Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-18-2011, 09:42 AM
plynn7's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Delaware County,PA
Posts: 382
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 2060
plynn7 has a reputation beyond reputeplynn7 has a reputation beyond reputeplynn7 has a reputation beyond reputeplynn7 has a reputation beyond reputeplynn7 has a reputation beyond reputeplynn7 has a reputation beyond reputeplynn7 has a reputation beyond repute
730N and Sirius Traffic?

So I take a trip from PA to VA about 190 miles this weekend, I have taken this trip a couple a times a year for the last twenty years, so I know the route. So I set the Nav to guide me to see how well the SiriusTraffic service works. It was annoying, the voice kept coming on every ten minutes or so telling me that my route is being recalculated to do traffic condition, this continued throughout the entire trip and I never got rerouted away from the normal route that I have always taken. Also the distance to my destination readout on the Nav kept changing by about 10 miles. It seemed like it kept rerouting me from the original course and then reroute me back. There was never any back ups during my trip. Has anyone else used the Sirius traffic and got the same results?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2011, 10:38 AM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,446
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 26560
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 730N and Sirius Traffic?

Usually not, but there have been a few occasions alternate routing was calculated, and a few occasions when alternate routes should have been.

Its seems the 730N just reroutes on occasion on a whim.

The sirius traffic service appears to have the same issues other services have had for years, traffic jam notifications are always late, and traffic clearing indications are way late. I was in a traffic jam on I84 for near an hour last week before Sirius traffic reported it and the Nav offered an alternate route, which by that time was also jammed without indication. Not happy with the traffic service, certainly not worth the subscription to me. Radio traffic reports on the 5s and google maps (on the iPad) seem to provide much more accurate and up to date information, but also not without their issues.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2011, 11:18 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 545
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 2125
netcoolery has a reputation beyond reputenetcoolery has a reputation beyond reputenetcoolery has a reputation beyond reputenetcoolery has a reputation beyond reputenetcoolery has a reputation beyond reputenetcoolery has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 730N and Sirius Traffic?

Driving back from Orange County to Phoenix, I had the 730N Nav system recalculate and send me on a slightly longer route (leaving Riverside, heading for I-10.) I'll never know if it was right, but I believed it because the stretch of road it was steering me away from is prone to backups and delays.

So I'm going to guess that I got some real value there - although I'll never know for sure.

In general though, I agree with the above posters that the Sirius traffic updates are usually too late to be worth anything.
__________________
2011 Overland Summit
Rugged Brown
Off Road Group II
Michelin LTX A/T2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-19-2011, 11:45 AM
Technosavant's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: STL, MO area
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 2988
Technosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 730N and Sirius Traffic?

Keep in mind that when you input a route, it checks traffic along the ENTIRE route. So if you're doing a 600 mile run through several metro areas, you could well be hearing notifications of a route change for a traffic incident that is 300 miles away and will be long cleared before you get anywhere close.

Factor in the late notification and late clearing of events, and the traffic capability isn't all it's really cracked up to be. Sometimes it helps. Sometimes not.

I generally don't program in a destination on a long trip until I'm getting close unless I'm just not that familiar with the route in general.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-19-2011, 12:21 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: brOOklyn
Posts: 1,258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 2854
JoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 730N and Sirius Traffic?

Can 730N be set not to take traffic into consideration for routing?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2011, 12:25 PM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,446
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 26560
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 730N and Sirius Traffic?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeSchmoe007 View Post
Can 730N be set not to take traffic into consideration for routing?
Yes, you can disable auto routing on traffic (i.e don't select avoid traffic on the routing preferences screen)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-20-2011, 01:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1902
Celly has a reputation beyond reputeCelly has a reputation beyond reputeCelly has a reputation beyond reputeCelly has a reputation beyond reputeCelly has a reputation beyond reputeCelly has a reputation beyond reputeCelly has a reputation beyond reputeCelly has a reputation beyond reputeCelly has a reputation beyond reputeCelly has a reputation beyond reputeCelly has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 730N and Sirius Traffic?

I had Navtraffic on my last car.. It's a damn Joke. By the time it tells you there is traffic it is either too late, or way too late. I can not tell you how many times I saw the Accident icon where I was at and there was no accident.

If you have a smart phone, I would check Google traffic as well. I have found that to be a tad more up to date.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-20-2011, 05:49 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago west suburbs
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1418
moontz is on a distinguished road
Re: 730N and Sirius Traffic?

Quote:
Originally Posted by plynn7 View Post
So I take a trip from PA to VA about 190 miles this weekend, I have taken this trip a couple a times a year for the last twenty years, so I know the route. So I set the Nav to guide me to see how well the SiriusTraffic service works. It was annoying, the voice kept coming on every ten minutes or so telling me that my route is being recalculated to do traffic condition, this continued throughout the entire trip and I never got rerouted away from the normal route that I have always taken. Also the distance to my destination readout on the Nav kept changing by about 10 miles. It seemed like it kept rerouting me from the original course and then reroute me back. There was never any back ups during my trip. Has anyone else used the Sirius traffic and got the same results?
Ha... I hate that traffic thing.. I turned it off .. Talks more than my wife
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
730N (RER) vs 430N (RHB) vs 730N (RHR) joebinotto Audio/Visual/Navigation 205 05-06-2014 10:09 AM
Sirius Traffic in Canada justin1569 Audio/Visual/Navigation 10 12-08-2011 01:11 AM
Sirius Traffic in New Summit would have saved me? netcoolery Audio/Visual/Navigation 4 04-04-2011 10:12 AM
730N - RER upgrade to 730N - RHR EmeraldOne Audio/Visual/Navigation 43 03-26-2011 12:48 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.