Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-28-2013, 10:54 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 682
cfleming2226 is on a distinguished road
Amp Install

Hi All -

Just received my JL stealth box ... WooHoo

Few quick questions:

1. When running the power line for the amp, where is the easiest/best place to run through the fire wall?

2. If you have an amp installed, where did you mount (using Fosgate P700-1BD)?

3. Where did you run the remote wire to (I was thinking of using the power outlet in back) ?

4. Running a high end converter, did you just tap in off the stock sub line?

Thanks !
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2013, 10:58 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 637
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 2681
eibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond reputeeibyer has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Amp Install

The battery is under the seat so you're not going through the firewall (that much I know LOL). I just realized you're in AZ, I'd like to check out that stealthbox when you get it installed
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2013, 11:08 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 682
cfleming2226 is on a distinguished road
Re: Amp Install

Quote:
Originally Posted by eibyer View Post
The battery is under the seat so you're not going through the firewall (that much I know LOL). I just realized you're in AZ, I'd like to check out that stealthbox when you get it installed
No $hit! I had no idea battery was under the seat... makes that a bit easier ... i think! Gladly, also installing Lockpick ... we will see how it all goes
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2013, 12:30 PM
Madanio24's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Eastern Shore MD/NJ/NY
Posts: 1,953
Thanks: 22
Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
Rep Power: 11332
Madanio24 has a reputation beyond reputeMadanio24 has a reputation beyond reputeMadanio24 has a reputation beyond reputeMadanio24 has a reputation beyond reputeMadanio24 has a reputation beyond reputeMadanio24 has a reputation beyond reputeMadanio24 has a reputation beyond reputeMadanio24 has a reputation beyond reputeMadanio24 has a reputation beyond reputeMadanio24 has a reputation beyond reputeMadanio24 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to Madanio24
Re: Amp Install

Your remote wire should go to a 12v shiwtched power source. I have done a few installas on hondas using a LOC and i taped into the switched cigarette lighter which turns on with the key in the on position. I think the back cig lighter stays on all the tiem so that will not be an option. For the line out converter you should be able to tap into the sub line or you can use a normal speaker line if they are recieving full range signal
__________________
Matt
-05 WK Black
Too many mods to list...
-90 Integra GS
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2013, 04:35 PM
RageOfFury's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,372
Thanks: 97
Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 11250
RageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Amp Install

cfleming2226 do you have the 6 or 9 speaker setup?
__________________
2011 WK2 Laredo E V6 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2013, 10:41 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 682
cfleming2226 is on a distinguished road
Re: Amp Install

Quote:
Originally Posted by RageOfFury View Post
cfleming2226 do you have the 6 or 9 speaker setup?
9 speaker
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2013, 11:15 AM
Break20's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 630
Break20 is on a distinguished road
Don't forget an inline fuse at the battery. Also hook into an accessory at the fuse box for yor remote. Not sure how your factory stuff is set up but also make sure you run your rca's and power on opposite sides of the car to avoid noise distortion.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2013, 05:10 PM
RageOfFury's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,372
Thanks: 97
Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 11250
RageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Amp Install

Hmmm I don't have any experiencing tapping into the "Alpine" 9-speaker system. Sorry.
__________________
2011 WK2 Laredo E V6 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2013, 05:16 PM
subbie09's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 590
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 3520
subbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond repute
For a full range signal to the converter you must tap the tweeters, front doors, and and sub. That will give you a full range.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-28-2013, 12:08 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1712
jhedman2 is on a distinguished road
Re: Amp Install

so how do you like the stealthbox? i'm considering one just because they are so clean, but car toys says they will build one basically identical for $470 and i already have a 10w3 from my previous WK. The stealthboxes are great but man are they pricey and JL won't sell them without a driver. (DUMB). Was it worth it over the stock system?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-28-2013, 01:51 PM
subbie09's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 590
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 3520
subbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond reputesubbie09 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhedman2 View Post
so how do you like the stealthbox? i'm considering one just because they are so clean, but car toys says they will build one basically identical for $470 and i already have a 10w3 from my previous WK. The stealthboxes are great but man are they pricey and JL won't sell them without a driver. (DUMB). Was it worth it over the stock system?
Love it. I love it so much I upgraded my headunit too and now have a clear direct signal. The stealthbox sq is amazing.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub and amp install with base sound and 730N gc4x4 Audio/Visual/Navigation 7 05-31-2013 09:30 PM
Amp Install to my Factory radio? jeepcherokeeAbq84 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 5 08-30-2012 08:49 AM
2011 amp install wcrstereo 2011+ Dodge Durango-WD 0 06-04-2012 01:12 PM
K&N, Bright Pedals & Slush Mat Install mhassler Tech Tips/DIY/How To 12 06-06-2011 09:09 AM
STEREO Install - Sub/Amp 08Hemi Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 26 01-03-2011 09:44 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community