Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-09-2013, 12:53 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manhasset, NY
Posts: 172
Thanks: 2
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 326324
jdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond repute
Exclamation 2014 RA4 Issue/Update - DETAILED BELOW

Fellow JG'ers,

Thought that I would share an interesting story with you guys regarding the RA4 Access Radio on my 2014 Overland 5.7

PLEASE USE ANY OF THE INFORMATION BELOW AT YOUR OWN RISK

A couple of days ago I was having an issue with my RA4 radio. The unit kept telling me to service the Phone (911/Assist), (Red Light on Rearview Mirror) and that I had to bring my vehicle to the dealer (people have already spoken about this on the thread etc..)

While also having that issue for some reason my GPS was not getting signal and could not provide Location, Navigation, etc...

The first thing that I did was I entered the engineering menu to do a Factory Reset hoping that it was a simple software issue and a reset would resolve it. Unfortunatley, that didn't fix the problem but also wiped out all my information (which I expected).

Then the saga begins.... I called UConnect customer service and ended up working with a Level 3 Supervisor that told me that I either had to go to the dealer to have the radio updated or possibly have the Headunit replaced entirely (Currently the units are on a national backorder and it would be a total pain in the ass to wait for a new one). She wanted to check if there was an update available for my vehicle and by using the last 8 digits of my VIN she said that there was no update available. I told her that I had read about some people being able to update there radios with a flash drive and she said that those updates were only avaiable for the RAM with the same syetem.

This is where I got creative...I figured let me find a random new Dodge RAM for sale and enter the last 8 digits of that VIN number and see if an update shows up. Sure enough, the first one I entered said that there was an update available and the software version was 13.10.6

I downloaded the update and the instructions and figured what the hell let me try this on the Jeep maybe it will work. After going over the instructions I loaded the update file onto a flash drive and inserted it into the Jeep. Sure enough, it said a valid update was inserted and asked me if I wanted to proceed. Of course, I clicked Yes....

The radio rebooted into Update mode and started installing updates on the 12 blocks of sofrware that are on the radio (IE: SiriusXM, Analog, Digital, GPScal, etc...) All of a sudden the system froze up on Sierra Wireless. For those of you that don't know, Sierra Wireless manufactures the Sprint Radio that is in the Access radios for Harman. The radio tells me that the update failed and the system reboots. Now I think that I am totally screwed because everytime I restart the car, not only does the radio not come up and I have no HVAC, Radio, GPS controls, It also keeps displaying "Please Insert Update USB".

At this point I think im totally f'ed up and now I have to take a ride to the dealership. Then while driving home I figure what the hell and I re-insert the update USB flash drive and try again. Low and behold, 45 minutes later the update has been completed, the radio powers up (with the Jeep Logo, I thought I might end up with the RAM logo because it was a RAM update ) and everything is working great.

Not only did it resolve my service phone issues and my GPS issues, the radio is faster, more responsive, has some more options in the settings and is 1000x more stable then it used to be. Also, I did not have to resetup any of the APPS. Everything still works including the iPhone App.

I am pretty sure that the updates are the same but since there have been issues with the Jeep they are making owners go to the dealership to do the same update.

I just figured since you guys are always so helpful I would share my own experience and if anyone is brave enough they can try the update for themselves and get what I believe to be the latest software version 13.10.6

AGAIN, DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK I DONT WANT TO BE RESPONSIBLE FOR PEOPLE RUINING THEIR RADIOS!!!!

Regards,
JD
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jdchamp31 For This Useful Post:
  #2  
Old 05-09-2013, 03:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 513
ct10004 is on a distinguished road
Re: 2014 RA4 Issue/Update - DETAILED BELOW

interesting.... by the way can you see if you do a remote start from your key fob, does the auto AC come on? perhaps it clears that issues as well.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2013, 06:49 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 174
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 2068
nikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 2014 RA4 Issue/Update - DETAILED BELOW

What vin did you use?

My system isn't perfect, but rather not f it up if I don't have to Waiting for someone else with bigger issues to try it.

Would the update be the same for the 8.4a?
__________________
14' Grand Cherokee Limited Hemi 4x2
http://s107.photobucket.com/user/nik...and%20Cherokee
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2013, 04:15 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 174
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 2068
nikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 2014 RA4 Issue/Update - DETAILED BELOW

Can you upload the file you downloaded to a file sharing site?

mediafire.com usually works pretty good.

Heres a big thread discussing this update BTW

http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread....136863&page=26

I did the same as you and found a vin and am downloading now.

The 8.4an unit has the same software number yet says was released 5/1. The 8.4a unit says software released 3/19.

