Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-13-2010, 12:03 PM
Red G8R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 902
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 2441
Red G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond repute
Question iPod

I have tried connecting my iPod via the cable provided on the Overland but can't seem to register any connection. The iPod screen does display "U-Connect" but nothing on the car's screen when in radio mode. I've gone through the menu, checked MY Music and see nothing about iPod either.
Any suggestion?
Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
Peter
2011 GC Overland, 4x4, 5.7L, Q-L, 730N, White/Beige. :thumbsup:
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2010, 12:41 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 962
Thanks: 32
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 2926
Cherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond reputeCherodude has a reputation beyond repute
Re: iPod

There are many generations of iPods, so perhaps if you have a recent model some tweaking of the systems by Apple and Chrysler may be needed.

For example scroll to the bottom portion of this page:
http://www.wk2jeeps.com/wk2_tsb.htm#TIPS

Maybe the iPhone4 advice may help you? Note the requirement to connect in a specific way.

Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2010, 01:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1566
wk2silverbullet is on a distinguished road
Re: iPod

Did you press the radio button twice? Then u will see the ipod tab.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2010, 02:52 PM
Red G8R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 902
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 2441
Red G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond repute
Re: iPod

Quote:
Originally Posted by wk2silverbullet View Post
Did you press the radio button twice? Then u will see the ipod tab.
No I didn't try that, but I will, thanks.
You would think they would make it staight forward or explain more in the manual.
__________________
Peter
2011 GC Overland, 4x4, 5.7L, Q-L, 730N, White/Beige. :thumbsup:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2010, 03:46 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1715
azzolij has a reputation beyond reputeazzolij has a reputation beyond reputeazzolij has a reputation beyond reputeazzolij has a reputation beyond reputeazzolij has a reputation beyond reputeazzolij has a reputation beyond reputeazzolij has a reputation beyond repute
Re: iPod

Press the Media button and then the AUX button on the screen. You may have to wait
10 to 30 seconds for the AUX button to light up.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2010, 05:08 PM
Red G8R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 902
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 2441
Red G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond repute
Re: iPod

Quote:
Originally Posted by azzolij View Post
Press the Media button and then the AUX button on the screen. You may have to wait
10 to 30 seconds for the AUX button to light up.
I can't seem to find an AUX button but I will try that too. I have the 730N.
__________________
Peter
2011 GC Overland, 4x4, 5.7L, Q-L, 730N, White/Beige. :thumbsup:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2010, 05:26 PM
whatevrworks's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 527
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 2632
whatevrworks has a reputation beyond reputewhatevrworks has a reputation beyond reputewhatevrworks has a reputation beyond reputewhatevrworks has a reputation beyond reputewhatevrworks has a reputation beyond reputewhatevrworks has a reputation beyond reputewhatevrworks has a reputation beyond reputewhatevrworks has a reputation beyond reputewhatevrworks has a reputation beyond reputewhatevrworks has a reputation beyond reputewhatevrworks has a reputation beyond repute
Hmm. I have the 730n. And I just have to press the radio/media button once or twice depending where I am on the unit. The iPod button then appears top left/ top center-left. Check that the cable is completely plugged in at the back of storage bin. It's a cheap plastic connector and may not be seated in there correctly.

Never had to push aux button for anything since 730 doesn't have one at least not a hard button. It may in the softkey menus.
__________________
2011 WK2: Limited, 4x4, Hemi, 730n, Class IV Tow, Brilliant Black. 30% Ceramic Tint, Lockpick, LED DRL, LED License Plate, LED Backup, LED Liftgate (all), Axle/Transfer Case OEM add-on skid plates, Sharkfin Antenna.:thumbsup:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-13-2010, 05:36 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1715
azzolij has a reputation beyond reputeazzolij has a reputation beyond reputeazzolij has a reputation beyond reputeazzolij has a reputation beyond reputeazzolij has a reputation beyond reputeazzolij has a reputation beyond reputeazzolij has a reputation beyond repute
Re: iPod

My mistake. I have the 430N and the problem statement reminded me of the fun I had the first time I tried to get my IPod to show up...

Alpine makes a decent radio but their user interface is not the best. That's just my opinion after spending the last 2 years with an Alpine 9887 in my previous vehicle.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-13-2010, 06:34 PM
dubwarren's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 1,105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Rep Power: 0
dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren
Re: iPod

if the ipod is connected properly you will be able to switch between sources until you get to the ipod. i think ipod is right after the tv source. Use the button on the back of your steering wheel to move between tv, sirius, cd, hdd and ipod. once you get to the ipod you can use the touch screen to control the ipod.

you're gonna love it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-14-2010, 01:18 PM
Red G8R's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 902
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 2441
Red G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond reputeRed G8R has a reputation beyond repute
Re: iPod

I got it!
I finally had time to try your suggestions. I do have the 730N. I missed that the Radio Media button really meant Radio or Media, so by pressing that button twice, it switches between Radio (am, fm, sat) or Media (hdd, aux, ipod).
Thanks again for all the help.
__________________
Peter
2011 GC Overland, 4x4, 5.7L, Q-L, 730N, White/Beige. :thumbsup:
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-14-2010, 08:22 PM
Technosavant's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: STL, MO area
Posts: 1,282
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2868
Technosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond repute
Re: iPod

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red G8R View Post
I got it!
I finally had time to try your suggestions. I do have the 730N. I missed that the Radio Media button really meant Radio or Media, so by pressing that button twice, it switches between Radio (am, fm, sat) or Media (hdd, aux, ipod).
Thanks again for all the help.
Yeah, I don't know why they didn't make those tabs go all the way across the screen; instead you have to hit the hard button in order to swap "pages." They had room to do it the right way.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-14-2010, 08:25 PM
dubwarren's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 1,105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Rep Power: 0
dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren dubwarren
Re: iPod

you know you can navigate between "pages" with the button on the back of the steering wheel.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anybody using this iPod plug-in? DavidESchiller Grand Cherokee - WK 7 10-08-2010 09:42 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community