How To - Dash Cam Install - Blackvue 650 2-Channel - Page 3 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #25  
Old 09-06-2016, 12:23 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,717
Thanks: 38
Thanked 181 Times in 141 Posts
Rep Power: 76188
mswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How To - Dash Cam Install - Blackvue 650 2-Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncletony View Post
Got any pics of how to tap from the glove-box?

I used to t-tap my old car before this one, but according to the dealership - any tapping of wires voids the warranty, so i'd like to avoid that
I might I have to dig for them but it's real easy.

Push passenger seat all the way back.

The panel that goes along the center console side just pops out. Just pull it out from the bottom starting at the front (where it contacts carpet).
When you get to the back end open the center console glove and lift the piece that goes around the shifter. Just that corner needs to lift like 1/2 an inch. To get the side panel out.

You can the pop the connector off the cigarette lighter and tap it.

Getting a wire down from glove is a piece of cake. It's only like 8 inches from the left corner of the glove to the spot where that panel starts to pop out in the front. I just fish a stiff wire down there from glove box down.

You don't really have to take the glove box out. But it's easier to get at things.

I've put several radar detectors in 3 WK2's

__________________
07-24-2017 Summit 3.6L Velvet Red W/Black & Brown Int
Tires: OEM 20"/Nokian 18"
Situational awareness: Valentine One with V1Driver on IOS
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #26  
Old 09-06-2016, 01:09 AM
Mozzie's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 447
Thanks: 23
Thanked 103 Times in 78 Posts
Rep Power: 1506
Mozzie is on a distinguished road
Re: How To - Dash Cam Install - Blackvue 650 2-Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by mswlogo View Post
You really don't need to go in engine bay for power.

It's VERY easy to tap the back of the cigarette lighter in the cubby. Next to USB.
This is 20 amps and switched. Takes all of two minutes to get a wire from the glove box down there. The side panel just pops off.

If you want it unswitched then tap cigarette lighter in the center console.

I've also tapped power from mirror. Little trickier.
I haven't done any tests yet but keep in mind that many cars remove power from accessory points to conserve power for cranking the engine. On some dash cams, this temporary power drop may cause it to lock up and stop recording. This occurs on my other car.

You can also tap into the battery under the right-hand seat.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-06-2016, 08:53 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,717
Thanks: 38
Thanked 181 Times in 141 Posts
Rep Power: 76188
mswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How To - Dash Cam Install - Blackvue 650 2-Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mozzie View Post
I haven't done any tests yet but keep in mind that many cars remove power from accessory points to conserve power for cranking the engine. On some dash cams, this temporary power drop may cause it to lock up and stop recording. This occurs on my other car.

You can also tap into the battery under the right-hand seat.
There are two cigarette lighter outlets in the center console. One is switched the other is not. I've only tapped the switched one. But I suspect it's fairly easy to reach the other as well.

I'd stay away from the battery unless you are doing some real high current application. Those cameras draw nothing, like 5 watts. Really overkill going into battery compartment or engine compartment for a camera. Lots of places to tap.

Also wires going into battery compartment or engine compartment will be a huge red flags to service department and warranties. It also makes it look like you don't know what you are doing because it's just not appropriate.

#22 gauge wire does not belong any where near the battery or going through the fire wall exposed in the engine compartment.
It's equivelant of running lamp cord to your home fuse box. And going to the battery is like putting lamp cord on the fuse box bus bar.
__________________
07-24-2017 Summit 3.6L Velvet Red W/Black & Brown Int
Tires: OEM 20"/Nokian 18"
Situational awareness: Valentine One with V1Driver on IOS
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-06-2016, 12:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 197
uncletony is on a distinguished road
Re: How To - Dash Cam Install - Blackvue 650 2-Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by mswlogo View Post
There are two cigarette lighter outlets in the center console. One is switched the other is not. I've only tapped the switched one. But I suspect it's fairly easy to reach the other as well.

I'd stay away from the battery unless you are doing some real high current application. Those cameras draw nothing, like 5 watts. Really overkill going into battery compartment or engine compartment for a camera. Lots of places to tap.

Also wires going into battery compartment or engine compartment will be a huge red flags to service department and warranties. It also makes it look like you don't know what you are doing because it's just not appropriate.

