Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-15-2013, 06:33 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 158
Thanks: 36
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 449
Jjhohan is on a distinguished road
Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios

__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2013, 06:35 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 158
Thanks: 36
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 449
Jjhohan is on a distinguished road
Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios

ok the apps don't run on the Uconnect OS..rather this appears to be an android addon device of somesort? using the Uconnect display...to allow the touch control and use of an android system and all its apps.

How does it all work ??
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2013, 11:42 AM
StaticFX's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 683
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 1105
StaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios

yeah, seeing as that they didnt click something on the radio to get to the android apps. This looks to be just using the radio as a display.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2013, 10:57 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 158
Thanks: 36
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 449
Jjhohan is on a distinguished road
Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios

Yeah I can hear a switch click at the start of the android display as though changing input.

Still it gives internet, email, all android apps, video, and navigation..not a bad add on.

Just like to know..
A) what android device is he using? and
B) how does it interface correctly and work with the touchscreen? I imagine this would be pricey.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2013, 07:11 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 158
Thanks: 36
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 449
Jjhohan is on a distinguished road
Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios

Does the Harman Uconnect have - A 4 wire Resistive Touch Panel ?????

If so...then I 'think' a way this could be working is to use an android tablet and connect its 4 wire touch display connection into the Uconnect system/4wire touch display connection....then the Video from the tablet to a Video input into the Uconnect using one of the many available Video input units (lockpick, navtv, hi-tv etc)...somehow you would have to switch that 4 wire 'link' off when switching between the android display and the Uconnect display....(relay/switch?)..then the last part of the puzzle would be audio...assume a cable would suffice..or pair the tablet for Bluetooth audio streaming.

Now all this theory is easily shot to hell ..if the Harman 8.4 Uconnect resistive touch screen does NOT use a standard 4 Wire Touch screen connection ???
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2013, 08:33 AM
CLStech's Avatar
Connell
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: RTP, NC
Posts: 863
Thanks: 275
Thanked 103 Times in 81 Posts
Rep Power: 1545213
CLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios

This does not seem to be mirror of a connected phone. This seems to be a system similar to lockpic that is running android. Pretty neat idea.

Given that the lockpic can be controlled from the touchscreen it seems this concept is not far off. i'd like the interface to be a little cleaner but this is an excellent start.
Video shows a Dodge Ram 2013 Uconnect 8.4A that we have added android system to.
Share your phones internet (WIFI HOT SPOOT) with the android system
and access Internet/Facebook/Youtube/Navigation or any app you whant.

2 video inputs can also be added like front camera etc .

Audio from the android system can be intergrated to the factory speaker system with a AUX cabel or with a Bluetooth transmitter /FM Transmitter external speaker is included.

Android system/ video inputs is turned on with the steering whell button or the included external button

For price Contact us at Carperformance@telia.com or visit our website www.Carperformance.se (opening soon)
__________________
The Albino: 2014 SRT Grand Cherokee
Bright White - Black/Sepia - Black Chrome - Tow Package - High Performance Audio - Pano Roof
*Debadged | Black Reflective Hitch Insert | Black Vinyl Wrapped Roof | Billet Technology Catch Can & Accesories | Injen Intake | LED Interior Swap | LED Puddle/Entry Lighting | Lower Grill Badge | Tint | 6000K Headlights | 3000K Foglights | Eibach Lowering Springs | Headlight DRL Mod | RAX Jailbreak*
Instagram: CLStech
Twitter: CLStech
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2013, 08:46 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 158
Thanks: 36
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 449
Jjhohan is on a distinguished road
Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios

Cost is 1399Euros ...and another problem...you have to send your radio to them !

I don't think the car would run without it ?
And then there is the risk....hopefully someone local could do this.

Im thinking Im not far wrong on how they are doing this...the lockpick might be in there but to get either a standalone Navigation device working via touch or Android I think they are hacking the Uconnect Touchscreen...anyone else thoughts on this ?

See this Navigation only Video by the same guy/company

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2013, 09:01 AM
CLStech's Avatar
Connell
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: RTP, NC
Posts: 863
Thanks: 275
Thanked 103 Times in 81 Posts
Rep Power: 1545213
CLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond reputeCLStech has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios

The newest lockpic for 2014+ "hacks the uconnect touchscreen". I say this because if you go into your camera viewing modes you can press different parts of the screen to activate different inputs. (see page 8&9 of lockpic manual

This would be very similar to getting the touch screen information on whatever device is running the android OS. Not saying that the lockpic is being used but similar integration methods are being used.
__________________
The Albino: 2014 SRT Grand Cherokee
Bright White - Black/Sepia - Black Chrome - Tow Package - High Performance Audio - Pano Roof
*Debadged | Black Reflective Hitch Insert | Black Vinyl Wrapped Roof | Billet Technology Catch Can & Accesories | Injen Intake | LED Interior Swap | LED Puddle/Entry Lighting | Lower Grill Badge | Tint | 6000K Headlights | 3000K Foglights | Eibach Lowering Springs | Headlight DRL Mod | RAX Jailbreak*
Instagram: CLStech
Twitter: CLStech
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CLStech For This Useful Post:
  #9  
Old 12-16-2013, 05:14 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 158
Thanks: 36
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 449
Jjhohan is on a distinguished road
Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios

Yes ! Nice find CLStech ...I also hadn't realised that the lockpic allows the playing of 'some?' ipod/ipad apps as well...including video.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-17-2013, 12:48 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 158
Thanks: 36
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 449
Jjhohan is on a distinguished road
Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios

Can anyone recognise the Android OS being used?

... (see the video) it has the up/down buttons to navigate the available apps.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-19-2014, 02:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 73
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 401
argue4u is on a distinguished road
Re: Android Apps now able to run on RA3/RJ3 Radios

Has anyone tried this?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help on Replacement Radios JustDontBlink Audio/Visual/Navigation 9 04-11-2014 11:08 AM
Travel link on a 8.4A RA3? Sleestak Audio/Visual/Navigation 10 12-20-2013 01:52 PM
Laredo with RA3...Activate Nav or No? DanPorges Audio/Visual/Navigation 7 10-03-2013 11:25 AM
hi, help about radios tropick Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 4 04-15-2011 01:37 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community