"nav ready???" - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-04-2014, 08:37 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 238
Thanks: 14
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2274
Metz1374 is on a distinguished road
"nav ready???"

I am picking up my 2014 Jeep GC Altitude tomorrow and it says NAV Ready, what would it take to upgrade it to having the navigation

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-04-2014, 08:45 AM
Jim_in_PA's Avatar
Super Moderator

My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SE PA (central Bucks County)
Posts: 4,834
Thanks: 896
Thanked 726 Times in 572 Posts
Rep Power: 112757
Jim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: "nav ready???"

It sounds like your Jeep has the 8.4A (RA3) sound system. It's "NAV" ready in that your dealer (for about a $500 fee) can turn on the Navigation capability. In other words, NAV capability is inherent in that particular system, but it's not enabled from the factory.

The 8.4AN (RA4) comes from the factory with full navigation turned on. (with more features than the RA3) Unfortunately, Chrysler doesn't allow swapping of the radios on MY14 after manufacture.
__________________
2012 GC Overland Summit - Winter Chill with New Saddle interior. 5.7L HEMI V8 - Pirelli Scorpion Verde Plus "shoes" - LED fogs and DRLs



Day-job...Telecom Technical Sales
Avocations...Woodworking, Equestrian, Food, Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2014, 08:53 AM
SilverBillet's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,084
Thanks: 2
Thanked 482 Times in 331 Posts
Rep Power: 32808
SilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond reputeSilverBillet has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: "nav ready???"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_in_PA View Post
Unfortunately, Chrysler doesn't allow swapping of the radios on MY14 after manufacture.

Another RA2 to RA4AN upgrade thread
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 07-04-2014, 09:18 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 238
Thanks: 14
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2274
Metz1374 is on a distinguished road
Re: "nav ready???"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_in_PA View Post
It sounds like your Jeep has the 8.4A (RA3) sound system. It's "NAV" ready in that your dealer (for about a $500 fee) can turn on the Navigation capability. In other words, NAV capability is inherent in that particular system, but it's not enabled from the factory.

The 8.4AN (RA4) comes from the factory with full navigation turned on. (with more features than the RA3) Unfortunately, Chrysler doesn't allow swapping of the radios on MY14 after manufacture.

Searching to see if theres a thread on how I can "turn on" the function without the dealership. the guy told me its 800 bucks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2014, 10:11 AM
sgarcia28's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2433
sgarcia28 is on a distinguished road
Re: "nav ready???"

It should be $595.00 I got it activated when I purchased my altitude a few months ago.


2014 JGC Altitude Granite Crystal Metallic
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2014, 12:44 PM
bill_de's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2017 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8,614
Thanks: 736
Thanked 1,073 Times in 834 Posts
Rep Power: 1806008
bill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond repute
Re: "nav ready???"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metz1374 View Post
Searching to see if theres a thread on how I can "turn on" the function without the dealership. the guy told me its 800 bucks
Call some other dealers. If you did find a way to activate it yourself, it would probably be considered theft of service. The dealer has to contact Chrysler for a code. Once activated it is always activated. You can't cancel it and move it to another car. It becomes linked to the vin.


---
__________________
If you need a shoulder to cry on ...
... pull over to the side of the road!

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2014, 10:28 AM
Jim_in_PA's Avatar
Super Moderator

My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SE PA (central Bucks County)
Posts: 4,834
Thanks: 896
Thanked 726 Times in 572 Posts
Rep Power: 112757
Jim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond reputeJim_in_PA has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: "nav ready???"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metz1374 View Post
Searching to see if theres a thread on how I can "turn on" the function without the dealership. the guy told me its 800 bucks
That dealer is trying to gain a huge amount of profit there. The "list price" is $600 ($595) AFAIK, and many dealers will knock a few bucks off that for good customers. I do not believe it's possible to activate it without a dealer's computer...
__________________
2012 GC Overland Summit - Winter Chill with New Saddle interior. 5.7L HEMI V8 - Pirelli Scorpion Verde Plus "shoes" - LED fogs and DRLs



Day-job...Telecom Technical Sales
Avocations...Woodworking, Equestrian, Food, Photography
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ready for winter 2014 GC Summit on 18" wheel Michelin X-ICE 2 johnnyiowa Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 33 12-11-2013 01:39 PM
"Order Ready to Proceed to the Line" Old State Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 2 03-11-2011 10:37 AM

» Premium Vendor Showcase
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.