All-New and Easy-to-Use 'Uconnect Access' Services - Page 5 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #49  
Old 05-22-2015, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 264
Thanks: 17
Thanked 48 Times in 38 Posts
Rep Power: 7607
michaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond repute
Re: All-New and Easy-to-Use 'Uconnect Access' Services

Quote:
Originally Posted by john150 View Post
So for which model years will the new features be available?
the uconnect website now only mentions 15 models.
Originally it was vague and so implied 14's also- but not anymore.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #50  
Old 06-09-2015, 11:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 20
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1213
nyczhenry is on a distinguished road
Re: All-New and Easy-to-Use 'Uconnect Access' Services

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
the uconnect website now only mentions 15 models.
Originally it was vague and so implied 14's also- but not anymore.
i don't understand how it would available for 15's and not the 14's. isn't the radio the same?
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 06-09-2015, 12:30 PM
BlckWK2's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 794
Thanks: 144
Thanked 135 Times in 92 Posts
Rep Power: 2277
BlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: All-New and Easy-to-Use 'Uconnect Access' Services

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyczhenry View Post
i don't understand how it would available for 15's and not the 14's. isn't the radio the same?
No. From what we all understand there is a memory/storage change which may constitute why we are seeing the 14's left behind.....
__________________

Phil
14' Altitude
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #52  
Old 06-09-2015, 01:34 PM
GoPlzGo's Avatar
formerly 14summithemi
My Jeep: 2015 6.4L SRT WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 3,509
Thanks: 493
Thanked 665 Times in 546 Posts
Rep Power: 26135
GoPlzGo has a reputation beyond reputeGoPlzGo has a reputation beyond reputeGoPlzGo has a reputation beyond reputeGoPlzGo has a reputation beyond reputeGoPlzGo has a reputation beyond reputeGoPlzGo has a reputation beyond reputeGoPlzGo has a reputation beyond reputeGoPlzGo has a reputation beyond reputeGoPlzGo has a reputation beyond reputeGoPlzGo has a reputation beyond reputeGoPlzGo has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyczhenry View Post

i don't understand how it would available for 15's and not the 14's. isn't the radio the same?
MY15 8.4a/an part number is totally different than MY14. Its not the usual modded part with a migrated AA/AB/AC type part number. Hardware differences are also why they have non-interchangeable software updates.
__________________
'15 JGC SRT Bright White Red Vapor...Borla ATAK Cat-back w/ ceramic coated axle-back, aFe Momentum GT Pro 5R Stage-2 Intake & Billet Tech Oil Catch Can
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06-10-2015, 03:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 264
Thanks: 17
Thanked 48 Times in 38 Posts
Rep Power: 7607
michaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond repute
Re: All-New and Easy-to-Use 'Uconnect Access' Services

FYI- the CURRENT '15 software can work on '14 radios. the only thing that doesnt work is that they apparently also changed the media hub (which is just a USB device) and they didn't include the '14 drivers in the '15 software. If both sets of drivers were included in teh software image then one version MIGHT be able to work on either.

Customtronix has gotten it to work. Various "average joe's" have accidently installed the '15 software and it runs but fubar's the gps apparently.

So at the present time it looks like the only reason the 14's haven't gotten the same features as the 15's is a choice FCA made. It's possible future features that haven't been enabled yet would require whatever new hardware is required in the 15's. (although since the only different feature seems to be a monthly report i guess maybe there's a can bus interaction that might be missing on the 14???)


As far as memory/storage- the original (aka 14) hardware had a pretty decent chunk of storage- so not sure that would be a limiter just yet. Also Customtronix has stated it's 'the exact same hardware'- I suspect the things they can see by diggin in the QNX OS like processor, memory, etc are the same but there's some other hardware in there that has a new revision- for example seems the GPS is different since it gets borked when you put the 15 software on a 14.

The 14.25.5 software looks to be well under a gig. The map database might be 3-5 gigs (not sure anyone has posted yet). 2013-2014 UConnect 2: the next generation says the 512MB ram and 16 MB of storage as an example. So storage doesn't look to be an issue. I guess the memory could be if just 512 but we'd have to figure out if the 15 really does have more or not.

if someone has a couple extra g's floating around they can buy one of each and then compare the chipsets and we can see if there's any obvious differences. That might confirm that the CPU/SOC, memory, and storage are or aren't the same. But unless they are stamped with different info i'm not sure you would notice a change in sat radio, gps, canbus, or other special purpose sort of chips.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
uconnect

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anything different about UConnect 8.4 radio RA3 and UConnect Access Via Mobile REDDIZE Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 4 08-19-2014 11:55 PM
Services 20115.7 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 6 06-25-2014 07:30 AM
easy seat access not working TonyTJ Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 2 11-11-2013 12:01 AM
what services should i have done ?? jdubgrand Grand Cherokee - WK 13 01-05-2010 12:37 PM

» Premium Vendor Showcase
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.