Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #25  
Old 05-18-2014, 10:23 PM
mrkonow's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 134
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1666
mrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by shthpns22 View Post
Does the screen have to come from a Grand Cherokee or can one of the 8.4 screens from a Ram work as well?
When i was talking with the seller, he told me that each manufacturer had their own models.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-18-2014, 10:34 PM
mrkonow's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 134
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1666
mrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willx View Post
I can look those up.... I have some documentation on that.
Thank you. If you could please post general info regarding these different antenna connectors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dromano424 View Post
Laredo E
This is interesting. I also have a Laredo E with sunroof and power lift gate and I never saw this Blue connector. It could be loose behind the dash, or my Jeep wasn't pre-wired at all with the blue.

Do you have any extra options in your Jeep and do you have a shark fin antenna?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-19-2014, 05:49 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: queen NY
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 369
dromano424 is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkonow View Post
Thank you. If you could please post general info regarding these different antenna connectors.


This is interesting. I also have a Laredo E with sunroof and power lift gate and I never saw this Blue connector. It could be loose behind the dash, or my Jeep wasn't pre-wired at all with the blue.

Do you have any extra options in your Jeep and do you have a shark fin antenna?
I have the cd player which I never used. It could have came out when I pulled the radio. I'LL check if the cd player is working later when I get out of work and I do have the shark fin
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-19-2014, 05:10 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: queen NY
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 369
dromano424 is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

I checked and the cd player is working.. so I don't know what the blue cable is for
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-21-2014, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 197
ccroeder is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

[QUOTE=mrkonow;1022907]More updates:

I updated to the latest firmware. Those who already owned the 8.4 radios probably already knew about the color scheme was blue, and at some point they changed it to red.
Attachment 39769

Before I updated, every time that I went to the uConnect store, it failed.
Attachment 39767

After the update, (no crash) It keeps doing this:
Attachment 39768

Did the uConnect store ever start working for you?


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-21-2014, 11:09 PM
mrkonow's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 134
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1666
mrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Negative, however the Travel Link works. The issue is opening the uConnect store. I have been trying to troubleshoot this without luck. I was thinking of unplugging the battery for 10 minutes or maybe a radio hard reset.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 05-23-2014, 09:08 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: queen NY
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 369
dromano424 is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkonow View Post
More updates:

I updated to the latest firmware. Those who already owned the 8.4 radios probably already knew about the color scheme was blue, and at some point they changed it to red.
Attachment 39769

Before I updated, every time that I went to the uConnect store, it failed.
Attachment 39767

After the update, (no crash) It keeps doing this:
Attachment 39768

A picture of turn by turn navigation on the EVIC. This is awesome!!
Attachment 39770

By request, this is the radio harness plug on a LAREDO E
Attachment 39771

Last, if you want to do this upgrade, make sure that you have the bezel with the correct switches at the bottom row. The bezel that came with the radio has the 3 buttons PARK ASSIST-ECO-TC. The correct part number for the 8.4 bezel with 2 buttons is 56054383AE. I tried to swap the circuit board for the controller without luck. For the 5" bezel circuit board controller, the Volume controls and the Climate controls could be swapped with minor modifications, however the bottom row won't fit/align at all on the 8.4 bezel, because the 5" board is longer.
Attachment 39772

I also activated SiriusXM with traffic and weather.

One thing that I noticed, is the radio seems to adapt/learn to the features on my Jeep. I think at first boot it showed the Ventilated seats option(probably the donor vehicle had it) and some other features that i can't remember. Then after a couple hours when i went out, I was checking and the ventilated seats option wasn't there anymore and everything else match my options.



Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
How did you updated the software. I installed mine today and wanted to update the software but when I try the uconnect site it gives me the updated for the old 5in screen?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-24-2014, 01:21 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 834
Thanks: 5
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
Rep Power: 127172
loveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by dromano424 View Post
How did you updated the software. I installed mine today and wanted to update the software but when I try the uconnect site it gives me the updated for the old 5in screen?
If you become a premium member on here there is a sub forum for updates. Otherwise you will have to find a vin with the correct radio and use that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-24-2014, 03:21 AM
mrkonow's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 134
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1666
mrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Whom did you get the radio from?? The seller should have provided the VIN from the donor vehicle. Then you should use this VIN at the uconnect site and follow the update steps.

Also when you update, at some point it will say something like "PLEASE INSERT USB DRIVE" This will happen sometime at the middle of the update. Don't worry and don't touch anything and don't try to remove and re-insert the thumb drive.... it will resume the update after one minute or so.

Now just some questions about your ride:

What firmware version are you currently on? Did you get the uConnect store to open and were you able to register a new account? Please post one picture of your radio installed with bezel. Thanks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-24-2014, 10:13 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: queen NY
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 369
dromano424 is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkonow View Post
Whom did you get the radio from?? The seller should have provided the VIN from the donor vehicle. Then you should use this VIN at the uconnect site and follow the update steps.

Also when you update, at some point it will say something like "PLEASE INSERT USB DRIVE" This will happen sometime at the middle of the update. Don't worry and don't touch anything and don't try to remove and re-insert the thumb drive.... it will resume the update after one minute or so.

Now just some questions about your ride:

What firmware version are you currently on? Did you get the uConnect store to open and were you able to register a new account? Please post one picture of your radio installed with bezel. Thanks.
I got it from the same seller u got it from. He sent me the Vin number 20 mins after I posted this. The radio came with the 13.32.7 version of the software. I have not been able to open the uconnect store or register a new account. IL try it again when I updated the software
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20140522_200742.jpg (524.1 KB, 36 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-25-2014, 09:35 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: queen NY
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 369
dromano424 is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

I updated the software and I still cannot connect to the uConnect store or apps. I keep getting the same message. Does anyone think that there is a code that needs to be flashed for it to work.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20140524_125017.jpg (525.9 KB, 35 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-27-2014, 10:04 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: queen NY
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 369
dromano424 is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

I can't seem to get the turn by turn to work on the evic. I looked everywhere in the settings and there's nothing.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ra4

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RA2 (5" screen version) vs RA3/RA4 ?? Abacus Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 9 05-12-2014 04:23 PM
2014 GC Laredo HID upgrade or bulb upgrade? 2014Laredo Interior/Exterior/Visual 5 12-29-2013 10:22 AM
GC '14 Laredo RA2 iPhone bluetooth problems mikati Audio/Visual/Navigation 4 07-20-2013 10:30 PM
Another day another Mod CatMan879 Interior/Exterior/Visual 7 05-10-2012 09:07 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community