So confusing, but if anyone wants it i'll try and upload it after I get the file. VERY slow server.
__________________
14' Grand Cherokee Limited Hemi 4x2
http://s107.photobucket.com/user/nik...and%20Cherokee
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-13-2013, 10:39 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 174
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 2068
nikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 2014 RA4 Issue/Update - DETAILED BELOW

RA3_13_10_6.exe (350.4 MB)
https://mega.co.nz/#!kFgBVLYa!fL6vED...y2MGQewyxQYjUI

RA4_13_10_6.exe (350.8 MB)
https://mega.co.nz/#!4UhWxKYJ!f57rl3...rsHtI2RekPAfo0

I uploaded both update files in case anyone else is brave enough to try it. These were both pulled from 2013 Rams with the the 8.4a and 8.4an headunits.
__________________
14' Grand Cherokee Limited Hemi 4x2
http://s107.photobucket.com/user/nik...and%20Cherokee
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-13-2013, 07:18 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 162
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1744
jerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond reputejerryw1000 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 2014 RA4 Issue/Update - DETAILED BELOW

I downloaded one for a 2013 RAM 3500 with the 8.4AN that just arrived on my dealer's lot along with the instructions. I noticed in the first few lines of the instructions it said "does not contain uConnect Access" and that it will "be available at a later date". Don't know if that is important or not but I decided not to try it.
__________________
2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo X 4x4 V6
2014 Grand Cherokee Limited 4x2 V6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-13-2013, 07:27 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manhasset, NY
Posts: 172
Thanks: 2
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 326324
jdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond repute
I have a RA4 8.4an with access. I used the Ram 1500 update and did not lose access to the UConnect Access features and did not even have to set it up again.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-13-2013, 08:31 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 174
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 2068
nikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond repute
I decided to try the update and it worked perfectly! I used the ra3 file. Whole system seems to be 'snappier' as of right now all my apps are gone including the store, only thing there is settings and wifi hotspot. However it did say 'loading' and I was impatient. They may show up by themselves like the pandora app did the other day. So if your on the fence...go for it!
__________________
14' Grand Cherokee Limited Hemi 4x2
http://s107.photobucket.com/user/nik...and%20Cherokee
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2013, 09:28 PM
SnoFire's Avatar
The Negotiator
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 4,867
Thanks: 55
Thanked 135 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 390009
SnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: 2014 RA4 Issue/Update - DETAILED BELOW

Where did you guys get the Instructions to get this installed? I just downloaded it and it is an EXE file
__________________
2014 GC Limited V6 LuxII/Tow/RA4 Max Steel/Blk Michelin LTX M/S2

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-13-2013, 09:39 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 174
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 2068
nikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond reputenikon858 has a reputation beyond repute
Uconnect 8.4 Customer Software Update 13.10.6 Instructions R2.pdf (597 KB)
https://mega.co.nz/#!cVo0QTqT!VJdo5x...V9KRe6uStpW67w

Instructions were available for download on the uconnect site when you download the update file.

The .exe is just a self extracting archive, the file that extracts is an .iso. Make sure it is the only file on the usb drive.

Turn ignition to run (two presses) don't start car, unplug any sd cards/usb drives/etc. Once system is on, plug in the usb drive then click yes. After that should take 5-10 minutes to complete. I did not have any issues as the OP did. And I have NOT tried the RA4 file I uploaded, only the RA3.

Does someone wanna grab a VIN off a SRT ram? That might add the SRT features to our nav


and to add...the issue where if you shut the car down on the media tab you had to click media again after you started the car is now gone! I'm sure ill find more things tomorrow.

system
__________________
14' Grand Cherokee Limited Hemi 4x2
http://s107.photobucket.com/user/nik...and%20Cherokee
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-13-2013, 10:08 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manhasset, NY
Posts: 172
Thanks: 2
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 326324
jdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond repute
As the orignal poster I am having some issues with the update. Even though it resolved most of my issues my backup camera seems more laggy then it used to and for some reason when I am listening to the news channels on XM it seems a little staticky. May have been there before but not sure. My thought is that this update fixed most of my problems and when an update actually comes out for my VIN I will install that as well and should get complete satisfaction. It's a new car and a first year release for this new system. Gonna have to deal with some bugs from time to time but I'm sure it will only get better as more updates become available.
__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jdchamp31 For This Useful Post:
  #12  
Old 05-14-2013, 08:52 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 65
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 544
Lepactedesloups is on a distinguished road
Re: 2014 RA4 Issue/Update - DETAILED BELOW

My concern with using an update not meant for my vehicle is that when they finally come out with the Jeep update, will my Jeep recognize it? In other words, it may do a version check, think I already have a newer update (from the RAM one) and not allow me to use it which could deny me fixes to stuff more specific to the Jeep. I dunno, just guessing.

Also, as a side note, my work's virus screener flagged the exe update being "a minor security risk" according to their servers (Symantec corporate scanner). Might just be because it's an unsigned exe file, but you never know.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2014 Uconnect RA3 - RA4 / Engineering Menu *sox* Audio/Visual/Navigation 21 08-13-2014 03:42 PM
Can you upload MP3s to 2014 Overland with Uconnect 8.4AN/RA4? The Snowman Audio/Visual/Navigation 1 05-04-2013 10:13 PM
2014 Ra4 software version and issues Danm1433 Audio/Visual/Navigation 6 04-29-2013 05:50 PM
2014 Bluetooth streaming issue............. rvf1 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 8 04-17-2013 03:25 PM
Shift issue, TSB 18-012-11 update result REALM Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 2 04-27-2011 03:45 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community