Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-08-2013, 12:30 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 575
darkdoom is on a distinguished road
730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!

To all the people that will like to travel from the US to Mexico or other countries, the UCONNECT SYSTEM will not work and shut-down and reset constantly!!!!

Called Uconnect and they explained that i would have to purchase a uconnect system for the Region of Mexico for it to work!!! $2,637 USD for a Mexico system to listen to radio, without GPS and or hands free working!!!!

This is incredible and this is not right. I understand purchasing different CD's with various maps but the controls should work when travelling outside the US!!!

I have gone to 2 local dealerships in Mexico to help troubleshoot the issue and they have no solution. Called the San Antonio dealership where I purchased the the 2013 Jeep Overland with the 730 RHR uconnect system and they also have no solution at the moment (still investigating). Called Uconnect directly and they have no solution but only to buy another unit and replace it when crossing borders!!!!!! (Absolutely unheard of).

Does anyone have a fix or solution to this issue or to change region settings in the uconnect system without having to buy a new system??

Darkdoom.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2013, 08:50 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: brOOklyn
Posts: 1,244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2760
JoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!

This is insane. I can understand GPS Navigation not working due to lack of maps, but how can this possibly affect regular radio and Bluetooth?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2013, 09:38 PM
jacko15's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 2,146
Thanks: 214
Thanked 157 Times in 127 Posts
Rep Power: 89593
jacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!

Wonder if this happens in Canada too. I live not far from the border and travel there. Anyone take their JGC to Canada?
__________________
Mine: 2014 Overland 4x4 V6, ORA II, billet silver/black, Michelin LTX M/S 2's, MaxCare Lifetime, delivered 4-13-'13
Wife's Jeep: 2008 Compass Sport 4x4, 2.4L I4 DOHC, CVT, Lifetime powertrain warranty
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2013, 09:46 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 575
darkdoom is on a distinguished road
I talked to the Supervisor of Uconnect today and still they were not certain why it isn't working. I will have to drive 12 hours and return the vehicle back to the dealership in San Antonio, Texas to see if they can resolve the issue. I also have researched and found out that even in Mexico it is the same Region. They also told me that even different states might cause the similar issues. I strongly believe there is something wrong with the hard drive and the uconnect unit. I don't think regions will make a difference with hands free and voice recognition functions. I will keep you posted.

Darkdoom
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2013, 09:57 PM
jacko15's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 2,146
Thanks: 214
Thanked 157 Times in 127 Posts
Rep Power: 89593
jacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkdoom View Post
I will keep you posted.

Darkdoom
Please do! This is getting curiouser and curiouser.
__________________
Mine: 2014 Overland 4x4 V6, ORA II, billet silver/black, Michelin LTX M/S 2's, MaxCare Lifetime, delivered 4-13-'13
Wife's Jeep: 2008 Compass Sport 4x4, 2.4L I4 DOHC, CVT, Lifetime powertrain warranty
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2013, 10:16 AM
Debauch's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 572373
Debauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!

Try dumbing down the system as much as possible:

1. Change the clock to "User Clock" instead of GPS
2. Turn off the Sirius Traffic and traffic alerts
3. Under Nav settings (I don't see a way to turn the Nav off) change the default Country to Mexico

I'm not sure if these would do anything but it seems logical that dumbing down the system would help narrow the problem down.

Good luck.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2013, 10:21 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 575
darkdoom is on a distinguished road
Excellent points and they make sense. I will do exactly that to see if anything changes.
Thanks alot,
Darkdoom.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2013, 11:43 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 575
darkdoom is on a distinguished road
Turned clock setting to user clock. Do you know how to turn off the travel link?

Thanks,
Darkdoom
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2013, 01:49 PM
Debauch's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 572373
Debauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond reputeDebauch has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!

I don't know if there's a way to turn Travel Link off.

You can can turn off Sirus Traffic though. From Menu, select "Sirius Traffic" then "Setup".
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-11-2013, 11:14 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 575
darkdoom is on a distinguished road
Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!

Tried to Dumbing down the system as much as possible and the issue still occurs. Looks like I have no other alternative at the moment but to bring back the vehicle to Texas from Mexico.

Thanks for the advise though.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-02-2013, 03:20 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 575
darkdoom is on a distinguished road
Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!

Brought the vehicle back to Texas and sure enough they had to replace the uconnect system. It was defective. the jeep is on its way back to Mexico and I will test it and keep you posted.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-28-2013, 02:59 PM
Mauryx's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Baja, Mexico
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1238
Mauryx is on a distinguished road
Re: 730 RHR Uconnect Will not work after crossing US Border!!

that's very strange, I live in Mexico and I crossed to America and all my controls work, even my Jeep 2011, Limited, has maps of Mexico (full) and the United States and Canada

In Mexico you can buy the complete unit 430 at $ 1.200 usd and worked in both countries.

Mauricio-
Ensenada,Baja, Mexico
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Lockpick for 730 RHR fundguy Audio/Visual/Navigation 29 01-10-2012 01:44 PM
730 RHR GPS Hollywood Audio/Video/Navigation/Alarms 10 07-11-2011 12:57 PM
730 RHR GPS just so so Hollywood Audio/Visual/Navigation 10 07-11-2011 12:57 PM
POI's on 730 rhr? shamus Audio/Visual/Navigation 0 05-04-2011 04:08 PM
Anyone with the 730 RHR J13ntv Audio/Visual/Navigation 12 04-27-2011 05:42 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community