Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-12-2012, 08:03 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
jmehill is on a distinguished road
Question 430N RCA output??

Hi everyone,

This is my very FIRST post on this forum.
Forgive me, but I don't yet own a GC. I have been a member of this forum for a short while now, taking in the wealth of info that my future fellow GC owners have to offer!
I am ditching my '12 Camaro for a '13 GC Laredo 3.6L with 430N upgrade and 20" polished wheels and Nav group. I will have my new GC very VERY soon!
I apologize in advance if this question has already been asked on here, but I can't find exactly what I'm looking for, for the life of me!
This is what I've got...
I already purchased a powered subwoofer to go under the rear seat. The "installation kit" that came with it includes a fused power cable, and RCA cables.
I've read elsewhere that factory stereos typically don't have RCA outs.
Does anyone know if the 430N has these??
I don't have the vehicle yet, so I can't just take it apart to see for myself.
I just need to know if it has these, and is essentially a "plug-and-play" deal, or will I have to splice into a speaker to get the speaker signal I need???

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
:CHEERS:
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2012, 11:53 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 600
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1660
eibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond repute
Likely answer is probably not. There are harnesses, someone correct me if I'm mistaken that can add preamp outs. I don't know if that includes sub outs though.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2012, 04:44 PM
subbie09's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 574
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 3342
subbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond repute
probably not. Got to splice the rears with a line output converter.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2012, 06:42 PM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 26316
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 430N RCA output??

Do you know if the WK2 has the premium audio or the base 4 speaker? With the Nav upgrade it probably has the premium system. Regardless, there are no RCA level audio output from the radio or amplifier (the amplifier is a separate box mounted in the rear). For a premium system you will need something like this.

Pac-Audio.com Product Search | iPod Integration for your car and More by Pac-Audio - Connecting you to the future


Otherwise you will be working with speaker level outputs I think.

Wiring diagrams and more info are on WK2jeeps.com

In the premium system, the audio and control signals are fed from the radio to the rear amplifier. The rear amplifier feeds the subwoofer and all the speakers. The balance/fader/volume is controlled by the amp based on can bus signals it gets from the radio head.
__________________
2011 WK2 Overland Mineral Gray/Black, Advanced warning, V8; 2009 KK Rocky Mtn V6; 2000 WJ Laredo I6; 1979 CJ7 I6... green... miles of smiles :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-2012, 12:32 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rivergrove, OR
Posts: 576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 10447
Andrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 430N RCA output??

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
That description says the product is meant for an MS-CAN bus. "MS" stands for "medium speed." The WK2 uses high-speed CAN.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2012, 01:58 PM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 26316
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 430N RCA output??

Doesn't MS mean multi speed? The unit will sync up to either low or high speed CAN?

What does LSFT mean?

I dunno but when you plug in the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee, the referenced page is the result.

If you open the applications file, all WK2s are listed. Otherwise I wouldn't have bothered to mention it.

http://pac-audio.com/seeAllApps.aspx...Name=C2A-CHY23
__________________
2011 WK2 Overland Mineral Gray/Black, Advanced warning, V8; 2009 KK Rocky Mtn V6; 2000 WJ Laredo I6; 1979 CJ7 I6... green... miles of smiles :)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-15-2012, 04:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 625
Mininuke is on a distinguished road
Re: 430N RCA output??

I have the same vehicle with the wheel/nav option and it does NOT come with the premium audio system. Mine came witht he standard 6 speaker system which consists of 2 tweeters, 2-6x9 front door speakers and 2-6 1/2 rear door speakers (no subwoofer, no amp).

I made the mistake of tapping onto the rear door speakers for the LOC but I soon realized that the stok 430N will taper off bass output at higher volumes. So my subwoofers weren't working properly as if my amp was overheating and going into protection mode.

You want to tap onto the front door speakers (6x9's) to install the LOC (line out converter), front speakers signal is full frequesncy and will not taper off bass output.

By the way if you listen to music at moderate volume levels the stock 6 speaker system sounds pretty good and musical and more so when a sub is added.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-15-2012, 04:07 PM
subbie09's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 574
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 3342
subbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond repute
if you have the Alpine system, I recommend the Audiocontrol LC6i between the stock amp and aftermarket amp. Has ability to adjust frequiencies and keep the signal clean. Look into it.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-16-2012, 11:33 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rivergrove, OR
Posts: 576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 10447
Andrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 430N RCA output??

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
Doesn't MS mean multi speed?
No. There are three bus speeds: low speed is 50 kbps, medium speed is 125 kbps, high speed is 500 kbps. And Wikipedia mentions a 250 kbps speed ("agricultural standard"?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
I dunno but when you plug in the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee, the referenced page is the result.
It wouldn't be the first time an aftermarket supplier got a detail wrong. I recommend that anyone who orders this for a WK2 make sure they can return it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-24-2012, 07:56 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
jmehill is on a distinguished road
Re: 430N RCA output??

Wow! Thanks for all the replies guys!!
I have since picked up my new baby, and I absolutely love it!!
Mine also has the 430N, but only has the basic 6-speaker system (hence the powered sub). I have to say that the stock speakers really aren't that bad, but I'm very excited to add a little better range to the low-end.
I'm going to pick up an LOC tomorrow.
I've read in other forums that I should tap into the rears, but I think I will try the fronts, (thanks Mininuke!) I'll try to take good pics as I go, and I'll let everyone know how it turns out.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-24-2012, 08:50 PM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 26316
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 430N RCA output??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Klossner View Post
No. There are three bus speeds: low speed is 50 kbps, medium speed is 125 kbps, high speed is 500 kbps. And Wikipedia mentions a 250 kbps speed ("agricultural standard"?)

It wouldn't be the first time an aftermarket supplier got a detail wrong. I recommend that anyone who orders this for a WK2 make sure they can return it.
Chrysler has only used two speeds over the past 10 years, you can read that on alpar and wk2Jeeps.com. Its not the first time a wiki has it wrong, or has been misinterpreted.

This product has been used by several here without issue, although its overkill for most. There are other solutions for converting speaker to preamp levels.
__________________
2011 WK2 Overland Mineral Gray/Black, Advanced warning, V8; 2009 KK Rocky Mtn V6; 2000 WJ Laredo I6; 1979 CJ7 I6... green... miles of smiles :)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-25-2012, 09:21 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 600
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1660
eibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 430N RCA output??

This thread piqued my interest so I looked up some of the LOCs available. There's an LC2i available for not too much money. Something to add to future projects. There's an 8" Lanzar low profile sub that I can probably stick under the driver seat.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
heater output problem hamilton5 Troubleshooting/Problems 8 02-25-2014 09:25 AM
Digital Output on 2012+? mfenske Audio/Visual/Navigation 3 09-06-2012 10:32 PM
Question about amped output to sub. spike98 Audio/Visual/Navigation 12 08-31-2012 12:01 AM
Light Output Comparison omelet Interior/Exterior/Visual 30 11-22-2011 05:37 PM
Double ended male RCA connectors? NHWK05 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 10 01-11-2010 10:29 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community