Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-16-2013, 10:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 473
DanPorges is on a distinguished road
Laredo with RA3...Activate Nav or No?

Hi... I am still waiting on my JGC Laredo to be built, but I did order it with the 8.4A stereo package. I am trying to decide whether it is worth spending the money to activate the Navigation functionality in the factory system. Anyone have recommendations? I know its not as good as the 8.4AN Nav capabilities, but is it at least a reasonably good system or is it a waste of money?

Speaking of money, is there any way to not pay the stealership for this? What is a reasonable price to pay if I have to go through them?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-17-2013, 01:45 PM
Jim_in_PA's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SE PA (central Bucks County)
Posts: 1,642
Thanks: 256
Thanked 71 Times in 55 Posts
Rep Power: 3636
Jim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Laredo with RA3...Activate Nav or No?

The cost from the dealer will be about $600, give or take, to activate the NAV functionality for the 8.4a system.

Personally, I find having the NAV in the dash to be very convenient, even though the cost is higher than a third party solution. But that's a subjective decision. You can buy a very nice, larger screen, portable NAV for about half the cost of the 8.4a NAV activation. But then you also have something else hanging in your car's interior...and another interface to deal with over and above your vehicle's native systems. It's a choice.

One of the things I did recently while on vacation was to experiment with the Google Maps navigation feeding via Bluetooth while listening to tunes from my iPhone. (I have a mount for my phone so the screen was visible with a glance if necessary) It worked well. So that's another option for you...
__________________

__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland Summit - Winter Chill with New Saddle interior. 5.7L HEMI V8 - Nitto NT421Q "shoes"



Day-job...Telecom Technical Sales
Avocations...Woodworking, Equestrian, Food
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2013, 11:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1042
jd31 has a reputation beyond reputejd31 has a reputation beyond reputejd31 has a reputation beyond reputejd31 has a reputation beyond reputejd31 has a reputation beyond reputejd31 has a reputation beyond reputejd31 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Laredo with RA3...Activate Nav or No?

I too like having the nav built in and not on a secondary device/screen. A little steep in cost to activate but a really worthwhile upgrade IMO.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2013, 12:00 PM
GCLimited's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 905
Thanks: 0
Thanked 40 Times in 31 Posts
Rep Power: 3485
GCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond reputeGCLimited has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Laredo with RA3...Activate Nav or No?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanPorges View Post

Speaking of money, is there any way to not pay the stealership for this? What is a reasonable price to pay if I have to go through them?
The dealership has to get the activation code from Chrysler, so unless the NAV activation is somehow built into the final price of the vehicle, then no. I do agree that the Jeep's NAV isn't too bad, and it is kinda cool to have it show on the 8.4A screen as well as the speedo. Plus you never have to worry about cords or attaching anything to the dash or windshield...and it increases the vehicles retail price at trade-in.

List price is $595 to activate NAV on the 8.4A, and I have no idea if the dealership gets a kicker for each activation or not. Don't ask me how I got my NAV activated on my 8.4A for free...it will only make you jealous!
__________________
Still waiting for the next V6 transmission update from Chrysler!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2013, 08:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 819
Thanks: 0
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 73083
mswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond reputemswlogo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Laredo with RA3...Activate Nav or No?

I have the 8.4AN but still use Google Nav if that helps any.

Quicker, live traffic that works, can setup route before I get to car. Find address on internet.
__________________
08-10-2014 Limited 3.6L Red W/Black Int, Tow Group IV, 8.4AN Radio, ProClip, OBDLink/Torque, Zeigler Lifetime MaxCare
OEM: Mud Flaps, Matts, Cargo Liner, Cross Rails
UConnect: 13.48.3 TSB: 21-007-13C (Yippy) Tires: OEM/Nokian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2013, 04:15 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
demaria93 is on a distinguished road
Re: Laredo with RA3...Activate Nav or No?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GCLimited View Post
Don't ask me how I got my NAV activated on my 8.4A for free...it will only make you jealous!
how did you get it for free?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-02-2013, 11:16 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
jorgeszabo is on a distinguished road
Re: Laredo with RA3...Activate Nav or No?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_in_PA View Post

Personally, I find having the NAV in the dash to be very convenient, even though the cost is higher than a third party solution.
Hi, new member here and I'm looking at this potential activation of Navigation on a RA3 unit for GC 2014 Limited. Do you know what navigation features are different between the RA3 with nav and RA4 ? I've read that RA3 lacks one-step voice, 3D and terrain. Anything else? Are the directions displayed on the 7in TFT where the speedo is?

Thanks!
Jorge
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-03-2013, 11:25 AM
jacko15's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 2,136
Thanks: 213
Thanked 156 Times in 126 Posts
Rep Power: 89572
jacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Laredo with RA3...Activate Nav or No?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgeszabo View Post
Hi, new member here and I'm looking at this potential activation of Navigation on a RA3 unit for GC 2014 Limited. Do you know what navigation features are different between the RA3 with nav and RA4 ? I've read that RA3 lacks one-step voice, 3D and terrain. Anything else? Are the directions displayed on the 7in TFT where the speedo is?

Thanks!
Jorge
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK2 - 2014 model year radios
__________________

__________________
Mine: 2014 Overland 4x4 V6, ORA II, billet silver/black, Michelin LTX M/S 2's, MaxCare Lifetime, delivered 4-13-'13
Wife's Jeep: 2008 Compass Sport 4x4, 2.4L I4 DOHC, CVT, Lifetime powertrain warranty
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2014 Laredo E aftermarket Nav? VANT4GE Audio/Visual/Navigation 3 07-31-2013 08:33 PM
2014 vs 2013 Laredo E (Nav Not Available in 14?) doofoo Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 6 02-22-2013 08:11 AM
Lease Transfer, 2012 Laredo X, Pano, Tow, Nav brosher Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 1 11-05-2012 01:02 PM
2012 laredo aftermarket nav mikeeps2 Audio/Visual/Navigation 16 06-17-2012 08:54 AM
Newbie - Can Dealer add NAV to Laredo X? rounders550 Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 15 09-11-2010 01:06 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community