio , Pioneer , JBL MS-8 & RF 3.sixty.3 -- see the writeup link below for more details)

http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/2011-...ver-79121.html
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 1stJeepGC For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
2014, 2014 grand cherokee, grand cherokee, update

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2014 Map Update - "PND Did Not Update" Error LJSMITH1 Audio/Visual/Navigation 15 06-23-2015 09:44 AM
Update map on 2014 GC with Harman/iGo Navigation KAMOU Audio/Visual/Navigation 0 10-23-2013 11:08 AM
Does 2014 nav map display more street names on the screen than the 2011 GC nav map? Sudin36 Audio/Visual/Navigation 3 05-01-2013 09:41 PM
430N RHB Navteq Map Update Available jerryw1000 Audio/Visual/Navigation 22 11-12-2012 07:50 PM
2010 navteq map update heather313 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 5 08-06-2010 05:59 PM

» Premium Vendor Showcase
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.