Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-16-2011, 08:19 PM
bigpanda's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 321
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1883
bigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond repute
Higher resolution screen?

I'm not happy with current low resolution navi screen and was wondering whether any of you has changed the screen to higher resolution one.
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Life is Good!!!:thumbsup:

2011 WK2 Overland 3.6 Euro Spec.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2011, 08:41 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rivergrove, OR
Posts: 576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 10451
Andrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Higher resolution screen?

The electronics support only one resolution. You'd have to replace the entire head unit with something from the aftermarket.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2011, 12:26 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1399
Tybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond reputeTybalt39 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Higher resolution screen?

Keep in mind this is not like a laptop running Windows, where you can replace the LCD panel with a higher-res panel and everything just works. The OS is not a Microsoft product. Most likely, the resolution is "hard-coded" into the system.

FYI, this is just an opinion (other than the OS part). I am new to this forum and have not yet taken delivery of my vehicle.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2011, 02:25 PM
*sox*'s Avatar
Italien MOPAR Guy :-)

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basel / Switzerland
Posts: 1,782
Thanks: 84
Thanked 64 Times in 54 Posts
Rep Power: 570708
*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to *sox* Send a message via Skype™ to *sox*
Re: Higher resolution screen?

have you the RHB with the Garmin Navigation?

The premium 730N RHR with Navteq Navigation have a good screen resolution!
__________________
.....Have pity with my, my English is not the best



Massively Over Powered And Respected



Sox`s World
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2011, 03:45 PM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 26320
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Higher resolution screen?

Both radios have the same resolution spec. Some think the Garmin Nav screen looks lower resolution, but it is not. That's just the way the default mapping display is set up. None of the OEM radio screens are very high resolution, however, they are dated. You want a better screen, you need to look at the aftermarket.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2011, 04:20 PM
*sox*'s Avatar
Italien MOPAR Guy :-)

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basel / Switzerland
Posts: 1,782
Thanks: 84
Thanked 64 Times in 54 Posts
Rep Power: 570708
*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to *sox* Send a message via Skype™ to *sox*
Re: Higher resolution screen?

i have make the expirience the not hb mygig have not the same resolution or screen quality.

the REN have betther also the japs unit RBZ, also the RHR - RHB from mitsubishi....
__________________
.....Have pity with my, my English is not the best



Massively Over Powered And Respected



Sox`s World
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2011, 04:25 PM
lll2for3lll's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2005 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 6,283
Thanks: 486
Thanked 53 Times in 51 Posts
Rep Power: 469570
lll2for3lll has a reputation beyond reputelll2for3lll has a reputation beyond reputelll2for3lll has a reputation beyond reputelll2for3lll has a reputation beyond reputelll2for3lll has a reputation beyond reputelll2for3lll has a reputation beyond reputelll2for3lll has a reputation beyond reputelll2for3lll has a reputation beyond reputelll2for3lll has a reputation beyond reputelll2for3lll has a reputation beyond reputelll2for3lll has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Higher resolution screen?

Try aftermarket.
__________________
Jeep: 2005 WK | OME Lift Kit & 1.5 Rear Coil Spacers (3" of lift front & rear) | 255/75/17 BF Goodrich Mud Terrain KM1 on stock wheels (no spacers) | SCT Tuner with 93 Octane Tune | Fastman TB | K&N 77 Series | Pioneer 7" Double Din | Pioneer D-Series 6 Speaker Upgrade | Custom Rear Peek-A-Boo Camera | 5K TRS XB35 HID Bulbs & Mini Morimoto Retrofitted Projectors | Parking Lights Deleted | PIAA 510 in OEM foglight location modded for OEM foglight harness | 6K V-LEDS Reverse | 5K V-LEDS License Plate | 6K V-LEDS Interior | Custom Overhead Console Blue Ambient Light | LXHarness Complete Blue Interior Upgrade | 5% on top of 20% Tint & 50% on the whole windshield | Debadged
Bike: 2009 Yamaha Raven R1 | CrossPlane | Far from stock
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-20-2011, 05:45 AM
bigpanda's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 321
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1883
bigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond reputebigpanda has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Higher resolution screen?

I already have aftermarket navi installed by Chrysler Korea. But they said since they have to utilize OEM system, they can't change screen itself.
__________________

__________________
Life is Good!!!:thumbsup:

2011 WK2 Overland 3.6 Euro Spec.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
higher or lower? bigworm2586 Visual Modifications 9 07-20-2011 06:31 PM
430N and iPod resolution JeepLaw Audio/Visual/Navigation 76 03-04-2011 02:17 PM
Snow Mode ok at higher speeds? WABCLawyers Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 12 02-01-2011 10:12 AM
430N IPhone 3G streaming resolution JeepLaw Audio/Visual/Navigation 11 01-14-2011 11:07 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community