Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread - Page 7 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #73  
Old 09-12-2014, 06:06 PM
pinetar's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sierra NV
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 20
Thanked 134 Times in 108 Posts
Rep Power: 3057
pinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Okay, here's a quick question for those here who've done the swap and/or may just know.

If I am only trying to upgrade from an RA2 to an RA3 unit (sans NAV), will this bezel work (#56054382AF), which doesn't have the PARKING ASSIST button and is unlike the bezel that mrkonow used (#56054383AE)?




It has the housing for the 8.4 screen, but wasn't sure if it would cooperate with the RA3? I'm guessing this is just the one that comes with those that have the RA3 and no parking assist feature, but not positive.

Any help or insight is appreciated. Thanks, everyone.

__________________
BLOO > Traded in for '16 4runner

Thanks for all the info about Heeps from the community!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #74  
Old 09-17-2014, 11:50 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
bpearson85 is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

I have a '14 Laredo E, 5.0 RA2 standard, and I performed the upgrade to the 8.4AN, and everything works great. Surprisingly, it's literally plug and play with the same connector, same mounting screws, etc. I did have to remove the 2 A/C vents from the old bezel and switch them over to the new.

My jeep did not come with the Uconnect standard, and therefore, is missing the emergency button on the mirror, as well as some other features that are more likely on the more expensive jeeps. I'm still working on getting Uconnect and via mobile access to work in any useful way (the Uconnect support told me that regardless of what radio is in the car, if the car isn't uconnect compatible, you can't use Uconnect. Presumably, this involves additional circuitry in the car (cellular card or something) that Uconnect needs. I hear there's a workaround for it, but the jury is still out on that.

Otherwise, it was about a 20 minute swap, and I couldn't be happier with the results.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 09-23-2014, 10:02 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1058
Jeff43 is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

I installed the ra4 that I bought, but cannot get the turn by turn from the nav on the evic. Has anyone got that to work after the install? I cannot find an option to enable it in the settings.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #76  
Old 09-24-2014, 09:17 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
bpearson85 is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

The setting says something like "show directions in cluster", and it's in the settings on the GPS unit, not the settings on the EVIC. I can't remember if it's in the navigation settings, or the "settings" found under "apps." It's definitely a setting on the nav/radio, though. You'll also have to be navigating somewhere for anything to show up.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 10-05-2014, 06:22 AM
Hitchhiking
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,264
Thanks: 9
Thanked 199 Times in 170 Posts
Rep Power: 0
skunkd is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff43 View Post
I installed the ra4 that I bought, but cannot get the turn by turn from the nav on the evic. Has anyone got that to work after the install? I cannot find an option to enable it in the settings.
try factory resetting the unit if you don't get it working.

Anyone do this on a 2015 yet ? I want to do RA3 to RA4 on my 2015 but not sure it will work since apparently 2015's dont accept the same update files as the 2014's.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 06-01-2015, 03:01 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
alkerm86 is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

I got the same radio wiring as urs any clue?
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 06-01-2015, 03:02 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
alkerm86 is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by gayazgaffoor View Post
Thank You for the write up...it was very informative but unfortunately I still have an issue with my radio reception.
Yes I do have a Jeep grand cherokee which had the 5.0" RA2. I am in touch with the ra4 seller and trying to sort out the issue. I guess has something called the rb versions instead do the ra ones:-0
I also need to work on the map update for the Middle East!!!
Once again I appreciate your support.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Hi

I bought a new jeep grand cherokee laredo with ra2 radio and the wiring of this radio is same as urs. Did u manage to get your radio fixed? does the GPS work with middle east maps? Did u install any new antenna? does the turn by turn navigation appear on the cluster?


Sorry for lots of questions but i would like to upgrade and make sure that things will be fine before i buy the radio

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 07-13-2015, 06:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1950
kar1zma is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

looking to get this done

do i need to change the bezel as well?
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 07-14-2015, 07:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 40
Thanks: 24
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1097
gayazgaffoor is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by alkerm86 View Post
Hi



I bought a new jeep grand cherokee laredo with ra2 radio and the wiring of this radio is same as urs. Did u manage to get your radio fixed? does the GPS work with middle east maps? Did u install any new antenna? does the turn by turn navigation appear on the cluster?





Sorry for lots of questions but i would like to upgrade and make sure that things will be fine before i buy the radio



Thanks in advance

Hello Alkerm,
Everything except the compass, radio and navigation works! It definitely changes the way the interior looks though.
I don't think the antenna needs to be changed, since the radio and compass works once a hard reset is done. So I guess all the hardwares are in place. It's just about the software.
Since navigation is not working, the turn by turn also does not work :-(
I'm still trying to figure out a way to make these work. Will keep you posted...
Regards
Gayaz


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 07-14-2015, 07:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 40
Thanks: 24
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1097
gayazgaffoor is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by kar1zma View Post
looking to get this done



do i need to change the bezel as well?

Hello kar1zma,
The bezel need not be changed. The kit comes with the bezel including the HVAC controls. The hardware installation is basic plug and play.

Regards
Gayaz


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 07-15-2015, 04:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1950
kar1zma is on a distinguished road
Re: Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by gayazgaffoor View Post
Hello kar1zma,
The bezel need not be changed. The kit comes with the bezel including the HVAC controls. The hardware installation is basic plug and play.

Regards
Gayaz


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
im in saudi
and i will be looking for a unit locally
if i dont find one i will search on ebay

there is a way to piggyback the maps on the usa radios on the older
2011-2014 charger and 300c
it has been proven to work

i wonder if it will work on the jeep radios
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 07-20-2015, 04:45 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 0
tsedlock is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by gayazgaffoor View Post

Hello kar1zma,
The bezel need not be changed. The kit comes with the bezel including the HVAC controls. The hardware installation is basic plug and play.

Regards
Gayaz

Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
We're do you get the kit from I have a 14 limited looking to upgrade to the 8.4 and trying to figure out how to do it
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tsedlock For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
ra4

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RA2 (5" screen version) vs RA3/RA4 ?? Abacus Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 9 05-12-2014 04:23 PM
2014 GC Laredo HID upgrade or bulb upgrade? 2014Laredo Interior/Exterior/Visual/Lighting 5 12-29-2013 09:22 AM
GC '14 Laredo RA2 iPhone bluetooth problems mikati Audio/Visual/Navigation 4 07-20-2013 10:30 PM
Another day another Mod CatMan879 Interior/Exterior/Visual/Lighting 7 05-10-2012 09:07 PM

» Premium Vendor Showcase
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.