Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-04-2012, 11:47 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.8L JK
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 258
Thanks: 16
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 4420
JDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond repute
Anyone add a back-up camera?

I added the 430N radio to my JGC a few weeks ago and tonight, I added the back-up camera that is installed into the lightbar. (It's a kit you can order, if you didn't know.)

When following the instructions, you have to pull a ton of trim pieces and run a harness to the front to the radio obviously. This is a couple of hours worth of work.

What I found after running the harness all the way up front was that the new harness has the same connector with 3 pins in the connector as the factory one does in the same location.

Is it possible that all 2012 JGC's are pre-wired (for cost reduction using less variances of harnesses) in the harness for this option since most GC's has the back-up camera installed at the factory?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2012, 04:48 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.8L JK
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 258
Thanks: 16
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 4420
JDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?

Well, today I can answer my own question..

No, you have to use the supplied harness with the kit.. The installed harness does nothing. When they activated the camera in the radio, there was no signal, so the supplied harness had to be used and viola!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2012, 07:00 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
rsrobinson2 is on a distinguished road
Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?

i had recently bought the kit and my dealer told me it wouldn't work. is it possible they didn't use the supplied cable. It does show that there is a camera, but no picture from behind.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2012, 05:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1445
pnwsnow is on a distinguished road
Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDrew View Post
Well, today I can answer my own question..

No, you have to use the supplied harness with the kit.. The installed harness does nothing. When they activated the camera in the radio, there was no signal, so the supplied harness had to be used and viola!

What pins go in which spots at the camera end of the cable. The harness has 4 and the camera side has 5.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2012, 08:36 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.8L JK
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 258
Thanks: 16
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 4420
JDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?

Honestly, I dont remember.. I would have to see the manual again. I can tell you that the schematic that came with it shows at the bottom of the diagram which ones you need to pin. The have numbers on the supplied black connector for the camera side and then the numbers on the schematic to show what wire goes into what numbered pin.. I wish I could help more, but I cant remember exactly the pins and wires.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2012, 07:04 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
rsrobinson2 is on a distinguished road
Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?

if anyone figures out the pin connection pattern could you please post it. My dealer is having trouble with the pin connections.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2012, 07:31 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.8L JK
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 258
Thanks: 16
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 4420
JDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?

I'm guessing either they haven't looked at the install manual or yours didn't come with one. Here's a link to it: http://site.justforjeeps.com/guide/82212110.pdf

Pages #5 shows the schematic for the pins.

A black connector with no wires should have come with your kit. On the back of the connector, there are very small numbers like you will see in the schematic. (The black connector that plugs into the camera harness is NOT pictured in the manual, but two other connectors are.)

The black harness for the kit has 4 wires. White/light green tracer, Gray/Light Blue Tracer, Gray/Orange Tracer and Black solid.

White/Light Green Tracer goes into pin #1.
Gray/Light Blue goes into pin #3
Gray/Orange goes into pin #2
Black goes into pin #6

Since they couldn't figure out that connector, I'll explain the other one that plugs into your radio too.

The connector that will plug into your radio will be white. One of those should have come with your kit as well.

It also has numbers on it on all 4 corner for reference and is pictured in the manual.

The pins are as follows:

Gray/Light Blue goes into pin #3
Gray/Orange goes into pin #4
Shield goes into pin #5

Hope that helps!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2012, 08:50 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
rsrobinson2 is on a distinguished road
Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?

Thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-15-2012, 03:16 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 337
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1527
Tybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDrew View Post
Well, today I can answer my own question..

No, you have to use the supplied harness with the kit.. The installed harness does nothing. When they activated the camera in the radio, there was no signal, so the supplied harness had to be used and viola!
Probably an obvious question...

Was the factory pre-installed harness pinned the same as your functioning harness (after you pinned it)?
__________________
2012 Overland V6
Deep Cherry Red w/Saddle & Black
OEM Crossbars
Thule Criterium Bike Rack
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-15-2012, 03:16 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.8L JK
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 258
Thanks: 16
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 4420
JDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond reputeJDrew has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?

yes
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-15-2012, 03:23 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 337
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1527
Tybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?

Well, THAT'S annoying....

I really dislike when things that should work, don't. Glad you got it going anyway.
__________________
2012 Overland V6
Deep Cherry Red w/Saddle & Black
OEM Crossbars
Thule Criterium Bike Rack
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-29-2012, 04:04 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 820
solodogg is on a distinguished road
Re: Anyone add a back-up camera?

is there a possibility that the harness running from the back to the front is the same, but the factory radio harness does not have power to the camera? i can't imagine a harness being there that's not in use, with the same pins that is terminated somewhere.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to solodogg For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
retrofitting factory back up camera. fnkychkn Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 0 06-23-2011 12:58 PM
Add backup camera to 430N one11sgt Audio/Visual/Navigation 2 04-06-2011 11:46 AM
Back-up Camera install Puppetmaster_sr Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 10 07-14-2009 09:17 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community