Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-02-2014, 12:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 333
polizei has a reputation beyond reputepolizei has a reputation beyond repute
Losing Signal Constantly?

Hey guys...I searched around and didn't find a specific answer for my problem.

Just picked up my 14' Limited (8.4A) the other day, just freshly built a few weeks ago! I noticed when driving around town the first day that my radio cuts out and loses signal constantly. Most often, the radio will be playing fine, then it randomly shuts off for ~10 seconds, comes back on for 1-2 seconds, then back off again. It does it with FM, Sirius, and MP3 from my iPhone 4s.

I've driven the vehicle around 100 miles so far, throughout different locations, and where I'm at is all open. No mountains, tunnels, etc. that would "normally" be associated with signal loss.

I read about the Sirius antenna issue, and I'm not concerned with that (I don't use Sirius). Sometimes the radio will work just perfectly fine for 30+ minutes straight, and other times it's "stuck" in a constant on/off loop cycle.

I don't have access to the vehicle right now, but I'm assuming I'm running the latest update, and I have NOT tried the soft or hard reset (yet).

Any ideas? Other than that, the car has been absolutely awesome so far! It's just annoying as all hell with this radio issue!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2014, 10:55 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,366
Thanks: 31
Thanked 79 Times in 72 Posts
Rep Power: 43811
lstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Losing Signal Constantly?

Quote:
Originally Posted by polizei View Post
Hey guys...I searched around and didn't find a specific answer for my problem.

Just picked up my 14' Limited (8.4A) the other day, just freshly built a few weeks ago! I noticed when driving around town the first day that my radio cuts out and loses signal constantly. Most often, the radio will be playing fine, then it randomly shuts off for ~10 seconds, comes back on for 1-2 seconds, then back off again. It does it with FM, Sirius, and MP3 from my iPhone 4s.

I've driven the vehicle around 100 miles so far, throughout different locations, and where I'm at is all open. No mountains, tunnels, etc. that would "normally" be associated with signal loss.

I read about the Sirius antenna issue, and I'm not concerned with that (I don't use Sirius). Sometimes the radio will work just perfectly fine for 30+ minutes straight, and other times it's "stuck" in a constant on/off loop cycle.

I don't have access to the vehicle right now, but I'm assuming I'm running the latest update, and I have NOT tried the soft or hard reset (yet).

Any ideas? Other than that, the car has been absolutely awesome so far! It's just annoying as all hell with this radio issue!
I honestly wouldn't expect a hard reset to fix much. Current software is still 14.5.3 which is easily checked on the radio.

Suspect you have a hardware issue in your radio, as a loose antenna connect, poor antenna, etc. wouldn't affect plugged in sources.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2014, 12:25 PM
weck's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wisco
Posts: 747
Thanks: 14
Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 3658
weck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Losing Signal Constantly?

When I read this I instantly thought about the TSB for the antenna, but your saying that it does it on audio from all sources, so that can't be it.

There is a TSB out there for a similar condition for the radio muting if the amp looses communication. It doesn't say if the condition is intermittent but otherwise the symptoms fix...

http://www.wk2jeeps.com/tsb/tsb_wk2_0802014.pdf

Good luck!
__________________
The bling wagon: 2014 Grand Cherokee Limited, 5.7, RA4, Lux2, OA2 sporting LTX A/Ts
The mileage slave: 2010 Jetta Sportwagen TDI
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2014, 02:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 333
polizei has a reputation beyond reputepolizei has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Losing Signal Constantly?

Thanks, hopefully it's just a loose wire in the amp then. I'll have to take a look at it before handing it over to the dealer. In the shop getting the lift put on right now.

Where is the amp located? By the rear speaker in the cargo area?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-03-2014, 11:57 AM
weck's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wisco
Posts: 747
Thanks: 14
Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 3658
weck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Losing Signal Constantly?

Quote:
Originally Posted by polizei View Post
Thanks, hopefully it's just a loose wire in the amp then. I'll have to take a look at it before handing it over to the dealer. In the shop getting the lift put on right now.

Where is the amp located? By the rear speaker in the cargo area?
I have no idea where it is, wk2jeeps probably has a schematic.

That being said, take it in and have the dealer look at it. the CANBUS system is a data bus, like a computer network. There are not really any loose wires to check, rather the TSB makes it sound like they need to flash the amp programming, software fix rather than hardware.
__________________
The bling wagon: 2014 Grand Cherokee Limited, 5.7, RA4, Lux2, OA2 sporting LTX A/Ts
The mileage slave: 2010 Jetta Sportwagen TDI
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-04-2014, 02:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 333
polizei has a reputation beyond reputepolizei has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Losing Signal Constantly?

Took it in this morning, dealer did the flash and 20 minutes later had the car back. So far so good! Thanks for the help!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2014, 12:43 PM
weck's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wisco
Posts: 747
Thanks: 14
Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 3658
weck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond reputeweck has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Losing Signal Constantly?

__________________

__________________
The bling wagon: 2014 Grand Cherokee Limited, 5.7, RA4, Lux2, OA2 sporting LTX A/Ts
The mileage slave: 2010 Jetta Sportwagen TDI
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rad fan runs constantly stedder Troubleshooting/Problems 15 02-11-2014 08:45 PM
Passenger Seatbelt constantly locks up halsneb Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 0 12-01-2013 06:43 PM
TPMS Losing Signal buckeye55 Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 5 02-20-2013 09:17 AM
99 WJ Blower fan runs constantly Rottweiler123 Troubleshooting/Problems 5 12-15-2011 12:45 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community