Aftermarket Alarm - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-17-2015, 07:26 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 677
Frank Castle is on a distinguished road
Aftermarket Alarm

So I searched around and haven't seen anything specific mentioned since a early 2014 thread. Has anyone followed-up and actually installed a Viper or similar alarm to their Jeep?

I have the factory system with factory remote start in my 2015 Overland. The lack of true positive feed back (via remote) for remote starting, distance and other features a Viper provides in comparison are just too hard to overlook. The Uconnect is not a suitable replacement for cost and still lack of overall features (delay from what I've read) IMHO. Just curious as to what others experiences that have done it have been thus far.

I know something like the FLCAN ( Flashlogic - FLCAN) would be needed, but the 2015's have been out long enough it seems most of these companies have their programming available now.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-20-2015, 06:55 PM
ssgunner's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: So Cal
Posts: 962
Thanks: 19
Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
Rep Power: 2000
ssgunner has a reputation beyond reputessgunner has a reputation beyond reputessgunner has a reputation beyond reputessgunner has a reputation beyond reputessgunner has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Aftermarket Alarm

I had a similar question a while back. Seems now a days the aftermarket alarm systems are not that popular. At least not in this forum. I think most don't like the fact of having another fob (including me). I still am interested but for the price and dealing with another fob, idk. I can't really speak on the factory alarm other than it does what it is intended to but doubt it will sound off with a broken window. At least i don't think mine did when they broke in my $*(& last yr. Maybe someone will chime in and provide better insight as to the factory alarm.

Oh yea, i've been thinking bout getting a kill switch on mine. Lol. It's do-able for under $100 or so.
__________________
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4x2 5.7 HEMI MAX Steel>Build Date:Oct/13-Mods: Billet CC Blue, Searching for best exhaust option...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2015, 01:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 23 Posts
Rep Power: 3179
Wolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Aftermarket Alarm

so to answer YES. I highly recommed a Viper. I have a 5904 in my personal 14 GC.
I used a FLCAN (ads-alca).
Thsi module will allows you to control (arm and disarm) the VIPER with the factory FOB, as well as the button on the door, will arm and disarm the factory alarm AND the viper.

so you can get a full alarm, (and remote start if you want) and be able to contol it without having to carry an extra remote.

Make sure the shop you are having put it in, SOLDERS all connections, for most of the connections are canbus data, and a sub par connection can cause random malfunntions.

the whole install approx 7 wires connected to the vehicle. High Current power is not necessary although highly recommended. the FLCAN will contol almost everything via Data, or low current negative triggers. Hardest part about the install is getting to the wires.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-09-2015, 11:19 AM
ssgunner's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: So Cal
Posts: 962
Thanks: 19
Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
Rep Power: 2000
ssgunner has a reputation beyond reputessgunner has a reputation beyond reputessgunner has a reputation beyond reputessgunner has a reputation beyond reputessgunner has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Aftermarket Alarm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfz23 View Post
so to answer YES. I highly recommed a Viper. I have a 5904 in my personal 14 GC.
I used a FLCAN (ads-alca).
Thsi module will allows you to control (arm and disarm) the VIPER with the factory FOB, as well as the button on the door, will arm and disarm the factory alarm AND the viper.

so you can get a full alarm, (and remote start if you want) and be able to contol it without having to carry an extra remote.

Make sure the shop you are having put it in, SOLDERS all connections, for most of the connections are canbus data, and a sub par connection can cause random malfunntions.

the whole install approx 7 wires connected to the vehicle. High Current power is not necessary although highly recommended. the FLCAN will contol almost everything via Data, or low current negative triggers. Hardest part about the install is getting to the wires.
Interesting.
__________________
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4x2 5.7 HEMI MAX Steel>Build Date:Oct/13-Mods: Billet CC Blue, Searching for best exhaust option...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-10-2015, 01:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 23 Posts
Rep Power: 3179
Wolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond reputeWolfz23 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Aftermarket Alarm

I guess I should be a little more specific.

the FLCAN/ADS-ALCA needs to be connected in D2D mode (data 2 data) and the factory fob wont remote start the vehicle. but it will Lock/arm and unlock/disarm the viper (or python/clifford)
I personally have a DSM250 on it as well for phone control so I rarelyl carry my viper remote. if the alarm goes off, it texts me to let me know, and if I need to remote start it I just use the app on the phone. (app will also lock/unlock/rear hatch)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aftermarket Security alarm w/ original keyless dboses Audio/Visual/Navigation 4 11-23-2014 10:40 PM
No Fuse for Alarm? 2014 Overland Random Alarm Andoskyy Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 0 06-14-2013 09:41 AM
Bypass power Diesel fuel pump for aftermarket alarm peter.labis@gmail.com Tech Tips/DIY/How To 0 03-17-2013 04:57 PM
Aftermarket Alarm ekaz Audio/Visual/Navigation 2 12-17-2011 01:19 AM
Alarm Choices for WK. TimmyB Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 21 06-23-2009 05:53 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.