CB Install - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-17-2015, 11:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 405
Thanks: 5
Thanked 50 Times in 45 Posts
Rep Power: 2750
Nonstop is on a distinguished road
CB Install

Hello, I have a problem with a simple enough CB install.
I went to put a cobra 75wxst in and decided to use the center console for a location and sacrifice my power outlet for power. This unit is a remote mount CB with a small box that goes out of site and a mic with all the controls. I installed the remote box under the console behind the shifter and thought I'd use the power outlet wiring since it's a dedicated circuit at 20amps. So everything is installed and I have spliced the wires into the outlet! I went lazy and blind wiring assuming I could pull positive and negative through factory wires, red to red black to black. I get nothing, no power anywhere, I had used the outlet a day ago and now dead. From what I can see the fuse is good and I can't find power anywhere along the wire.
Did I piss off the canbus gods or forget something, this is the first time I've bothered to install anything in the wktoo and I'm thinking I just forgot something. You can see my sig for my skill level, I have a good understanding of wiring but I'm seemingly out of practice. Help please I feel ridiculous. I will answer any questions asap, thank you.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-18-2015, 01:43 AM
Barboots's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 137
Thanked 344 Times in 292 Posts
Rep Power: 42399
Barboots has disabled reputation
Re: CB Install

I gather you have no test light or volt-meter to diagnose?

Anyway, if your splice left power connected to the accessory socket you could just plug something in and see if it's still working. If you have cut the wires and disconnected the socket is it possible you might have shorted the wires. It's occasionally hard to visually check fuses so swap the fuse with another position having the same 20A value. If you used wire taps (AKA Scotch-locks) it's quite probable that the connection is bad internally. I don't believe CANbus is your problem... start at the basics.

Cheers,
Steve
__________________
2014 Overland CRD
Perth, Western Australia
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2015, 02:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 405
Thanks: 5
Thanked 50 Times in 45 Posts
Rep Power: 2750
Nonstop is on a distinguished road
Question Re: CB Install

Thank you. I forgot to mention, I was hurried. I don't think I shorted it, I used butt connectors due to ease. I tested the wire locally not the circuit. If i did short it I'd assume since it's a dedicated 20 it wouldn't be so sensitive and fried or affected anything else from a crossed wire to burn up instead of just popping the fuse? The fuses where good, but as I went to exchange them and or wire it to another location, direct to the batt, it started to rain heavy, Florida is fun. I also did not test the unit first, that would've been too smart.
Thank you man I'm feeling lost since I haven't done jack in months except hard parts on other Jeeps and apparently the sun has gotten to me. I'll keep ya updated tomorrow afternoon when I get back to it.
__________________
2011 X 3.6
2000 WJ 5.2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2015, 03:01 AM
Barboots's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 137
Thanked 344 Times in 292 Posts
Rep Power: 42399
Barboots has disabled reputation
Re: CB Install

No worries. There will be someone here to help, so don't stress about it.
__________________
2014 Overland CRD
Perth, Western Australia
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-18-2015, 09:33 AM
Lightninrod's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Warner Robins Ga
Posts: 450
Thanks: 539
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Rep Power: 1432
Lightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond reputeLightninrod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: CB Install

Great to see another CB user!

This isn't going to solve your problem but I just used the 12v male plug from my Uniden Bearcat radio to get power from the 12v female receptacle in the console. It's power 'on' all the time so I pull the plug out when I get home.

Dan
__________________
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
5.7L V8, 2WD,
AFE Dry drop in air filter, Quadratec mats, Sprint Booster, and Blastinbob's catback
Build date: 9/4/12
Bought 01/27/15 with 47,200 miles
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2015, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 405
Thanks: 5
Thanked 50 Times in 45 Posts
Rep Power: 2750
Nonstop is on a distinguished road
Re: CB Install

There's plenty of good, it means there's no fault of just using that circuit for CB, logically there wouldn't be. Thank you though man because the only difference is that I snipped the wires and al signs point to "I did it" or I'm missing something I just can't figure out what. All feedback is good feedback. I was originally planning on just installing my other CB but I figured I get fancy because I had this one out of another jeep. Back to zero when the weather clears. Thank you again


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
2011 X 3.6
2000 WJ 5.2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Install VLEDs Dual Color Turn Signals Frankie Technical Tips/DIY/How-To 271 03-28-2014 12:44 AM
Recent Jl subwoofer install mandan007 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 19 07-12-2013 05:09 PM
How To: Install Interior LED Lights (a pictorial guide) mjl2610 Technical Tips/DIY/How-To 70 09-16-2012 08:28 PM
Anyone install side steps yet? Question on Install J13ntv Tech Tips/DIY/How To 6 10-09-2010 11:31 PM
HELP - Front Bilstein Install ?'s 08Hemi Grand Cherokee - WK 18 06-14-2009 09:05 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.