Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 05-13-2014, 11:20 AM
Willx's Avatar
Moderator - MOTS jr.


My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4,884
Thanks: 529
Thanked 861 Times in 470 Posts
Rep Power: 1927148
Willx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Did it have the Purple dot on it (Factory Refurb)? Actually if you don't mind maybe post the Julian date code.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-13-2014, 12:26 PM
pinetar's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sierra NV
Posts: 914
Thanks: 2
Thanked 46 Times in 43 Posts
Rep Power: 1830
pinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

995 is a bit more reasonable. Still interested.
__________________

__________________

BLOO WK2 '14 - True Blue - Laredo E - V6 - ORA I - QT II
-
*GY Adventure ATs : Summer / *Blizzaks : Winter / Moab & Stock 17's
/ Gibson Axle Back / aFe drop-in / Tinted Tails with VLEDS / Black Trim ... *265/65/17
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-13-2014, 02:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 48
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 925
tratpop is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Another question for you.....did you add the back-up camera also? Did you notice any preexisting wiring on the truck for the back-up camera?

-trat
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-13-2014, 03:30 PM
mrkonow's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 138
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1767
mrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond repute
Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

I'm almost done with the camera Installation. All I need to do is to run the wires to the back of the radio. They aren't present at the harness. And of course, to take it to the dealer to have them add the sales code. I also posted some pictures of my progress at Dan's camera install thread.

I want to see the service advisor's reaction when he sees the RA4 installed. He once told me that I needed to replace the entire dash and vehicle wiring along with some modules.



Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-15-2014, 04:52 PM
mrkonow's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 138
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1767
mrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

More updates:

I updated to the latest firmware. Those who already owned the 8.4 radios probably already knew about the color scheme was blue, and at some point they changed it to red.
ImageUploadedByJeepGarage1400190596.982242.jpg

Before I updated, every time that I went to the uConnect store, it failed.
ImageUploadedByJeepGarage1400190566.850096.jpg

After the update, (no crash) It keeps doing this:
ImageUploadedByJeepGarage1400190583.099546.jpg

A picture of turn by turn navigation on the EVIC. This is awesome!!
ImageUploadedByJeepGarage1400190627.732399.jpg

By request, this is the radio harness plug on a LAREDO E
ImageUploadedByJeepGarage1400190663.616009.jpg

Last, if you want to do this upgrade, make sure that you have the bezel with the correct switches at the bottom row. The bezel that came with the radio has the 3 buttons PARK ASSIST-ECO-TC. The correct part number for the 8.4 bezel with 2 buttons is 56054383AE. I tried to swap the circuit board for the controller without luck. For the 5" bezel circuit board controller, the Volume controls and the Climate controls could be swapped with minor modifications, however the bottom row won't fit/align at all on the 8.4 bezel, because the 5" board is longer.
ImageUploadedByJeepGarage1400190698.948875.jpg

I also activated SiriusXM with traffic and weather.

One thing that I noticed, is the radio seems to adapt/learn to the features on my Jeep. I think at first boot it showed the Ventilated seats option(probably the donor vehicle had it) and some other features that i can't remember. Then after a couple hours when i went out, I was checking and the ventilated seats option wasn't there anymore and everything else match my options.



Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mrkonow For This Useful Post:
  #18  
Old 05-17-2014, 11:07 AM
Willx's Avatar
Moderator - MOTS jr.


My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4,884
Thanks: 529
Thanked 861 Times in 470 Posts
Rep Power: 1927148
Willx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkonow View Post
More updates:

I updated to the latest firmware. Those who already owned the 8.4 radios probably already knew about the color scheme was blue, and at some point they changed it to red.

One thing that I noticed, is the radio seems to adapt/learn to the features on my Jeep. I think at first boot it showed the Ventilated seats option(probably the donor vehicle had it) and some other features that i can't remember. Then after a couple hours when i went out, I was checking and the ventilated seats option wasn't there anymore and everything else match my options.



Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Very cool, some notes on what I know is happening.

-Themes and Skins are adapted from the vehicle identifiers.
-Module identification takes up to an hour and can happen even with the vehicle off.
-If you do a Factory reset, they often start as Jeep SRTs then learn back to what vehicle you have.
-Not sure on the Cell thing... depending on the radio it may or may not have the Sierra Wireless card in it. If that radio is from ANY other region than USA, the card is not there or physically disabled (for example a Canadian Radio).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-17-2014, 11:55 AM
mrkonow's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 138
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1767
mrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Do you know what is the pink antenna plug on the back of the radio?


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-17-2014, 02:41 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: queen NY
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 470
dromano424 is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

I pulled my radio today to see if I had the red antenna Plug. I also found a blue plug that was not connected to anything. . Does anyone know what it's for.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20140517_152412.jpg (512.6 KB, 39 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-17-2014, 04:17 PM
Willx's Avatar
Moderator - MOTS jr.


My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4,884
Thanks: 529
Thanked 861 Times in 470 Posts
Rep Power: 1927148
Willx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkonow View Post
Do you know what is the pink antenna plug on the back of the radio?

Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
I can look those up.... I have some documentation on that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-18-2014, 12:57 AM
mrkonow's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 138
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1767
mrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by dromano424 View Post
I pulled my radio today to see if I had the red antenna Plug. I also found a blue plug that was not connected to anything. . Does anyone know what it's for.

What is your Grand Cherokee trim?


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-18-2014, 08:25 AM
shthpns22's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Charleston, South Carolina
Posts: 39
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 552
shthpns22 is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Does the screen have to come from a Grand Cherokee or can one of the 8.4 screens from a Ram work as well?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-18-2014, 08:31 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: queen NY
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 470
dromano424 is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkonow View Post
What is your Grand Cherokee trim?


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Laredo E
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dromano424 For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
ra4

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RA2 (5" screen version) vs RA3/RA4 ?? Abacus Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 9 05-12-2014 04:23 PM
2014 GC Laredo HID upgrade or bulb upgrade? 2014Laredo Interior/Exterior/Visual 5 12-29-2013 10:22 AM
GC '14 Laredo RA2 iPhone bluetooth problems mikati Audio/Visual/Navigation 4 07-20-2013 10:30 PM
Another day another Mod CatMan879 Interior/Exterior/Visual 7 05-10-2012 09:07 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.