Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-27-2012, 05:49 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 743
GCNY13 is on a distinguished road
430 RBZ Upgrade to 430 RHB (Nav)

Hey guys,

I bought my 2013 Grand Cherokee with the 130 RES Radio. I upgraded that radio to the 430 RBZ mygig radio without navigation, which was taken out of a 2011 Grand Cherokee so no security code was needed. I then had the dealer install the Mopar Factory backup camera system to the new radio and they had to update my sales code to activate the camera.

My question is, if I upgraded from my current 430 RBZ to the 430 RHB mygig with navigation, will everything just be plug and play and will my camera still function on this new radio? I am unsure if the activation of the backup camera on my sales code is linked to my actual vehicle or the 430 RBZ radio itself. I am trying to avoid a trip to the dealer.

If I buy a 430 RHB from a 2012+ does the dealer charge for the anti-theft security code to get it activated?

Thanks in Advance!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2012, 05:56 PM
*sox*'s Avatar
Italien MOPAR Guy :-)

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basel / Switzerland
Posts: 1,823
Thanks: 86
Thanked 66 Times in 55 Posts
Rep Power: 570827
*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to *sox* Send a message via Skype™ to *sox*
hi

i have a brand new RHB for sale with code!


.......iPad using Tapatalk HD
__________________

__________________
.....Have pity with my, my English is not the best



Massively Over Powered And Respected



Sox`s World
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2012, 09:16 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 743
GCNY13 is on a distinguished road
Re: 430 RBZ Upgrade to 430 RHB (Nav)

Anybody have any input on this? Can get a good deal locally on 1 of these and want to pull the trigger before it sells. Much appreciated.

I did try searching the forums before I posted this, just didnt find the answer I was looking for specifically regarding this.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2012, 09:43 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 619
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1761
eibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 430 RBZ Upgrade to 430 RHB (Nav)

I think it will transfer just fine because some have upgraded to 730 from a 430 if I recall correctly. Also, if the radio is functional and there's no problem with it, I don't see you taking a loss on it if it doesn't work and end up selling it.

When the dealer activated your camera, it was added to your sales code and I don't think it's tied to the radio.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2013, 10:41 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 181
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 897
z0lt3c is on a distinguished road
Re: 430 RBZ Upgrade to 430 RHB (Nav)

When the dealer added the sales code for the RBZ to your order, this gets associated within your vehicle's VIN equipment sheet in the Chrysler system. Basically it looks like you ordered the RBZ and camera from the factory.

Coding the camera to function with your RBZ unit was a separate action the dealer would need to have taken and has nothing to do with warranty. My understanding is that there is a menu where you can activate and de-activate the rear camera on the 430 models. If your dealer doesn't code/activate the camera, you will not be able to select the camera from this menu and hence it won't work.

Here is my suggestion, get and install the new head unit. Check to see if the camera functions and if the camera menu is operable. What I found is most used head units HAD rear view cameras previously so the fuction was already coded. If it's not, the dealer should be able to recode the camera for a nominal shop time charge (1/2 hour?). In addition, you can ask the dealer to swap your RBZ for RHB on your sales order to get the new equiptment covered by warranty.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2013, 01:03 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 743
GCNY13 is on a distinguished road
Re: 430 RBZ Upgrade to 430 RHB (Nav)

Thank you all for your responses. Much appreciated!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2013, 08:48 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Long Beach NY
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 397
Gbarnett374 is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: 430 RBZ Upgrade to 430 RHB (Nav)

Was wondering the same thing ? How did it turn out ?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2013, 09:14 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 743
GCNY13 is on a distinguished road
Re: 430 RBZ Upgrade to 430 RHB (Nav)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gbarnett374 View Post
Was wondering the same thing ? How did it turn out ?
I actually wasn't able to find the rhb for a good price so I never did it, I figured I use google maps on my iPhone and it plays through the blue tooth so that works well for me
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media Center 430 (Non-Nav / RBZ) Update Available? Marky Audio/Visual/Navigation 4 04-13-2013 09:50 PM
Radio upgrade from 130 RES to 430 RBZ z0lt3c Audio/Visual/Navigation 20 01-18-2013 01:08 AM
430 RBZ IPAD connection? alext Audio/Visual/Navigation 0 11-24-2012 08:26 PM
430 RBZ Radio..Can i add nav. to this andylcg Audio/Visual/Navigation 16 03-26-2012 01:45 PM
Which lockpick for the 430 RBZ without Nav? jchorlins Audio/Visual/Navigation 6 01-12-2012 09:10 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community