Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-07-2011, 08:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1218
hammick is on a distinguished road
Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?

I really like how Garmin shows the current speed on the map display. I have read that Lockpick makes this always read zero.

Is Lockpick always active or only when inputting an address or watching a video while moving. In other words, will the Garmin display the speed when just using the map and/or routing to a destination?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2011, 04:02 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1723
IndyBob has a spectacular aura about
Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hammick View Post
I really like how Garmin shows the current speed on the map display. I have read that Lockpick makes this always read zero.

Is Lockpick always active or only when inputting an address or watching a video while moving. In other words, will the Garmin display the speed when just using the map and/or routing to a destination?

Thanks.
Yes, with LockPick connected the actual speed will be shown as zero. I believe that it is intercepting the speed signal to be able to allow inputs and show video while moving.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2011, 03:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1218
hammick is on a distinguished road
Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?

Thank for the reply. Can it be disabled on the touch screen so the 99% of the time I am not routing I can see the speed I am going?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-2011, 03:15 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1723
IndyBob has a spectacular aura about
Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hammick View Post
Thank for the reply. Can it be disabled on the touch screen so the 99% of the time I am not routing I can see the speed I am going?
Not that I know of.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2011, 03:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1218
hammick is on a distinguished road
Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?

I called them and they said the lockpick can be disabled on the touchscreen. My arrived today. I will report back after I get it installed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-16-2011, 05:28 PM
nlowell's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 119
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1390
nlowell is on a distinguished road
Which lockpick did you order? Interested to hear your perception of the backup camera quality.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-16-2011, 06:21 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 417
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1905
Radside has a reputation beyond reputeRadside has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hammick View Post
I called them and they said the lockpick can be disabled on the touchscreen. My arrived today. I will report back after I get it installed.
I'm interested to hear how it can be disabled on the screen.
__________________
2011 Black Berry Laredo X
Chrome Running Boards
Chrome Fog Bezel
Shark Fin Antennal
MyGig 430N
20" SRT REPS (9"wide)
Good Year Fortera 265 50R/20
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-16-2011, 09:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1218
hammick is on a distinguished road
Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nlowell View Post
Which lockpick did you order? Interested to hear your perception of the backup camera quality.
I may be wrong but the backup on option looks the same at it does without the lockpick installed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-16-2011, 09:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1218
hammick is on a distinguished road
Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radside View Post
I'm interested to hear how it can be disabled on the screen.
See my review here: Lockpick ver 4 with 430n Garmin Nav

There is a button called Automatic OVR that disables the GPS input and DVD play functions. You can also toggle disable or enable by turning the unit off and then back on within one second.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-17-2011, 05:10 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 417
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1905
Radside has a reputation beyond reputeRadside has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hammick View Post
See my review here: Lockpick ver 4 with 430n Garmin Nav

There is a button called Automatic OVR that disables the GPS input and DVD play functions. You can also toggle disable or enable by turning the unit off and then back on within one second.
Thanks.. I have an earlier build of the CHR550 so I hope this function is built in. I've give it a shot today.
__________________
2011 Black Berry Laredo X
Chrome Running Boards
Chrome Fog Bezel
Shark Fin Antennal
MyGig 430N
20" SRT REPS (9"wide)
Good Year Fortera 265 50R/20
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-17-2011, 05:58 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1723
IndyBob has a spectacular aura about
Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hammick View Post
See my review here: Lockpick ver 4 with 430n Garmin Nav

There is a button called Automatic OVR that disables the GPS input and DVD play functions. You can also toggle disable or enable by turning the unit off and then back on within one second.
I have the Lockpick version 3 and I don't have that option. Oh well, the cost of buying early.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-17-2011, 08:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1218
hammick is on a distinguished road
Re: Lockpick: Is speed always zero on Garmin nav?

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyBob View Post
I have the Lockpick version 3 and I don't have that option. Oh well, the cost of buying early.
Might be worth a call to see if there is a firmware update or one planned.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lockpick, NAV-TV, questions between the two automag928 Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 12 02-05-2011 10:34 AM
Garmin/430N nav problem: Address/City/Intersection "washed out" and not accessible! ctwickman Audio/Visual/Navigation 4 11-28-2010 11:58 AM
2011 garmin nav system murphydog Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 2 11-26-2010 01:41 PM
How do you like Garmin Nav in 430N? JoeSchmoe007 Audio/Visual/Navigation 29 10-10-2010 05:09 PM
Garmin RHB suprand Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 6 09-24-2010 10:58 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community