Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-04-2014, 08:37 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 161
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1219
Metz1374 is on a distinguished road
"nav ready???"

I am picking up my 2014 Jeep GC Altitude tomorrow and it says NAV Ready, what would it take to upgrade it to having the navigation
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2014, 08:45 AM
Jim_in_PA's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SE PA (central Bucks County)
Posts: 1,627
Thanks: 255
Thanked 67 Times in 52 Posts
Rep Power: 3619
Jim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: "nav ready???"

It sounds like your Jeep has the 8.4A (RA3) sound system. It's "NAV" ready in that your dealer (for about a $500 fee) can turn on the Navigation capability. In other words, NAV capability is inherent in that particular system, but it's not enabled from the factory.

The 8.4AN (RA4) comes from the factory with full navigation turned on. (with more features than the RA3) Unfortunately, Chrysler doesn't allow swapping of the radios on MY14 after manufacture.
__________________

__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland Summit - Winter Chill with New Saddle interior. 5.7L HEMI V8 - Nitto NT421Q "shoes"



Day-job...Telecom Technical Sales
Avocations...Woodworking, Equestrian, Food
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2014, 08:53 AM
MOFSTEEL's Avatar
Krypton Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 339
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
Rep Power: 15149
MOFSTEEL has a reputation beyond reputeMOFSTEEL has a reputation beyond reputeMOFSTEEL has a reputation beyond reputeMOFSTEEL has a reputation beyond reputeMOFSTEEL has a reputation beyond reputeMOFSTEEL has a reputation beyond reputeMOFSTEEL has a reputation beyond reputeMOFSTEEL has a reputation beyond reputeMOFSTEEL has a reputation beyond reputeMOFSTEEL has a reputation beyond reputeMOFSTEEL has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: "nav ready???"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_in_PA View Post
Unfortunately, Chrysler doesn't allow swapping of the radios on MY14 after manufacture.

Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread
__________________

My Build thread.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2014, 09:18 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 161
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1219
Metz1374 is on a distinguished road
Re: "nav ready???"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_in_PA View Post
It sounds like your Jeep has the 8.4A (RA3) sound system. It's "NAV" ready in that your dealer (for about a $500 fee) can turn on the Navigation capability. In other words, NAV capability is inherent in that particular system, but it's not enabled from the factory.

The 8.4AN (RA4) comes from the factory with full navigation turned on. (with more features than the RA3) Unfortunately, Chrysler doesn't allow swapping of the radios on MY14 after manufacture.

Searching to see if theres a thread on how I can "turn on" the function without the dealership. the guy told me its 800 bucks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2014, 10:11 AM
sgarcia28's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1454
sgarcia28 is on a distinguished road
Re: "nav ready???"

It should be $595.00 I got it activated when I purchased my altitude a few months ago.


2014 JGC Altitude Granite Crystal Metallic
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2014, 12:44 PM
bill_de's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6,155
Thanks: 316
Thanked 344 Times in 300 Posts
Rep Power: 1801638
bill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond repute
Re: "nav ready???"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metz1374 View Post
Searching to see if theres a thread on how I can "turn on" the function without the dealership. the guy told me its 800 bucks
Call some other dealers. If you did find a way to activate it yourself, it would probably be considered theft of service. The dealer has to contact Chrysler for a code. Once activated it is always activated. You can't cancel it and move it to another car. It becomes linked to the vin.


---
__________________
If you need a shoulder to cry on ...

... pull over to the side of the road!

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2014, 10:28 AM
Jim_in_PA's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SE PA (central Bucks County)
Posts: 1,627
Thanks: 255
Thanked 67 Times in 52 Posts
Rep Power: 3619
Jim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: "nav ready???"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metz1374 View Post
Searching to see if theres a thread on how I can "turn on" the function without the dealership. the guy told me its 800 bucks
That dealer is trying to gain a huge amount of profit there. The "list price" is $600 ($595) AFAIK, and many dealers will knock a few bucks off that for good customers. I do not believe it's possible to activate it without a dealer's computer...
__________________

__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland Summit - Winter Chill with New Saddle interior. 5.7L HEMI V8 - Nitto NT421Q "shoes"



Day-job...Telecom Technical Sales
Avocations...Woodworking, Equestrian, Food
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ready for winter 2014 GC Summit on 18" wheel Michelin X-ICE 2 johnnyiowa Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 33 12-11-2013 02:39 PM
"Order Ready to Proceed to the Line" Old State Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 2 03-11-2011 11:37 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community