Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-06-2014, 01:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 240
Dbattise is on a distinguished road
2014 jeep grand cherokee adding a sub

So I'm trying to put a sub in my jeep and I'm all done and I'm trying to tune it with a dd1 and it distorts at like 16. How would I go about fixing this so that it wouldn't distort so early. I know a lot of people on here have put systems in there car so how did you do it. Or are yall just guessing on yalls tuning
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2014, 04:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1519
VANT4GE is on a distinguished road
Re: 2014 jeep grand cherokee adding a sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dbattise View Post
So I'm trying to put a sub in my jeep and I'm all done and I'm trying to tune it with a dd1 and it distorts at like 16. How would I go about fixing this so that it wouldn't distort so early. I know a lot of people on here have put systems in there car so how did you do it. Or are yall just guessing on yalls tuning
First thing to do before connecting anything is check the head unit for maximum unclipped volume with the DD1. Mine was around 26.

Can you list all of your equipment?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-2014, 09:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 240
Dbattise is on a distinguished road
Re: 2014 jeep grand cherokee adding a sub

My equipment is
1 sundown audio sa 8
Rockford fosgate t500bdcp
And my converter is pac audio pdlc 21

I measured mine and it's around 16
Is that before or after the stock amp
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-2014, 09:57 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Rep Power: 3647
kkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 2014 jeep grand cherokee adding a sub

Turn your gains down? What kind of box? SAs prefer ported (only). PAC makes some sub-par devices. I would have went with AudioControl for LOC.
__________________
2014 Durango Limited AWD in Granite: Premium Package, 2nd Row Captain Chairs, 2nd row Console.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2014, 10:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1519
VANT4GE is on a distinguished road
Re: 2014 jeep grand cherokee adding a sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dbattise View Post
My equipment is
1 sundown audio sa 8
Rockford fosgate t500bdcp
And my converter is pac audio pdlc 21

I measured mine and it's around 16
Is that before or after the stock amp
What model Grand Cherokee do you have?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-06-2014, 10:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 240
Dbattise is on a distinguished road
Re: 2014 jeep grand cherokee adding a sub

I was told this pac loc is the same as the audio control lc2i without the knobs so I went with that and it's a custom box tuned to about 35hz

It's the limited with the 9 speaker system
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-06-2014, 10:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1519
VANT4GE is on a distinguished road
Re: 2014 jeep grand cherokee adding a sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dbattise View Post
I was told this pac loc is the same as the audio control lc2i without the knobs so I went with that and it's a custom box tuned to about 35hz

It's the limited with the 9 speaker system
Did you use the average readings (tracks 1 & 2) of 40hz and 1khz off the factory amp? 16 seems very low. I hope it doesn't clip at 16.

You may also want to lower the EQ on the head unit while you perform these tests. Go below flat, see if that helps.

Do you have an RTA? you can check the signal while you adjust the factory EQ.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-06-2014, 01:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 240
Dbattise is on a distinguished road
Re: 2014 jeep grand cherokee adding a sub

Does anybody know the wiring diagram for my car
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2014, grand cherokee, jeep

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding sub to ba system greenwayer Audio/Visual/Navigation 37 02-19-2014 11:20 PM
Need some help on my thoughts about adding a sub to factory system. hound Audio/Visual/Navigation 5 04-03-2013 07:26 PM
Adding Aftermarket Sub Amp to Stock Deck imhoffg Audio/Visual/Navigation 13 03-20-2013 09:08 PM
Adding nav, cam, and sub/amp Beezle Audio/Visual/Navigation 7 05-14-2012 05:31 AM
Adding the Single Kicker Sub to my WK robpp Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 9 12-20-2009 08:13 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community