Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-24-2014, 01:25 AM
ccp.jose's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Chile
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 282
ccp.jose is on a distinguished road
Talking Convert from Uconnect 8.4 RA3 to RA4

Hey guys well the title says all...

I have a JGC 14 Laredo model with the 8.4 inch display and in the Uconnect update part says its the RA3 model but i cant see the utility of the 8.4 inch display if i don't have the GPS on it... so i want to know if its possible to convert from the RA3 model to the RA4 with the GPS.

Cheers from Chile
__________________

__________________
José Alejandro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2014, 05:59 AM
*sox*'s Avatar
Italien MOPAR Guy :-)

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basel / Switzerland
Posts: 1,891
Thanks: 89
Thanked 76 Times in 63 Posts
Rep Power: 571006
*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to *sox* Send a message via Skype™ to *sox*
Re: Convert from Uconnect 8.4 RA3 to RA4

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccp.jose View Post
Hey guys well the title says all...

I have a JGC 14 Laredo model with the 8.4 inch display and in the Uconnect update part says its the RA3 model but i cant see the utility of the 8.4 inch display if i don't have the GPS on it... so i want to know if its possible to convert from the RA3 model to the RA4 with the GPS.

Cheers from Chile
ist only a activation from the dealer needet, no other unit!
__________________

__________________
All Uconnect Software

www.mydrive.ch

username: mygig@soxag
Password: gasolio

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2014, 08:37 AM
StaticFX's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 736
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 1255
StaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Convert from Uconnect 8.4 RA3 to RA4

you cant replace the radio as far as I understand. they are tied to the vin... but RA3 can be upgraded to have GPS. The dealer can do it (generally costs about $600)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2014, 10:03 AM
jacko15's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 2,169
Thanks: 214
Thanked 164 Times in 131 Posts
Rep Power: 89646
jacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Convert from Uconnect 8.4 RA3 to RA4

Might not be available in your location.
__________________
Mine: 2014 Overland 4x4 V6, ORA II, billet silver/black, Michelin LTX M/S 2's, MaxCare Lifetime, delivered 4-13-'13
Wife's Jeep: 2008 Compass Sport 4x4, 2.4L I4 DOHC, CVT, Lifetime powertrain warranty
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-24-2014, 11:01 AM
*sox*'s Avatar
Italien MOPAR Guy :-)

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basel / Switzerland
Posts: 1,891
Thanks: 89
Thanked 76 Times in 63 Posts
Rep Power: 571006
*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to *sox* Send a message via Skype™ to *sox*
Re: Convert from Uconnect 8.4 RA3 to RA4

here in europe all cars commi wtha RJ3 uconnect, some with a RA4, but all converting and have after navigation with european maps!

no more no other hardware needet
__________________
All Uconnect Software

www.mydrive.ch

username: mygig@soxag
Password: gasolio

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2014, 09:57 PM
ccp.jose's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Chile
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 282
ccp.jose is on a distinguished road
Re: Convert from Uconnect 8.4 RA3 to RA4

Thanks for the answers. I called my local dealer today and he told that they can do it for no cost because its a new unit so they will make it as warranty so i might take it to the dealer on friday.


Thanks again!
__________________
José Alejandro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2014, 12:44 AM
jacko15's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 2,169
Thanks: 214
Thanked 164 Times in 131 Posts
Rep Power: 89646
jacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Convert from Uconnect 8.4 RA3 to RA4

Let us know how that works out for you.
__________________
Mine: 2014 Overland 4x4 V6, ORA II, billet silver/black, Michelin LTX M/S 2's, MaxCare Lifetime, delivered 4-13-'13
Wife's Jeep: 2008 Compass Sport 4x4, 2.4L I4 DOHC, CVT, Lifetime powertrain warranty
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-25-2014, 05:06 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 158
Thanks: 36
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 546
Jjhohan is on a distinguished road
Re: Convert from Uconnect 8.4 RA3 to RA4

happy for you to get navigation...that's how it should be!......Still I have to ask the question .....How is it that the ROW gets a Navigation 'activation' option for their RA3/RJ3 Radio's but Australia does not !
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-03-2014, 10:20 PM
ccp.jose's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Chile
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 282
ccp.jose is on a distinguished road
Re: Convert from Uconnect 8.4 RA3 to RA4

Hi guys... bad news went to the dealer they said that there was no way to put GPS on my RA3 radio they said that if i put like some software for the RA4 like the update for uconnect which includes the GPS it may cause total death of my equipment with no way they even said that the Overland's are not equipped with GPS just that they have seen one Overland and the GPS was a complete mess but i dont have further information.

Thanks folks!
__________________
José Alejandro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-05-2014, 06:00 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 841
Thanks: 8
Thanked 19 Times in 14 Posts
Rep Power: 127283
loveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond reputeloveracing1988 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccp.jose View Post
Hi guys... bad news went to the dealer they said that there was no way to put GPS on my RA3 radio they said that if i put like some software for the RA4 like the update for uconnect which includes the GPS it may cause total death of my equipment with no way they even said that the Overland's are not equipped with GPS just that they have seen one Overland and the GPS was a complete mess but i dont have further information.

Thanks folks!
Thats bs. Any of the Ra3 radios can be upgraded to navigation. Call a different dealer.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-05-2014, 06:44 AM
*sox*'s Avatar
Italien MOPAR Guy :-)

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basel / Switzerland
Posts: 1,891
Thanks: 89
Thanked 76 Times in 63 Posts
Rep Power: 571006
*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to *sox* Send a message via Skype™ to *sox*
Re: Convert from Uconnect 8.4 RA3 to RA4

rigth!
__________________
All Uconnect Software

www.mydrive.ch

username: mygig@soxag
Password: gasolio

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-05-2014, 08:58 AM
StaticFX's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 736
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 1255
StaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Convert from Uconnect 8.4 RA3 to RA4

Quote:
Originally Posted by loveracing1988 View Post
Thats bs. Any of the Ra3 radios can be upgraded to navigation. Call a different dealer.
correct. They dont know what they are talking about...

Tell them that you can activate the Navigation

Uconnect® | Systems | 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee 8.4A/RA3

Available features.. NAVIGATION. Deaer must install/activate this feature.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ra4, uconnect

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anything different about UConnect 8.4 radio RA3 and UConnect Access Via Mobile REDDIZE Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 4 08-19-2014 11:55 PM
2014 Uconnect RA3 - RA4 / Engineering Menu *sox* Audio/Visual/Navigation 21 08-13-2014 03:42 PM
RA2 (5" screen version) vs RA3/RA4 ?? Abacus Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 9 05-12-2014 04:23 PM
TSB RA3 and RA4 radio (8.4AN radio) shirogc2014 Technical Service Bulletins and Recalls 2 11-08-2013 03:20 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.