Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 11-08-2012, 01:58 PM
Lingohocken's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 15
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 3254
Lingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is there a fix yet for 730N losing presets?

For over a year, since our vehicle was purchased 9/2011, we've had this same problem of irregularly losing sat presets when going from Driver 1 to Driver 2, and on rare occasion vice versa. Twice last year the dealer we bought it from called Jeep, which said said they were working on a fix. The third time I went to that dealer they refused to discuss looking into it any further unless there was a TSB, so I went to another dealer, arguably the best in our area. For months they changed firmware (2.110, 2.116, 2.120 and now 2.126) and replaced radios -- we're now on the third radio.

Nothing has worked. So now, after having beavered away on this for nearly a year, they're no longer returning my calls. In bygone years Chrysler's customer help hotline was actually effective in resolving issues like this, but from what I read online they no longer respond meaningfully.

After 14 months of this I am ready to do something with more teeth in it, like filing a formal BBB complaint with the Detroit BBB office (link underlined). But before going down that road I wondered whether there might be a better solution; or, barring that, whether those of us who have run out of patience would like to band together to file a joint formal complaint or several individual formal complaints against Chrysler with the Detroit BBB.

I suspect the problem has various stages. First, it may be present solely in radios made before a certain time or otherwise having some sort of unique production characteristic.

Second, folks who've had this problem have had their radios replaced. Those replaced radios get "refurbished" and put back into stock as service replacements. So when defective radios are replaced they are replaced with these earlier-returned radios, most or virtually all of which were returned because of the presets defect. So you send in a radio with defective satellite presets and they replace it with what? Another radio with the same satellite presets defect.

Would replacing with a brand new radio, rather than a refurb, end this cycle of replacing radios with radios having the same defect? Perhaps, but we don't yet know because Chrysler is adamant they won't replace a defective radio with a genuinely new radio --only a refurb. It's Detroit's answer to Catch 22.

IMO, with all other options having failed they should at least try replacing with a new radio, not a refurb. If that doesn't work for two or three weeks, they can take it back and reinstall the earlier radio. But their rules say using a new radio is verboten, so here we sit like idiots and dealers' hands are tied.

Thoughts?
__________________

__________________
2012 Cherry Overland V6, ADG
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-08-2012, 02:37 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rivergrove, OR
Posts: 576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 10547
Andrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Klossner has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is there a fix yet for 730N losing presets?

Complaining to the BBB won't achieve anything. All they do is file the report so that potential customers can ask to see it. Who checks with the BBB before buying from a giant manufacturer?

The radio defect is what we call an "intermittent bug" in the firmware. It's not an individual defect, and replacing the radio serves only to satisfy the customer for a while. New radio, remanu radio, they'll all behave the same with the same firmware load -- it will work just fine until it doesn't.

The only way this problem will be resolved is if Harman Becker finds and fixes the root problem and releases new firmware.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-08-2012, 03:00 PM
ColdCase's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 26416
ColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond reputeColdCase has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is there a fix yet for 730N losing presets?

^^ what Andrew says.

You could switch to the 430N or an aftermarket head unit, otherwise I think your only recourse may be the lemon law..
__________________
2011 WK2 Overland Mineral Gray/Black, Advanced warning, V8; 2009 KK Rocky Mtn V6; 2000 WJ Laredo I6; 1979 CJ7 I6... green... miles of smiles :)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-09-2012, 03:13 AM
Milous's Avatar
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nottsure, Wair
Posts: 6,268
Thanks: 33
Thanked 1,860 Times in 829 Posts
Rep Power: 2392176
Milous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is there a fix yet for 730N losing presets?

Regarding lost radio presets - driver 1/driver 2:

Changes are limited to one of the driver setting per ignition cycle. You cannot make changes to driver 1 and driver 2 settings during the same ignition cycle. Only the settings for the last active driver position will be stored.

For example, if driver 1 presets are changed and stored then the user switches over to driver 2 and makes changes and then turns the ignition off only driver 2 presets will be stored because it was the last active driver setting to be used.


The radio requires a full bus sleep cycle to store the presets:

1. Turn ignition on

2. Press the driver 1 or driver 2 button

3. Set desired radio presets

4. Save the settings to the same driver position that was selected in the 2nd step (press "S" button)

5. Do not attempt to recall or save settings to the other driver memory position at this point. The vehicle must go through a complete bus sleep cycle to save the settings.

6. Turn ignition off (remove key if it is non-passive entry)

7. Open door (this turns off accessory delay)

8. Close door (this allows the bus to start going to sleep)

9. Allow the bus to go to sleep for approximately 5 minutes. Make sure there is nothing to prevent the bus from going to sleep such as the scan tool connected, door open, etc…

10. Presets should be saved to the position that was selected.

11. If change desired for the other driver setting, start the process over beginning with Step # 1

--Milous
__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Milous For This Useful Post:
  #17  
Old 11-09-2012, 08:13 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1505
RKlimas is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to RKlimas
Re: Is there a fix yet for 730N losing presets?

