BlckWK2 RA3 to RA4 Upgrade (2014 Altitude) - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-17-2014, 09:13 AM
BlckWK2's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 775
Thanks: 134
Thanked 131 Times in 88 Posts
Rep Power: 2051
BlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Thumbs up BlckWK2 RA3 to RA4 Upgrade (2014 Altitude)

Hi everyone. First I am giving credit to "maxbear3145" for making a thread on the RA3 to RA4 update. You can find that thread here: 1st Mod : Nav - RA3 to RA4

My experience went just as smoothly and I am very pleased with the result. First, I have a 2014 JGC Altitude which comes stock with the RA3. I was about the pull the trigger on dealer Navigation update ($595) but read about the seamless swap of the RA3 to RA4 system. I obtained my RA4 through the eBay seller "daimlerfinancial". This person is totally legit with 100% positive feedback. The cost difference between dealer update and the RA4 swap was not even $200. I decided for the hard swap in order to obtain the upgraded features that the RA4 provides (HD Radio = AWESOME, 3D Maps, etc...). If anything it was worth it for the HD radio.

I received the RA4 in 2 days after purchase. Within 15 minutes my RA3 was removed and the RA4 was in its place. It was so easy, directly unplug from RA3 and plug into same colored connections on RA4. DONE.

RA4 RADIO:
BlckWK2_RA4_002.jpg

RA4 RADIO INSTALLED:
BlckWK2_RA4_003.JPG


After installation turned on the Jeep and found that Sirius, 911 button, and Uconnect was not working. I also was not able to pair my iPhone. I figured that this may be directly related to having the older software version and it did require an update to the latest software.

Unfortunately, during the update I ran into an error stating, "Please Update Insert USB". The screen would show this message, flash on/off, reset, and show the message again. It continued like this over and over. I realized that the USB stick was 64GB in size so I found a 4GB stick, formatted it with FAT32 and placed the most recent software ISO onto it. I inserted the stick and it ran through the entire installation process to fully update the radio software (PHEW!! ). After the update everything works (except Uconnect store access). My phone paired easily, my Sirius would connect, 911 is working, and there are no delays when transitioning through the menus.

FIRMWARE UPDATED VIA USB STICK:
BlckWK2_RA4_001.jpg

HD RADIO IS AWESOME
BlckWK2_RA4_006.jpg

NAVIGATION IN THE IP SPEEDO SCREEN, TOUCH SCREEN, 3D MAPS
BlckWK2_RA4_004.JPG

BlckWK2_RA4_005.JPG

BlckWK2_RA4_007.jpg

I did have to call SIRIUS to activate my 1 year free subscription. They asked if it was a warranty repair from the dealer and I just told them yes. They then asked for a work order # because there should be a dealer code to waive the $15 swap out fee. I told them I had nothing so she waived it anyways. I also found that my Sirius Traffic Link and Mapping trial is not added to the free subscription. I asked about this and they just wouldn't add it. Although I don't plan on subscribing to these features, I did want to try them during the free trial period.

The HD radio is amazing! So many more channels to listen to and the clarity is better than SXM. I am also pleased with the Navigation. I only tested it out for a 3.5 mile drive but it worked seemlessly. The instrument cluster lcd pops up navigation directions and the navigation voice works. The 3D terrain is also working fine.

Overall I am happy to make this purchase rather than going in for an RA3 Navigation update. It is an extremely easy swap and the HD radio is very delightful. Check out the eBay seller and/or send him a message. I worked with him via text message and phone to get my RA4. He answers back quickly and shipping is just as quick. Very impressed and happy with going this route.

__________________

Phil
14' Altitude
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-12-2014, 09:21 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2015
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2220
TalPA is on a distinguished road
Re: BlckWK2 RA3 to RA4 Upgrade (2014 Altitude)

Good read,what did you do with the old radio?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2014, ra4, wk2

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2014 Uconnect RA3 - RA4 / Engineering Menu *sox* Audio/Visual/Navigation 23 08-01-2016 09:39 PM
BlckWK2's JGC Altitude OEM + Build thread BlckWK2 Members Rides-Showoff 112 03-24-2016 04:14 PM
RA2 (5" screen version) vs RA3/RA4 ?? Abacus Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 9 05-12-2014 05:23 PM
TSB RA3 and RA4 radio (8.4AN radio) shirogc2014 Technical Service Bulletins and Recalls 2 11-08-2013 03:20 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.