#22 gauge wire does not belong any where near the battery or going through the fire wall exposed in the engine compartment.
It's equivelant of running lamp cord to your home fuse box. And going to the battery is like putting lamp cord on the fuse box bus bar.
can you show any of your taps? i wanna make sure i dont fugg anything up
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-20-2016, 01:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 197
uncletony is on a distinguished road
Re: How To - Dash Cam Install - Blackvue 650 2-Channel

Has no-one ventured into using a USB port for power?

Any issues when doing that?

I can splice an old USB cable and utilize the 5v and gnd
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-20-2016, 05:52 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,717
Thanks: 38
Thanked 181 Times in 141 Posts
Rep Power: 76188
mswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How To - Dash Cam Install - Blackvue 650 2-Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncletony View Post
Has no-one ventured into using a USB port for power?

Any issues when doing that?

I can splice an old USB cable and utilize the 5v and gnd
Doesn't the camera expect 12V?

Also Cigarette lighter adapters can work themselves loose.
If you can get to the front of the Cigarette Lighter or USB port you can get to the back.
__________________
07-24-2017 Summit 3.6L Velvet Red W/Black & Brown Int
Tires: OEM 20"/Nokian 18"
Situational awareness: Valentine One with V1Driver on IOS
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 09-20-2016, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 197
uncletony is on a distinguished road
Re: How To - Dash Cam Install - Blackvue 650 2-Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by mswlogo View Post
Doesn't the camera expect 12V?

Also Cigarette lighter adapters can work themselves loose.
If you can get to the front of the Cigarette Lighter or USB port you can get to the back.
agreed - nobody has actually showed how they 'tap' the their wires..

the dang dealership said "No tapping" of any kind. so i'd like to see how that works

Also: wouldn't the USB be 12V also?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-21-2016, 08:07 AM
Mozzie's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 447
Thanks: 23
Thanked 103 Times in 78 Posts
Rep Power: 1506
Mozzie is on a distinguished road
Re: How To - Dash Cam Install - Blackvue 650 2-Channel

USB is always 5v. The media console port is not a power source. Previous discussions found that it is only good for powering USB sticks but not enough to power devices or charge phones.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-21-2016, 01:22 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,717
Thanks: 38
Thanked 181 Times in 141 Posts
Rep Power: 76188
mswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How To - Dash Cam Install - Blackvue 650 2-Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncletony View Post
agreed - nobody has actually showed how they 'tap' the their wires..

the dang dealership said "No tapping" of any kind. so i'd like to see how that works

Also: wouldn't the USB be 12V also?

I posted how to tap switched 12V in a separate thread.

How to get switched 12V 20A switched power for Accessories
__________________
07-24-2017 Summit 3.6L Velvet Red W/Black & Brown Int
Tires: OEM 20"/Nokian 18"
Situational awareness: Valentine One with V1Driver on IOS
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-21-2016, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 197
uncletony is on a distinguished road
Re: How To - Dash Cam Install - Blackvue 650 2-Channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by mswlogo View Post
Put Seat all the way back

Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-22-2016, 12:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 197
uncletony is on a distinguished road
Re: How To - Dash Cam Install - Blackvue 650 2-Channel

alright so i finally got everything set up...

I ended up finding a really easy way through the firewall..

The only issue is configuring my multi-safer - I can't seem to get it to work with parking mode..
The instructions are not clear - I have the yellow wire (constant to fuse 20 (always on armrest)) and red fuse to F67 (bluetooth)

The only time the camera comes on is when the car is on

Did i not program my Multisafer properly?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 09-27-2016, 12:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 197
uncletony is on a distinguished road
Re: How To - Dash Cam Install - Blackvue 650 2-Channel

for some reason i thought i knew better and reversed the 2 fuse wires OP used - swapped them and it worked

Also remember to plug in the box last and turn on the indicator *pin 5*
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blackvue DR500GW-HD DashCam Install Northland Tech Tips/DIY/How To 75 04-19-2016 06:49 AM
Blackvue Power Magic Pro & DR650 Dougiestylz Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 15 05-19-2015 10:15 PM
Ride along in a 650 hp SC'ed 2013 Jeep SRT Scottina06 Grand Cherokee SRT - WK2 11 05-10-2013 02:54 AM
Wowie... $650 for Chrome Clad wheels??? dcmski Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 1 10-04-2012 06:09 PM
srt bumper and rockers only paid 650 painted! richxgior Grand Cherokee - WK 16 08-02-2011 02:31 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.