Milous-

I will try that today and let you know if that worked.
__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland 4x4
Maximum Steel, V-8
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-09-2012, 01:54 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1505
RKlimas is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to RKlimas
Re: Is there a fix yet for 730N losing presets?

Milous-

You magnificent bas__rd! I read your post. It worked!!!!
__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland 4x4
Maximum Steel, V-8
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-09-2012, 02:17 PM
Milous's Avatar
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nottsure, Wair
Posts: 6,268
Thanks: 33
Thanked 1,860 Times in 829 Posts
Rep Power: 2392176
Milous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is there a fix yet for 730N losing presets?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RKlimas View Post
Milous-

You magnificent bas__rd! I read your post. It worked!!!!
Of course

Seriously though, great to hear!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-10-2012, 12:40 PM
Lingohocken's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 15
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 3254
Lingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is there a fix yet for 730N losing presets?

Milous,

I've been away from JG for awhile, and what better welcome back than another of your helpful tips? Heaps o' thanks!

I'll give this a go tomorrow. If it seems to work, I'll see if it holds up for a few weeks before getting back with the hoped-for Flag of Victory!
__________________
2012 Cherry Overland V6, ADG
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11-10-2012, 03:40 PM
Milous's Avatar
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nottsure, Wair
Posts: 6,268
Thanks: 33
Thanked 1,860 Times in 829 Posts
Rep Power: 2392176
Milous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is there a fix yet for 730N losing presets?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lingohocken View Post
I'll give this a go tomorrow. If it seems to work, I'll see if it holds up for a few weeks before getting back with the hoped-for Flag of Victory!
Yes, please report your progress, am anxious to know.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-11-2012, 12:19 AM
Lingohocken's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 15
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 3254
Lingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is there a fix yet for 730N losing presets?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Milous View Post
Yes, please report your progress, am anxious to know.
Ditto that, and thanks again. After something like a dozen trips to the dealer, three radios and various firmware installs -- all of which seemed likely to fix the problem, but didn't -- I'm beginning to feel like Charlie Brown, knowing Lucy is going to be yanking the football away once again.

If it acts up, I'll post that immediately. Otherwise, I'm going to give it a couple of weeks of mixed-driver use because it is frustratingly erratic: It's tended to be okay for one or even several days, then act up repeatedly for subsequent days in splendidly random fashion. So I figure ~two weeks of mixed driving with my wife to be sure the football isn't going to be yanked. Thing is, I'll be on the road myself much of the next few weeks, so it might be Christmas or thereabouts before there's enough Driver 1/Driver 2 usage to be certain it works.

But if it does, it would be nice to get the procedure into the hands of the appropriate folks at HQ who interact with dealer service calls, and also perhaps within any reprints of the media center owner's manual -- or at least a blow-in or other loose addendum.

BTW, the official Chrysler flyer that came with the v2.126 firmware DVD stated the upgrade was in part to remedy vanishing presets. Obviously it didn't succeed, but at least somebody in the right position is aware of it and making a good-faith effort to get it right.
__________________
2012 Cherry Overland V6, ADG
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-11-2012, 12:25 AM
Lingohocken's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,185
Thanks: 15
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 3254
Lingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond reputeLingohocken has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is there a fix yet for 730N losing presets?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
^^ what Andrew says.

You could switch to the 430N or an aftermarket head unit, otherwise I think your only recourse may be the lemon law..
Looked into the PA lemon law, and it is limited to serious or safety issues, not inconveniences.
__________________
2012 Cherry Overland V6, ADG
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-14-2012, 10:45 PM
Angler's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 305
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 41288
Angler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond reputeAngler has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Is there a fix yet for 730N losing presets?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lingohocken View Post
BTW, the official Chrysler flyer that came with the v2.126 firmware DVD stated the upgrade was in part to remedy vanishing presets. Obviously it didn't succeed, but at least somebody in the right position is aware of it and making a good-faith effort to get it right.
I've only had my JGC since the beginning of April, so I have not gotten any updates for my 730N yet. Was this upgrade disc mailed to you by Jeep?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RHR Losing Presets Hollywood Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 17 10-03-2012 09:55 AM
losing coolant jdubgrand Troubleshooting/Problems 2 07-04-2012 12:30 AM
Radio presets watchful Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 5 03-01-2012 02:29 PM
730N RHR Presets gone? Hollywood Audio/Visual/Navigation 2 06-29-2011 11:38 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community